We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bestest Weekend Getaway”
Review of Napa Valley Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Napa Valley Lodge
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Yountville
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
SF Bay Area
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Bestest Weekend Getaway”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

A weekend away with the girlfriends was just what this school teacher needed, and NVL was the perfect place to splurge a little and make it a truly memorable weekend. The rooms were spacious, open and well lit and the furnishings were comfortable and inviting. All of which made perfect for late night girl talk by the fireplace sipping glasses of the delicious wine that came complimentary with each room. (And will be perfect for a romantic weekend as well) NVL helped us to arrange a very last minute limousine for our day out wine tasting and make dinner reservations, both of which were perfect. Our driver was extremely knowledgeable, resourceful and able to take our thoughts and ideas and pull them together to form a perfect day of wine tasting with a great mix of wineries. And the restaurant, a two-minute walk across the street, R&D Kitchen was delightful. Delicious food, tasty wine pairings and a knowledgeable, friendly, and fun wait staff; what more could you ask for?!

Back at NVL, the staff was super friendly and accommodating. On both Saturday and Sunday we spent some time poolside, and were able to bring our own wine and food. Even though they have food and beverage service, on both days an ice bucket and wine glasses were graciously provided. We didn't even have to ask. The pool was lovely with great sun at all times with umbrellas and shady areas available. And even though the hotel was full, there were never too many people at the pool. Add the fire pits to transition the girl talk in the evening and the bocce ball court and let the girl talk and fun memories flow.

I can't recommend NVL highly enough as a perfect getaway location, whether for a weekend away with friends, family, a night to yourself and I'm looking forward to a return for a romantic weekend soon! Kudos to NVL team and thank you for a perfect weekend!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WaldoTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim M, General Manager at Napa Valley Lodge, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear WaldoTravel,

We couldn't be happier to have played such an important role in making Yountville as enjoyable as possible for you and your friends. I'm delighted to know you were pleased with our accommodations and amenities. Your recommendations mean a lot to us and I hope you'll choose to stay with us again should you return to the Napa Valley.

Warm regards,

Tim McGregor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,263 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    897
    277
    66
    19
    4
See reviews for
153
756
17
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (276)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 20, 2013

I spent a long weekend here with my husband and some friends to celebrate my 30th birthday and we had a great stay. We were welcomed by a friendly lady after a long day of traveling. There was a wine tasting going on in the lobby and the front desk agent invited us to join in. We didn’t have time so she told us to just grab a glass and bring it to our room.

The rooms were very nice, comfortable and large. We had a nice large sitting area outside and a fireplace in the room. The bathroom was spacious and the shower was large and comfortable. The bed was comfortable and I loved the pillows. The Keurig coffee maker in the room was a life saver.

The free breakfast was very tasty and the free champagne is a nice added touch. They had to-go cups for coffee and beverages and no one cared when I took food back to the room.

The best part of this hotel was I never felt nickel and dimed and I found value in our stay. The staff was very friendly, welcoming and helpful.

I highly recommend anyone to stay at this hotel and you will not be disappointed. Next time we are in the Valley we will be staying here.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim M, General Manager at Napa Valley Lodge, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Amy,

It's wonderful to know you had such a memorable and enjoyable 30th birthday celebration with us. We pride ourselves on offering our guests everything they need to make the most of Yountville. Looking forward to having you stay with us again.

Warm regards,

Tim McGregor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 19, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Napa Valley Lodge as a part of a California trip to celebrate our 1 year wedding anniversary. We absolutely LOVED the location - Yountville has amazing food options (Bouchon, Ad Hoc, Redd's, Bistro Jeanty) all within walking distance or a short drive from the hotel. Napa and St. Helena are very close which makes vineyard hoping very easy. Sonoma is an easy 30-minute drive away. The hotel itself is perfect for relaxation - they provide a great (free!) champagne breakfast every morning, and have a really nice lounging/pool area. The staff were very attentive and helpful, with the exception of the front desk manager who wasn't the friendliest when we checked in (kind of disappointed to be honest, since we were on such a high from all the other hotels we had visited and got such great reception at the previous spots). All in all, great experience!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rima7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim M, General Manager at Napa Valley Lodge, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Rima7,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I'm delighted to know our central location served you well as you enjoyed all that Yountville has to offer. I'll be sure to share your feedback with the staff. I hope you'll choose to stay with us again on your next trip to the Napa Valley.

Warm regards,

Tim McGregor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pennington
2 reviews
Reviewed August 18, 2013

My family and I had a wonderful stay at the Napa Valley Lodge...they could not have been more accomodating - upgrading us to a suite after apologizing that our two rooms were not closer to each other (although it hadn't even been a request). The property is lovely - great setting with large, comfortable rooms as well as a beautiful and relaxing pool area with a great outdoor firepit, a wonderful full breakfast, free use of bicycles, wine tasting discounts, and within walking distance to great restaurants, etc. Thank you Joanne (?) for your special attention that made our visit so special. We look forward to returning as soon as possible! We loved it!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marjorie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim M, General Manager at Napa Valley Lodge, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear Margilb,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I am glad to hear that were were able to accommodate you and your family. Your kind words were a pleasure to read and Joanne will be pleased to learn that her efforts were appreciated. We're looking forward to having you return.

Warm regards,

Tim McGregor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 17, 2013

This was our first time visiting the wine country area and trying to find the best spot to stay for the few days we had was not easy, But finally deciding on Yountville because of the great restaurants within walking distance made up our mind. Finding the Napa Valley Lodge made the choice even better! It is on one end of town, that being about a 1 mile walk from one end to the other and we couldn't have been more pleased. The hotel or lodge is right next to a vineyard and our room overlooked the vineyard. The room was huge and the bathroom was so beautifully done and even had a separate vanity area. The pool area which was wonderful after a full day of exploring the wineries and was large and beautiful with poolside service of drinks and snacks. The breakfast buffet was awesome! Better than any I have had for free ever in a hotel. The staff was helpful as well. All of the restaurants that we went to, both casual and more expensive had great food and wonderful staff. I definitely would recommend this hotel and can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: We chose a room facing the vineyard because we thought it would be quieter and pretty and it did not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gail H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim M, General Manager at Napa Valley Lodge, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Gail,

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a wonderful review. It sounds as though you made the best of our amenities.I'm happy nothing fell short of expectations. Looking forward to seeing you again.

Warm regards,

Tim McGregor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Spent a week with my husband and my parents celebrating my father's 70th birthday. All of us agree that the location of this property is perfect, within walking distance to many fabulous restaurants, including The French Laundry, Bouchon and Redd. The clientele was friendly and the staff was unobtrusive and always helpful. We booked rooms next door to each other with a vineyard view and they did not disappoint. The back patio opened up to the Cabernet Sauvignon vineyard, just steps away from our door. Room was quiet except for a loud person above us--but there was no road noise or other outdoor sounds that could be heard-- it was quite peaceful. We all agreed that the next time we are in Napa County, we will be staying at the Napa Valley Lodge. It was the perfect place for us.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greg B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim M, General Manager at Napa Valley Lodge, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Greg,

I'm happy you chose to spend such an important celebration with us. Knowing everyone had such a wonderful time is great to hear. I hope you enjoyed walking over to Yountville's most loved restaurants. Our central location is something we pride ourselves on. Looking forward to your next trip here.

Warm regards,

Tim McGregor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
84 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

What a fantastic place. Amazing location in Yountville. So close to great wineries and fabulous restaurants like the French Laundry. They have a great and friendly staff. There is a fantastic breakfast buffet. The pool area and grounds are gorgeous. Our room had a fireplace and private patio that overlooked a vineyard. Just a great place in every way.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank John J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim M, General Manager at Napa Valley Lodge, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear John,

Thank you for your kind words. I'm delighted to know your recent experience with us will have you coming back for another stay. Hopefully we'll see you again on a future visit to Yountville.

Warm regards,

Tim McGregor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yountville
0.9 mi away
Hotel Yountville
Hotel Yountville
#1 of 6 in Yountville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,033 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bardessono
Bardessono
#2 of 6 in Yountville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,286 reviews
0.6 mi away
Villagio Inn and Spa
Villagio Inn and Spa
#6 of 6 in Yountville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Vintage Inn
Vintage Inn
#4 of 6 in Yountville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 709 reviews
10.7 mi away
Wine Country Inn & Cottages
0.1 mi away
North Block Hotel
North Block Hotel
#5 of 6 in Yountville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Napa Valley Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Napa Valley Lodge

Property: Napa Valley Lodge
Address: 2230 Madison St, Yountville, CA 94599-1340
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Yountville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Yountville
#2 Green Hotel in Yountville
#3 Spa Hotel in Yountville
#4 Romantic Hotel in Yountville
#4 Business Hotel in Yountville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Napa Valley Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Napa Valley, in the charming town of Yountville, the Napa Valley Lodge is just steps away from world-renowned restaurants, specialty shops, and award winning wine tasting rooms. The Lodge is located at the north end of town away from the hustle and bustle of Yountville, but within easy strolling distance. Our property is designed in the Tuscan villa style and adorned with lush landscaping and thoughtful details at every turn, from trickling fountains to our popular outdoor fire pit and pool area. The Lodge welcomes you with a friendly and experienced staff that is committed to making your stay as special as possible. The Napa Valley Lodge's 55 guestrooms are spacious, private, and graciously furnished. Our guestrooms feature private verandahs, many with courtyard, garden, or vineyard views, and fireplaces. A Champagne continental breakfast buffet is served complimentary every morning from 8:00am-10:00am.All rooms are non-smoking, have deluxe honor bars, complimentary wireless internet (WiFi) access, flat screen TVs, desks, and fresh brewed coffee. All guest bathrooms have been completely renovated with walk-in glass showers, granite vanity counters, and limestone floors. For your convenience, our guestrooms include irons, ironing boards, two plush micro fiber robes, hair dryers and a variety of complimentary personal amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Napa Valley Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Napa Valley Hotel Yountville
Napa Valley Yountville
Napa Valley Lodge Yountville, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing