We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sisters Trip a Success!”
Review of Napa Valley Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Napa Valley Lodge
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Yountville
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed June 4, 2013

My sisters and I recently went to Napa for a relaxing getaway coupled with wine tasting and dinners. We decided to try the Napa Valley Lodge as we had heard from friends that it was centrally located and beautiful. Our experience was terrific. From the first phone call with the concierge service to the check-in with the front desk everything was seamless and pleasant. They have terrific spa services and a continental breakfast that was no less than gourmet. All the recommendations for wine tastings and dinner were exactly what we were looking for. Plus, the rooms were spacious, beautiful and comfortable. Highly recommend for a getaway destination location! We will be back!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annalisa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim M, General Manager at Napa Valley Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2013

Dear Annalisa,

I'm happy you and your sister chose to spend your relaxing getaway at our property. It sounds like you were able to enjoy all of our amenities, as well as the nearby wineries and restaurants. Looking forward to your next stay with us.

Warm regards,

Tim McGregor
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,387)
There are newer reviews for Napa Valley Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

772 - 778 of 1,387 reviews

Reviewed June 4, 2013

The rooms are nice…ours had a fireplace on the 2nd floor overlooking the Bocce Ball court. The bathrooms are a step above the rest of the accommodations in the room. The complimentary breakfast is a full buffet and the pool and courtyard make for a nice area to unwind after a day of tastings. The location is also quite convenient and only a few blocks from French Laundry, Bottega and the other Michelin rated restaurants of Yountville. All that said, $500 per night (weekend rate) before any tax, etc. seems a bit excessive for what you’re getting. I don’t mind paying that for a room, however when I do I expect a little more than what the NVL delivers.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Craig P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim M, General Manager at Napa Valley Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2013

Dear Craig,

While I'm glad you were satisfied with your accommodations, I would have hoped that we could have shown you a better value. We offer some of the best rates in the area, and we strive to show that with all the amenities we do have, that we are the best value in comparison to other choices in the area. I hope you'll think of us in the future, should you ever return to Yountville.

Warm regards,

Tim McGregor
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Location is great, just a few blocks from the French Laundry and downtown Yountville. It is also just across the street from Napa Bike Rental, which came in handy for a stroll to nearby wineries. Nice breakfast, which you can also do outdoors (although a bit too close to the highway). Rooms renovated and spacey. Considering the available options in Yountville, this was in the lower price range. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Victor M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim M, General Manager at Napa Valley Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2013

Dear Victor,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I'm happy to hear you made such great use of our central location. I hope you'll think of us again if you ever return to Yountville.

Warm regards,

Tim McGregor
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

beautiful property, fantastic service, very accomodating, beautiful renovated rooms, gorgeous bathrooms, we had a wonderful time and can't wait to come back! Yountville is an adorable town, and the hotel is in a great location-- it is within walking distance from lots of great restaurants and tasting rooms!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim M, General Manager at Napa Valley Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2013

Dear Marie,

It's wonderful to know you were so impressed with our property. I'm glad you enjoyed walking to the local restaurants and wineries. Looking forward to your next stay with us.

Warm regards,

Tim McGregor
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Before I begin this review I want readers to know that we are not complainers nor are we expecting something for nothing. Our inclination is to give the benefit of any doubt.

This was the fourth and last hotel during our two week stay in California and I am sorry to say it was far from satisfactory. We had a difficult beginning being told that our room was not available and then watching while seven other people who arrived after us were immediately assigned rooms.

The room we were assigned had a view of a tile roof and only a tile roof, not six feet, I am not kidding, from our balcony. When asked about this the manager said it was because our reservation was not made until a couple of weeks prior. My email confirmation clearly showed the reservation was made Dec 7, 2012. To her credit the manager did offer to move us to another room for that night but we would have to relocated for the following night. While we appreciated the gesture we decided to stay put since moving three times over the next four days was not something we were interested in doing.

The TV channels are in analog, not kidding again, so reception is not very good. The channel information in the room included CNN and CNBC but on turning to those channels it was something else. When we asked about this we were told that the hotel had not had CNN and CNBC for a couple of years. Do you think the in room channel information should be changed? No CNBC, really?

The air conditioner stop working and after a couple of visits from mechanics, and tapping on a device in the ceiling, it began to work again. The mechanic told us that a part needed replaced and he would do that while we were out the next day. We enjoyed a comfortable sleep that night.

When we returned from a morning tour the next day it was clear the air conditioner wasn't working again. The mechanic came and said replacing the part was a major effort and would have to wait until the room was vacant. Thankfully, the mechanic was able to manipulate the bad part in a way that allowed the temperature to cool. He was quite competent and friendly.

The furnishings are dated and in need of refurbishment.

The positives: This hotel is within convenient walking distance to most of the goings-on in Yountville. The breakfast buffet has a broad selection and was good.

The manager did reduce our room rate somewhat and while appreciated that isn't what we are looking for. We just want things to happen as planned.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
7  Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim M, General Manager at Napa Valley Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2013

Dear Tom M,

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay.

I am truly sorry that you were not satisfied by our efforts to provide you with an early check-in on the day of your arrival. In order to avoid disappointing our guests, we make every effort to inform you that check-in time is 4pm, and if your room type is not cleaned and available prior to that time, there is not much we can do other than offer alternatives. We have several different room types at our hotel and as guests check out, rooms are cleaned and made available. The other guests that you mention were able to check-in prior to you because they had reserved a different room type than yours. Upon realizing your displeasure, we tried to offer you alternatives. However, due to our high occupancy and your length of stay, we were limited in what we had available to offer. Since your priority was to check-in as early as possible, we secured the first room that was available in your room type.
Regarding the TV channels, Comcast is now offering commercial HDTV content to our area and we are scheduled to receive this upgrade starting late June/early July. At this time we will offer a larger channel lineup that will include CNN and CNBC. Regarding the furnishings, we are in the middle of upgrading our guestrooms and certain items will be changed out over the summer.
I am sorry for the inconvenience that the guestroom’s HVAC may have caused. Thank you for your patience while we made the repairs.

Regards,

Tim McGregor
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

The message I want to convey here is simple. Do not stay here unless you have no other choices.

We checked in mid week. We were traveling with another couple and this was our fourth hotel in our two week vacation. It was slightly past 2:30p. We were told check-in was at 4pm and that the rooms were not ready. We were tired and wanted to shower so we were understandably disappointed. The curt woman at the desk said, "you need to understand. We've just had a very busy weekend and it will take awhile for rooms to be ready". Being told "I need to understand" just hit me the wrong way. But OK, we have no choice but to wait around.

What happened next is inexcusable. Seven consecutive people approached the desk and guess what? They got rooms. How is this possible? We had made our reservations over 5 months ago. Yet we were made to wait while others were given keys immediately. The woman behind the desk had no explanation for this bizarre situation. She just reiterated that the rooms would be ready by 4p. But, as luck would have it, I made enough noise that two rooms were quickly made available. This was not a good start.
The hotel itself is just a glorified motel that needs to be fixed up. The carpet in the room is dirty. The toilet doesn't always stop running. The light over the bathrooms sink goes on and off for no apparent reason. The minibar key is unnecessary since the lock doesn't work. TV reception is lousy. The in room channel guide in totally incorrect. There is no CNBC or CNN, yet the channel guide indicated differently. When I brought that to the attention of staff, it was clear I was wasting my breath.
While the room was large there was only a wicker chair and a desk chair in which to sit. The furnishings are old and out of date. The fireplace is not gas or wood burning. it has a duraflame log. Nice touch. All this for a room that will cost me more than $540 tonight after tax.

The property is blessed with a very good location. And a website that enhances the real deal. But thats about it. The breakfast offerings are OK, but the upholstered chairs in the breakfast room are so soiled that its hard to believe management would leave them there. I can only imagine what all those spots are on the chairs' fabric. When we went to get ice from the ice machine I can only describe the filth around it as grunge. Nobody is minding the store.

We love the Napa Valley and will soon return. But this hotel clearly will not be where we stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank racar22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim M, General Manager at Napa Valley Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2013

Dear RACAR22,

Thank you for your sharing your experience. With regards to your check-in experience, I’m sorry to hear that you were disappointed. We try to make it very clear at time of reservation that the Lodge’s check-in time is 4pm. This time is consistent with the other hotels in Yountville, and is due to the simple fact that we must clean the rooms after guests check-out. If your room is clean and available earlier, we always try to accommodate early check-ins, however if your room is not clean then we cannot check you in. Rooms are assigned to guests at the time of reservation depending on room type selected, length of stay, etc. and, as rooms are cleaned and inspected, they are available to be checked into. The reason that other guests may have been able to check-in before you is that their rooms were clean and available, while your designated room hadn’t yet been cleaned by 2:30pm. In an effort to accommodate your demands for an early check-in, our front desk agent moved around reservations and checked you into another set of rooms. I’m sorry that this attempt to accommodate you was not appreciated.

As for the TV reception, Comcast is now offering commercial HDTV to the area and we will have the HDTV lineup in place by late June or early July. With regards to the chairs in the dining room, new replacement chairs are on order, but as with anything in the design world these days, it takes months for selection and procurement and so these will be in place later this summer.

Regards,

Tim McGregor
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

My wife and I love this place! Very clean, quaint and relaxing. The hotel staff was very friendly and professional. Location to all Yountville attractions and Napa valley is excellent. Enjoyed daily spa services and excellent breakfast buffet. Can't wait to return!!

Room Tip: rooms away from courtyard pool are quieter
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mikey019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim M, General Manager at Napa Valley Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2013

Dear Mikey,

It's wonderful to know you and your wife love our property so much. It was just as much of a pleasure having you. I'm glad you were able to enjoy our amenities. Looking forward to your next stay.

Warm regards,

Tim McGregor
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yountville
0.9 mi away
Hotel Yountville
Hotel Yountville
#2 of 6 in Yountville
1,061 reviews
0.6 mi away
Villagio Inn and Spa
Villagio Inn and Spa
#6 of 6 in Yountville
924 reviews
0.4 mi away
Vintage House
Vintage House
#4 of 6 in Yountville
744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Bardessono
Bardessono
#3 of 6 in Yountville
1,322 reviews
8.7 mi away
Andaz Napa
Andaz Napa
#4 of 30 in Napa
2,041 reviews
7.6 mi away
Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Napa Valley Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Napa Valley Lodge

Address: 2230 Madison St, Yountville, CA 94599-1340
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Yountville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Yountville
#2 Green Hotel in Yountville
#2 Family Hotel in Yountville
#4 Business Hotel in Yountville
#4 Romantic Hotel in Yountville
Price Range: $336 - $846 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Napa Valley Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Napa Valley, in the charming town of Yountville, the Napa Valley Lodge is just steps away from world-renowned restaurants, specialty shops, and award winning wine tasting rooms. The Lodge is located at the north end of town away from the hustle and bustle of Yountville, but within easy strolling distance. Our property is designed in the Tuscan villa style and adorned with lush landscaping and thoughtful details at every turn, from trickling fountains to our popular outdoor fire pit and pool area. The Lodge welcomes you with a friendly and experienced staff that is committed to making your stay as special as possible. The Napa Valley Lodge's 55 guestrooms are spacious, private, and graciously furnished. Our guestrooms feature private verandahs, many with courtyard, garden, or vineyard views, and fireplaces. A Champagne continental breakfast buffet is served complimentary every morning from 8:00am-10:00am.All rooms are non-smoking, have deluxe honor bars, complimentary wireless internet (WiFi) access, flat screen TVs, desks, and fresh brewed coffee. All guest bathrooms have been completely renovated with walk-in glass showers, granite vanity counters, and limestone floors. For your convenience, our guestrooms include irons, ironing boards, two plush micro fiber robes, hair dryers and a variety of complimentary personal amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Napa Valley Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Napa Valley Hotel Yountville
Napa Valley Yountville
Napa Valley Lodge Yountville, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing