We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A simple choice...”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Penny's Diner

Penny's Diner
Ranked #3 of 7 Restaurants in Yermo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $12
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
255 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“A simple choice...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014

There's a more celebrated diner just up the road from Penny's and I have to admit we went there first, only to be greeted by bus loads of tourists outside and pandemonium inside. It was a very simple choice to head to Penny's instead.

The décor and vibe is typical diner, the food freshly cook and tasty if nothing special or exciting and, best of all, we were among a pleasant number of patrons some of which were definitely locals and regulars.

We might have missed the whole point of the other place being busy but we didn't care; avoiding feeding time at the zoo was worth it's weight in Calico gold.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LDN_2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    21
    5
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great Place To Eat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014

The breakfast here is really good and I would recommend the pancakes. When staying in the hotel next door you get a free breakfast here. The staff is great and the prices are spot on.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank B-Spec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_OTI, General Manager at Penny's Diner, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear Bspec,

Thank you for your great comments about our food and service at Penny's Diner. We try very hard to deliver the best service and quality meals to our customers. Please come back again!

Best Regards,

Nicole Ursry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willits, CA
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good food and Awesome Staff!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2014

The food was homey and good. The staff was better than the food, so that rates them awesome! Very clean and next to our hotel so that was a plus.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank CynthiaKB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis, California
Level Contributor
449 reviews
214 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Wonderful breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2014

Breakfast is included with the room at the Oak Tree Inn next door. They cook to order, and the breakfast was delicious. The previous night, my husband enjoyed the berry pie, and I had a large, yummy raspberry milk shake. Good atmosphere and friendly service.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank USAwalkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McKeesport, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
187 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Cute diner with great food and milkshakes”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014

We were lucky to find this diner near (Peggy Sue's) in Yermo in the Mojave Desert!
Really friendly staff and excellent service. My husband loved his French dip and the fries were great! They do not have malt vinegar tho! I had a chocolate milkshake so I was full and couldn't order food unfortunately! We will be back. It's clean and bright and not overcrowded like Peggy Sue's and they are less expensive too!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Diane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Penny's Diner also viewed

 
Yermo, California Desert
Barstow, California Desert
 

Been to Penny's Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing