We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel in the middle of everything”
Review of Napa Valley Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Napa Valley Lodge
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Yountville
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Leonia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel in the middle of everything”
Reviewed September 12, 2012

I was a little nervous about this hotel because I had seen other reviews commenting that it was similar to a motel and right off "the noisy highway". I really wanted a nice experience for our family girls trip. I was wondering if I would have regrets not being in down town Napa. I have to say this place exceeded my expectations. The staff was incredibly nice and very attentive to all of our needs. This hotel is two story (about the only thing that would make it motel like) but the rooms are huge and the balcony was lovely. We were on the second floor. There is no elevator which could be a downside but we had at least 3 members of the hotel staff offer to carry our bags up. They do offer breakfast every morning which looked good. I liked the location of this hotel as it was close to some really great restaurants (Redd, Bottega, French Laundry, Bouchon) and was just a much quieter town than I had seen in Napa. We loved walking into Yountville for dinner. We all work in Manhattan so I didn't really want to be in the center of a busy place. We were there to relax. We did head over to Oxbow market in Napa one morning which was about a 10 minute drive. We were up the street from Mumm and I just felt that this hotel was very centrally located to everything. You were close to St. Helena too which I loved. It's nice to have the option of being close to both St. Helena and Napa since they're both cute towns. Hotel room was very clean and the view was lovely. Pool was a little small but I think probably average for the area. Nice that they had a jacuzzi also. We booked the package deal with the private driver which was expensive but we loved our driver and felt that it was worth it. Our hotel room was very quiet.

Room Tip: I would probably choose the 2nd floor again. You are further away from the pool which is always les...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelGirl23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    911
    282
    67
    19
    3
See reviews for
159
766
17
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (278)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tennessee
Level Contributor
270 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Wonderful place to stay! Great breakfast included each morning, nice and relatively quiet. Very accomodating to your needs. Walk to world class eateries and shops.
Only thing I would recommend would be more lighting in the rooms. Bathroom especially for us ladies who need good lighting for makeup! Room in general was not well-lit, but with amount of time we spent in the room it wasn't a major issue.

Room Tip: Rooms around the pool are nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Loved staying at the Napa Valley Lodge...Great service, fantastic room and we really enjoyed the free wine tastings every day around twilight hour. My wife and I really enjoyed our experience and the added bonus is that the hotel is located right in the center of all the action in Yountville. 3 minute walk to French Laundry and Bouchon...All I can say, can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: we stayed in the Merritage suite - it was amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tyler B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

I stayed at the Napa Valley Lodge for a girls weekend and was impressed again by the accommodations. It felt like they added some additional touches including L'Occitane products in the beautifully appointed bathrooms. The service was incredible - it was a celebratory occasion and the hotel had sparkling water, wine and champagne on ice in our room when we arrived. We enjoyed our bubbly on the patio overlooking the pool and bocce ball court which had such a cheerful and mediterranean feel with the orange umbrellas and fire pit. The location is perfect. We parked for the weekend and walked to town for coffee, tasting rooms and dinner. The Napa Valley Lodge just doesn't disappoint.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kkg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tinton Falls, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 3, 2012

This is our third stay at the property and they never fail to disapoint. Wonderful staff. Great location. Within walking distances to some of the finest resturants in the valley (or in the world). We enjoy being on the vineyard side of the property as its a bit less conjested and has wonderful views north up Rt 29 into the valley. During the busy Labor Day weekend, you didnt even feel like the property was conjested. We really like the "quaintness" of the entire location. Easy off / onto Rt 29, and some backroads lead you to the Silverado trail. Nestled in Yountville, its the best location we have found between the hamelts in the valley to take in the entire Napa Valley experience.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scott c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Rooms are great, nice balconies for relaxing. Great pool and fire pit. People are very nice and the free breakfast was good before a full day of drinking wine. Location is a little north of most major restaurants in Yountville, about 1/2-3/4mi north. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TrevorGSX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Went to the Napa Valley Lodge on a girls trip and it was great. Peaceful and relaxing. The concierge folks made all of our reservations for us from limo, to winery tastings to dinner reservations. Totally full service and really helpful.

Was my third time staying there and they have added a number of nice little touches since our first trip a couple years ago...like bottled water in our room upon arrival, cookies on the bed in the evening, nice soaps and shampoos, food and drink service at the pool, and a really good (free) breakfast.

We like the style of the property and the casual atmosphere just a few block removed from the busier part of the Town center. We will be back next year.

Room Tip: request upstairs rooms for best views out over the vineyards.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paeyton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yountville
0.9 mi away
Hotel Yountville
Hotel Yountville
#1 of 6 in Yountville
1,039 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bardessono
Bardessono
#2 of 6 in Yountville
1,294 reviews
0.4 mi away
Vintage Inn
Vintage Inn
#4 of 6 in Yountville
716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Villagio Inn and Spa
Villagio Inn and Spa
#6 of 6 in Yountville
887 reviews
10.7 mi away
Wine Country Inn & Cottages
0.1 mi away
North Block Hotel
North Block Hotel
#5 of 6 in Yountville
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Napa Valley Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Napa Valley Lodge

Property: Napa Valley Lodge
Address: 2230 Madison St, Yountville, CA 94599-1340
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Yountville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Yountville
#2 Green Hotel in Yountville
#3 Spa Hotel in Yountville
#4 Business Hotel in Yountville
#4 Romantic Hotel in Yountville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Napa Valley Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Napa Valley, in the charming town of Yountville, the Napa Valley Lodge is just steps away from world-renowned restaurants, specialty shops, and award winning wine tasting rooms. The Lodge is located at the north end of town away from the hustle and bustle of Yountville, but within easy strolling distance. Our property is designed in the Tuscan villa style and adorned with lush landscaping and thoughtful details at every turn, from trickling fountains to our popular outdoor fire pit and pool area. The Lodge welcomes you with a friendly and experienced staff that is committed to making your stay as special as possible. The Napa Valley Lodge's 55 guestrooms are spacious, private, and graciously furnished. Our guestrooms feature private verandahs, many with courtyard, garden, or vineyard views, and fireplaces. A Champagne continental breakfast buffet is served complimentary every morning from 8:00am-10:00am.All rooms are non-smoking, have deluxe honor bars, complimentary wireless internet (WiFi) access, flat screen TVs, desks, and fresh brewed coffee. All guest bathrooms have been completely renovated with walk-in glass showers, granite vanity counters, and limestone floors. For your convenience, our guestrooms include irons, ironing boards, two plush micro fiber robes, hair dryers and a variety of complimentary personal amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Napa Valley Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Napa Valley Hotel Yountville
Napa Valley Yountville
Napa Valley Lodge Yountville, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing