We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place to stay”
Review of Napa Valley Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Napa Valley Lodge
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Yountville
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely place to stay”
Reviewed July 2, 2014 via mobile

Loved the warm welcome upon check in along with the champagne and fresh cookie! The rooms are very nicely updated with HUGE, luxurious bathrooms. We enjoyed the cool evening at the pool around the fire pit with the day's wine purchase. Next time I'd like to stay longer. Beautifully landscaped. The only negative is no elevator (but it's only 2 stories) and a NPL employee came along and helped us with our very heavy bags.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Collinsclan82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,355 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    971
    290
    71
    20
    3
See reviews for
179
808
17
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (279)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2014

Let me be honest, this is my second review of the Napa Valley Lodge this year--and with good reason: we keep returning! NVL offers beautifully appointed large rooms (think luxury linens, spacious bathrooms, great lighting, fireplaces, private patios and balconies) at prices that beat the competition in town. Want to splurge a bit? Their suites are huge, with large walk-in showers and oversized soaking tubs. Surrounded by grapevines on two sides, many rooms have lovely views of the vines and mountains. A terrific breakfast buffet is presented each morning in a lovely dining hall (or eat in the patio or by the pool), and it's included in the cost of the room. And the location can't be beat; it's in walking distance (1-4 blocks) of all of the restaurants in Yountville. One final word: each and every employee is friendly, cheerful and helpful: the front desk, housekeeping, gardeners, and buffet attendants are always ready to be of assistance. We've been visiting NVL for over 15 years--and wouldn't stay anywhere else!

Room Tip: Second floor rooms are sunnier, some with balconies that offer great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EvyLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel and it was our first time in California, let alone Napa. Great location, Yountville is fabulous for foodies - so many fabulous restaurants in walking distance from the hotel. The hotel itself is well appointed. The rooms are spacious - we had an upstairs room with a small balcony, very private, and away from the highway - so we didn't experience any problems with noise. We felt that it was great value for money, easy to get to - and the staff were happy to make reservations for dinner and recommendations as well.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmichael, California
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2014

The location is great. Easy to get to wineries and restaurants. We had fun enjoying cocktails and playing Bocce ball on the hotel's Bocce court. My one caution is noise. It is very close to the highway and if you are downstairs, you can hear every footstep above you. Request a room as far from the road as possible and facing the pool and you'll be happy. Great price on the rooms for the area. Clean and quaint.

Room Tip: As for a room away from the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarmichaelTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile

Great two nights stay with friends who were celebrating their 30th wedding anniversary and we used this hotel as a base to explore Napa.

A wonderful hotel with great service and in a good location just a short walk from the centre. Not a cheap hotel but in this area it is in my view good value.

Lovely pool area too and very relaxing - a hotel great for adults and I would not hesitate to stay again. In fact it's a lovely area and we wished we had more time here.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Ianjburnett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim M, General Manager at Napa Valley Lodge, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Dear Ianjburnett,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. It is always a pleasure to hear such great comments and be a part of the celebration of our guests. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope that you do get a chance to return and be our special guest once again.
Best regards,
Tim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2014

My friend and I spent Monday night in this perfect gem of a hotel just on the northern edge of Yountville, the home of the three celebrated Thomas Keller restaurants, the French Laundry, Bouchon, and Ad Hoc, as well as many other restaurants and the Domaine Chandon champagne winery.

The buildings are attractive, and the pool and lawn area most attractive. There are excellent facilities, including a very nice dining area for breakfast. They CALL it a "continental breakfast" but this is misleading -- although it is buffet-style, there are just about all the breakfast items you could possibly want, including a plate of Napa Valley cheeses. You could make a fine dinner out of what they are calling breakfast.

Our second-floor room was excellent (although they COULD put a WATCH YOUR STEP notice on the door -- it's easy to trip going in!) An enormous, very comfortable bed, with four very large, very firm pillows -- call housekeeping and order up some softer ones! A balcony with a table, a fireplace, and a 15-foot ceiling. The usual refrigerator (with a key) and a fine coffee-making machine. Two great bathrobes in the bathroom closet. A smallish bathroom BUT with a very large, excellent, tiled, walk-in shower, one of the best I have ever seen.

Super-quiet at night -- I heard the Napa Valley wine train honk three times at nine in the evening and didn't here another sound all night.

It is about a three-minute drive from the hotel to Bouchon and the small downtown....

Very friendly people at the reception desk.

At $385, including all taxes and fees (and breakfast), it is now CHEAP for Younville in the tourist season, where other hotels start at $770 and up...

For the location, it is well worth the price!

Room Tip: Stay on the second floor, you will have an enormous high ceiling.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hayford P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim M, General Manager at Napa Valley Lodge, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Dear Hayford P,

I believe you summed it up very well. Our proximity to restaurants, wine tasting, and many activities make us the perfect location for the Napa Valley experience. We do try to provide a great value to our guests and I am glad to see that we were able to provide you with an enjoyable stay during your time spent here.
Thank you for the wonderful comments and we hope to see you again on a future visit to Yountville.

Best regards,

Tim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Excelsior MN
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2014

We were part of a large group at the Napa Valley Lodge (ages 3-85) for a family wedding. The site was outstanding! Beautiful, pleasant and walking distance to anything in Yountville! The breakfast was attractive and tasty with a variety of foods to meet everyone's wishes. The grounds were lovely and well tended. The rooms were clean and well kept. The staff was eager to please and delivered all we had hoped for. We would stay at the Napa Valley Lodge again for sure.

Room Tip: Our room faced the pool and traffic sounds were not an issue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GrandmaHikes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim M, General Manager at Napa Valley Lodge, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Dear GrandmaHikes,
I am so glad to hear that your family had such a wonderful wedding event and that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for all the kind comments regarding your visit. Our staff truly is eager to please all of our fabulous guests such as you.
I hope that you get a chance to come back and visit us again.
Warmest regards,
Tim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yountville
0.9 mi away
Hotel Yountville
Hotel Yountville
#1 of 6 in Yountville
1,056 reviews
0.6 mi away
Villagio Inn and Spa
Villagio Inn and Spa
#6 of 6 in Yountville
906 reviews
0.4 mi away
Vintage House
Vintage House
#5 of 6 in Yountville
737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Bardessono
Bardessono
#3 of 6 in Yountville
1,313 reviews
8.7 mi away
Andaz Napa
Andaz Napa
#4 of 30 in Napa
2,008 reviews
7.6 mi away
Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Napa Valley Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Napa Valley Lodge

Property: Napa Valley Lodge
Address: 2230 Madison St, Yountville, CA 94599-1340
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Yountville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Yountville
#2 Spa Hotel in Yountville
#2 Green Hotel in Yountville
#4 Business Hotel in Yountville
#4 Romantic Hotel in Yountville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Napa Valley Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Napa Valley, in the charming town of Yountville, the Napa Valley Lodge is just steps away from world-renowned restaurants, specialty shops, and award winning wine tasting rooms. The Lodge is located at the north end of town away from the hustle and bustle of Yountville, but within easy strolling distance. Our property is designed in the Tuscan villa style and adorned with lush landscaping and thoughtful details at every turn, from trickling fountains to our popular outdoor fire pit and pool area. The Lodge welcomes you with a friendly and experienced staff that is committed to making your stay as special as possible. The Napa Valley Lodge's 55 guestrooms are spacious, private, and graciously furnished. Our guestrooms feature private verandahs, many with courtyard, garden, or vineyard views, and fireplaces. A Champagne continental breakfast buffet is served complimentary every morning from 8:00am-10:00am.All rooms are non-smoking, have deluxe honor bars, complimentary wireless internet (WiFi) access, flat screen TVs, desks, and fresh brewed coffee. All guest bathrooms have been completely renovated with walk-in glass showers, granite vanity counters, and limestone floors. For your convenience, our guestrooms include irons, ironing boards, two plush micro fiber robes, hair dryers and a variety of complimentary personal amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Napa Valley Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Napa Valley Hotel Yountville
Napa Valley Yountville
Napa Valley Lodge Yountville, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing