We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”
Review of Napa Valley Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Napa Valley Lodge
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Yountville
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Yuba City, California
1 review
“Great Hotel”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Such a wonderful Hotel. The grounds were manicured and we had a view of the vineyard from our patio which was very relaxing. The front desk staff was very helpful, polite, and pleasant. They made us feel very important and cared for. The room was very clean, well maintained, and had many furnishings to ensure our comfort. We will most definitely make a return visit to the Napa Valley Lodge.

Room Tip: Bottom floor rooms facing East have a patio with a view of the vineyard. Very nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim M, General Manager at Napa Valley Lodge, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear Dan,

Thank you for the excellent review. I was glad to hear you were so pleased with our accommodations. Looking forward to having you stay with us again.

Warm regards,

Tim McGregor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,357 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    973
    290
    71
    20
    3
See reviews for
179
809
17
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (279)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Yes, it's pricey. But, everything right in the heart of wine country is going to be, and what you are paying for is convenience, amenities and service. You get all of those here at Napa Valley Lodge and they had they best value we found at the height if the season in July. The room was well-appointed and spacious and included everything I would expect from a high-end resort. Turn-down service, champagne on arrival, coffee maker in-room, awesome extensive champagne breakfast were all great included items. Only complaint was low water pressure and water went cold/hot when I was in shower.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Michelle N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim M, Manager at Napa Valley Lodge, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review, Michelle. I'm happy our property provided you with everything you needed to enjoy the Napa Valley. Sorry to hear the water temperature was inconsistent during your stay. We certainly will look into why that occured. I hope you'll think of us again in the future.

Warm regards,

Tim McGregor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, Georgia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Felt like a boutique hotel..spacious, well-appointed rooms; manicured, lush grounds; Complimentary breakfast was wonderful. The front-desk staff was very helpful, attentive, and proficient. JoAnne was exceptional and spent a lot of time helping with restaurant and winery tour reservations. Only area needing improvement was bar service at the pool.
Overall, a great experience!

Room Tip: The suites are worth the small incremental price increase
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wawells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim M, Manager at Napa Valley Lodge, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear wawells,
Thank you for sharing your experience. We strive to provide personalized service to our guests and I'm glad JoAnne was so helpful during your stay. She will be delighted to hear that her efforts were appreciated. We hope to welcome you back again in the near future.
Warm regards,
Tim McGregor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

My husband and I had dinner reservations at French Laundry, and a friend recommended this hotel to us as it was close by. For French Laundry, this location was perfect! We arrived approx. 1.5 hours before their normal check-in time, and since our room wasn't quite ready we decided to walk to a nearby café to have an afternoon snack. A quick 10-15 minutes or so puts you right in the middle of everything; however, there are other hotels that are more "central". The front desk staff were very friendly — no complaints here! We were given a 1st floor room with a rather disappointing view for the price. The room itself was clean, spacious, and good quality products were provided. Overall experience was good, and I would stay there again? Yes -- but for the price, I will probably try another hotel down the street the next time I'm in Yountville first.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trisha C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim M, Manager at Napa Valley Lodge, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear Trisha,
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to write a review. The good news is, we have different room views to choose from and our staff can assist you with this during the reservation process. I am glad that had a good experience with us and hope that you will stay with us again the next time you visit the Yountville area.

Warm Regards,
Tim McGregor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 6 Contributor
206 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

I have so many wonderful things to say about my experience at the Napa Valley Lodge, to the point where I took the time to write two thank you letters to the staff for the amazing experience that we had.

My husband and I booked this hotel in March to be a part of a long overdue honeymoon. A member of the staff made it a point to make sure that we received the best possible accommodations. We booked a spa package and a winery tour package. The winery tour was personalized, and we were impressed that the woman handling our reservations took the time to ask us questions so that she could choose wineries that would be to our liking. We were delighted with our visits to Newton Vineyards, Chappellet Winery, and ZD Wines and felt that she did an excellent job, above and beyond, to make this experience a great one for us!

We stayed in the Bella Vista Suite, which I would highly recommend to anyone staying at this property. It is well worth the expense. The room is spacious, the bed is comfortable, and the two person soaking tub and walk-in shower were always the perfect end to each day. Our room was very quiet and we did not hear any cars on the highway that is close by. The view from the room is exceptional, with a private balcony overlooking the vineyard. It's the type of room that you truly never want to leave. As part of the Bella Vista experience, we were able to have breakfast delivered to our room each day, and it was fun to eat in the sunny sitting room each morning as we enjoyed our breakfast.

On our spa day, we had a couples massage, which was one of the best massages that we have ever had. We loved that the massage room was right by the pool area, which is where we spent the remainder of this relaxing day. The pool area is very nice and we enjoyed the poolside service that we utilized for a few drinks. The pool is a decent size and the area was well kept and clean.

We were a little weary of not being right in Napa, but after experiencing the Napa Valley area, we now feel that Yountville is the best place to stay. We found Yountville to be a much more laid back atmosphere and enjoyed the shops and restaurants there, many of which were within walking distance of the hotel.

During our honeymoon trip, we stayed at three hotels in California. This hotel was the only one in Napa Valley, the other two were luxury hotels in San Francisco. I can say without reservation that this hotel was our favorite of the trip. I feel that the prices matched the experience. The only thing we would change about our experience is that we would've stayed in Yountville much longer and extended this wonderful experience. When we book our next trip to the Napa Valley, we know exactly where we will be staying...the Bella Vista Suite at the Napa Valley Lodge :-)

Room Tip: Go for the Bella Vista Suite. It's worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MakingMemories317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim M, General Manager at Napa Valley Lodge, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Your review was an absolute pleasure to read through, MakingMemories317. We were delighted to have you stay with us as part of your honeymoon. It's wonderful to know we had a part in making it all the more special and memorable. Yountville is the heart of Napa Valley and we love our small town atmosphere.
We will look forward to your next visit and welcoming you back.

Warm regards,

Tim McGregor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

I was a little put off by the price originally, but the overall experience, service and comfort of the place won me over. The location is great and within walking distance to all the wonderful eateries. Our room was quiet and the beds were very comfortable. I normally like to relax in the tub but our room didn't have one. But the shower was a nice rain shower. The complimentary breakfast had something for everyone though the service was sparse. It's a "help yourself" kind of place and if you don't mind that, it's a great find.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1bossymom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim M, General Manager at Napa Valley Lodge, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear 1bossymom,

I'm happy to hear our property met your expectations. We want you to feel right at home when staying with us, so I'm glad you felt comfortable. I hope you'll choose to stay with us again in the future.

Warm regards,

Tim McGregor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

Loved our stay here. Good value, beautiful rooms, and great location. Staff was very friendly and helpful. We had a beautiful, complimentary, European style breakfast buffet every morning. Can't wait to return!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gibbensict78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim M, Manager at Napa Valley Lodge, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear Gibbensict78,

I'm delighted to hear you had such an enjoyable stay with us. I'll be sure to pass along your kind words to our staff. We're looking forward to your next visit.

Warm regards,

Tim McGregor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yountville
0.9 mi away
Hotel Yountville
Hotel Yountville
#1 of 6 in Yountville
1,056 reviews
0.6 mi away
Villagio Inn and Spa
Villagio Inn and Spa
#6 of 6 in Yountville
906 reviews
0.4 mi away
Vintage House
Vintage House
#5 of 6 in Yountville
737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Bardessono
Bardessono
#3 of 6 in Yountville
1,313 reviews
8.7 mi away
Andaz Napa
Andaz Napa
#4 of 30 in Napa
2,008 reviews
7.6 mi away
Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Napa Valley Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Napa Valley Lodge

Property: Napa Valley Lodge
Address: 2230 Madison St, Yountville, CA 94599-1340
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Yountville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Yountville
#2 Family Hotel in Yountville
#2 Spa Hotel in Yountville
#4 Business Hotel in Yountville
#4 Romantic Hotel in Yountville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Napa Valley Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Napa Valley, in the charming town of Yountville, the Napa Valley Lodge is just steps away from world-renowned restaurants, specialty shops, and award winning wine tasting rooms. The Lodge is located at the north end of town away from the hustle and bustle of Yountville, but within easy strolling distance. Our property is designed in the Tuscan villa style and adorned with lush landscaping and thoughtful details at every turn, from trickling fountains to our popular outdoor fire pit and pool area. The Lodge welcomes you with a friendly and experienced staff that is committed to making your stay as special as possible. The Napa Valley Lodge's 55 guestrooms are spacious, private, and graciously furnished. Our guestrooms feature private verandahs, many with courtyard, garden, or vineyard views, and fireplaces. A Champagne continental breakfast buffet is served complimentary every morning from 8:00am-10:00am.All rooms are non-smoking, have deluxe honor bars, complimentary wireless internet (WiFi) access, flat screen TVs, desks, and fresh brewed coffee. All guest bathrooms have been completely renovated with walk-in glass showers, granite vanity counters, and limestone floors. For your convenience, our guestrooms include irons, ironing boards, two plush micro fiber robes, hair dryers and a variety of complimentary personal amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Napa Valley Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Napa Valley Hotel Yountville
Napa Valley Yountville
Napa Valley Lodge Yountville, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing