We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just right!”
Review of Napa Valley Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Napa Valley Lodge
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Yountville
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed February 25, 2014

This hotel had everything we were looking for including location, amenities and service. Check in was prompt and courteous. Staff was professional, but friendly and personable.

Our room was located in rear of hotel overlooking the vineyard. This was optimal for us and we enjoyed the view and private balcony. Room was modern and clean. We had fireplace, big screen HD-TV, uncomplicated remote without special advance functions..I hate those that you need to go through a variety of sequences before getting your program of choice.
Bathroom with separate vanity, glass shower, closet in bath..nice touch and tastefully decorated. Free complimentary wine upon arrival and bottles of water.
Parking was simple, convenient and near our room location. The grounds were beautiful and well maintained. Above all, we were able to sleep quite comfortably although I was not a fan of the padded mattress. I prefer a firmer foundation, whearas, my wife absolutely loved it and just melted into the bed. In fact se slept soundly and would not have made the breakfast time had I not insisted we partake.

Breakfast for me was just ok. I appreciate that it was included, but it was not overwhelming in selection of breakfast items. I would have liked more variety. Location was excellent, short walk to restaurants, bakery and shopping.

We took advantage of the free bike loan and rode around Yountville and a little on the outskirts where we passed vineyards and open spaces.

Other hotel perks that we did not take advantage of were the pool, hot tub and onsite fitness room. The pool looked inviting, but we weren't in the mood. The fitness room seemed small.

Above all, it was quiet during our stay. We had just some brief noise during the late afternoon with overly oud talking in the neighboring room, but that was about it. We could hear a little traffic noise from Highway 29, but not enough to make a difference for us. If you are a light sleeper or require dead silence, perhaps this may be an issue. The t. Maybe due to our room location. We had room #54.

Overall, this was a really nice experience.

Room Tip: Room #54 or # 55 are good. Quiet and back of hotel. Room #55 is an end unit.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank T W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark S, Operations Manager at Napa Valley Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2014

Dear T W,

Thank you for taking the time to write such an extensive and detailed review. Our new Serta Concierge Plush Suite mattresses are covered with an additional plush feather-top protector, providing luxurious comfort for those who require a soft bed. These feather-tops can be easily removed upon request for guests who prefer firmer comfort. We apologize that you were not made aware of this feature.

We have taken care to continually expand and improve our Champagne buffet style continental breakfast as we do not have a restaurant on the property and have already made some changes since your visit. We are currently able to provide every day: scrambled eggs, egg salad, hard-boiled eggs, salsa, sausages, ham slices, biscuits and gravy, sourdough baguette, 16 different freshly baked pastries delivered daily from Sonoma Muffin works, tea breads, assorted bagels, cinnamon, white, and wheat bread, with a selection of 4 different spreads, make your own waffle station, hand-made organic granola cereal, assorted boxed cereals, oatmeal, 6 different flavors of organic yogurt, a fruit salad prepared from seasonal fruits, as well as 3 solid fruit choices, cottage cheese, assorted cheese plate with 6 different cheeses, artichoke, red pepper and mozzarella ball plate, assorted Mighty Leaf teas, Ghirardelli’s double chocolate hot chocolate, Starbucks coffee, champagne, orange juice and cranberry juice, and more.

We look forward to your feedback on our improvements during your next visit with us!

Warmest regards,

Mark Stohlman
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,387)
There are newer reviews for Napa Valley Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

599 - 605 of 1,387 reviews

Reviewed February 21, 2014

Really enjoyed staying here with lovely view of the green hills, super friendly staff, and wow, what a breakfast spread! I also love having my Starbucks, Wall Street Journal, and Sac. Chronicle newspaper, too. We had relatives visit us who were not guests, but were able to use the room in the lobby with comfortable couches and chairs, anchored by a warm, fire in the huge fireplace.

Room Tip: The upstairs rooms have patios overlooking the garden area .
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charlet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark S, Operations Manager at Napa Valley Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2014

Dear Charlet B,

Thank you for your review. We’re glad you enjoyed our fresh brewed Starbuck’s coffee with your morning paper at breakfast, and were also able to take advantage of its 24-hour availability in our lobby area whilst relaxing at the fireplace with your friends.

Warmest regards,

Mark Stohlman
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2014

I love this property. We went away to celebrate our anniversary. Check in was quick and easy. The folks there are so friendly and helpful. The room was amazing with king bed and fireplace and a nice outlook of a vineyard. We enjoyed the champagne brunch every morning with some time to read the morning paper by the pool before we set out for the day. The location is great, close to town which we walked through every day for our dinners at the most amazing restaurants. I will definitely return. It is a wonderful place where you can not go wrong...

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Minerva N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark S, Operations Manager at Napa Valley Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2014

Dear Minerva M,

Thank you for choosing the Napa Valley Lodge to celebrate your anniversary. It is wonderful to hear that you were so very well pleased with all aspects of our property and services. We look forward to your next visit!

Warmest regards,

Mark Stohlman
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2014

We only stayed here one night, so I don't have an opinion on much. But, the rooms are lovely and have beautiful décor. We loved having wine by the fireplace, and the beds are extremely comfortable. The bath products were high end and even unique. In all the resorts I have stayed, I have yet to come across the face spritz toiletry…nice touch. The hotel staff is friendly, but we didn't utilize them enough to comment on their helpfulness with Napa excursions and arrangements. The pool was actually heated and had a neat fire pit along the edge. I would definitely look to stay here again if I'm back in the Napa area.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Chaput_Family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014

Stayed at Napa Valley Lodge over valentines weekend with my husband and friends who have never been wine tasting. It was a last minute decision so for us to find accommodations was sweet. We were very impressed with the hotel. The location was perfect for wine tasting and also close to some amazing restaurants. Lacey and Donna at the front desk were amazing in making all our reservations for dinners on all 3 days and also our car reservation for wine tasting prior to our arrival! The rooms were spacious and the bed/pillows were so comfortable! The complimentary breakfast every morning was very good and plentiful! Even though the weather wasn't very good we were able to utilize fire pit, hot tub and heated pool! Can't wait to return!!

Room Tip: We stayed in king room on ground floor. Would probably request upstairs next time.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AuburnVacationer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark S, Operations Manager at Napa Valley Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2014

Dear AuburnVacationer,

Thank you for noting Lacey’s and Donna’s contributions to enhancing your stay; Lacey and Donna are valued employees, and like all our staff the main reason we remain so successful. We are glad you hear you had such a wonderful visit and will be back!

Warmest regards,

Mark Stohlman
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2014

I took my GF up to Napa for a celebratory birthday weekend. Just our luck - after over a year of no significant rain there - it poured on us all weekend! The hotel was nice, but what enabled us to make the best of a rainy weekend was the special attention the hotel staff gave us.

From the birthday bottle of wine in our room, to the upgrade to a huge suite, to the courteous attention of the staff at the front desk, it was the little things that made the difference. This could have easily been an ok stay, but they turned it into a memorable one. Thank you Napa Valley Lodge! See you again soon!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sightseeer100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark S, Operations Manager at Napa Valley Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2014

Dear Sightseeer100,

We feel our caring and understanding staff is our biggest asset. Their commitment to building lasting relationships with all our guests is the reason we are successful and so many come back to visit us again and again. Thank you for taking the time to commend them for all their hard work and efforts. We hope to see you again soon to experience all the valley has to offer during a period of warm and sunny weather!

Warmest regards,

Mark Stohlman
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2014 via mobile

I recently stayed at Napa Valley Lodge and had the king suite. It was absolutely beautiful the bed was one of the most comfortable beds I've slept in a long time. The room was beautiful and had a great fireplace. I really felt like I was staying in a five-star hotel! The staff was very nice and helpful. The best part of all is a location - its right in the heart Yountville close to all the restaurants. I will definitely be staying there again soon!!

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank Momsof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark S, Operations Manager at Napa Valley Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2014

Dear Momsof,

Thank you for your review. Our new Serta Concierge Plush Suite mattresses are covered with an additional plush feather-top protector, providing luxurious comfort for those who require a soft bed. These feather-tops can be easily removed upon request for guests who prefer firmer comfort. We are glad you had such a comfortable stay and noticed this recent improvement for our guests.

Warmest regards,

Mark Stohlman
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yountville
0.9 mi away
Hotel Yountville
Hotel Yountville
#2 of 6 in Yountville
1,061 reviews
0.6 mi away
Villagio Inn and Spa
Villagio Inn and Spa
#6 of 6 in Yountville
924 reviews
0.4 mi away
Vintage House
Vintage House
#4 of 6 in Yountville
744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Bardessono
Bardessono
#3 of 6 in Yountville
1,322 reviews
8.7 mi away
Andaz Napa
Andaz Napa
#4 of 30 in Napa
2,040 reviews
7.6 mi away
Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Napa Valley Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Napa Valley Lodge

Address: 2230 Madison St, Yountville, CA 94599-1340
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Yountville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Yountville
#2 Family Hotel in Yountville
#2 Green Hotel in Yountville
#4 Business Hotel in Yountville
#4 Romantic Hotel in Yountville
Price Range: $336 - $846 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Napa Valley Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Napa Valley, in the charming town of Yountville, the Napa Valley Lodge is just steps away from world-renowned restaurants, specialty shops, and award winning wine tasting rooms. The Lodge is located at the north end of town away from the hustle and bustle of Yountville, but within easy strolling distance. Our property is designed in the Tuscan villa style and adorned with lush landscaping and thoughtful details at every turn, from trickling fountains to our popular outdoor fire pit and pool area. The Lodge welcomes you with a friendly and experienced staff that is committed to making your stay as special as possible. The Napa Valley Lodge's 55 guestrooms are spacious, private, and graciously furnished. Our guestrooms feature private verandahs, many with courtyard, garden, or vineyard views, and fireplaces. A Champagne continental breakfast buffet is served complimentary every morning from 8:00am-10:00am.All rooms are non-smoking, have deluxe honor bars, complimentary wireless internet (WiFi) access, flat screen TVs, desks, and fresh brewed coffee. All guest bathrooms have been completely renovated with walk-in glass showers, granite vanity counters, and limestone floors. For your convenience, our guestrooms include irons, ironing boards, two plush micro fiber robes, hair dryers and a variety of complimentary personal amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Napa Valley Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Napa Valley Hotel Yountville
Napa Valley Yountville
Napa Valley Lodge Yountville, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing