We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and Convenient”
Review of Oak Tree Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Oak Tree Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Yermo
San Francisco, CA
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Clean and Convenient”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

This motel is fairly literally in the middle of nowhere - we rolled in tired from a long day's trip and were very grateful to find this property. Awesome diner next door, and a great little ghost town called Calico nearby - highly recommend a visit! This place really saved us, thank you. And thanks once again to Tripadvisor for helping us find it.

Room Tip: We were close to the freeway, but thanks to the thick windows and blackout shades, we slept very com...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LeWoobie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    37
    17
    4
    14
See reviews for
29
34
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pismo Beach, California
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2012

Unfortunately we had a room on the freeway side and it is very noisy BUT they provide you with a noise canceling radio. Not able to say if it works as we didn't realize until next morning that radio had this feature. For the price room was fine. Bed comfy. Didn't meet any friendly staff. When we checked in they ignored us for several minutes. Diner food is as good as any. We would stay here again. Visit the Callico Mine. Takes about an hour to see it all. Very nice view of the area from there. Be warned that employees there smoke in the doorway of their shop.

Room Tip: Request one away from traffic. You are only 30 or 40 feet from highway!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pismomama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valley Center, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

My wife, daughter and I stayed here for 2 nights while we visited the Calico Ghost Town at Halloween. We loved this Inn! The room was very comfortable and we slept in past sunrise because the blackout curtains made the room so dark. The free breakfast next door was excellent and the people working there were also very friendly. Most of all I appreciated the General Manager Sandy who found my wedding ring which I lost under the bed and mailed it to me!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Daniel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission Viejo
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

This was the best place to stay while visiting Calico Ghost Town - The room was very clean, quiet, the beds superb, the price was right.and above all the friendliest staff. We asked for a room facing the parking lot and on the ground floor, so it was very convenient for us. The room had a Coffee Maker, Fridge, Microwave, Cable TV, even a hair-dryer . Overall a great experience. Will stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NM R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fountain Hills, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Compared to other alternatives in the Barstow area, we found the Oak Tree Inn to be much better. Our room was clean and well appointed. We were on the non-highway side of the building, so traffic noise was not a problem. The diner next door is fun and the free breakfast was good. We'll stay here again when passing through this area.

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the parking lot to avoid traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank D H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Verkin, Utah
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2012

It's a basic motel, granted. But, for what you get at a 'basic' rate, you get a fridge, coffee maker... etc. Also, it's dark (blank out curtains) and quiet (I was on the parking lot, but heard nothing from cars).

The pool area is nice, and the Penny's Diner is a place you must eat!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank April R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2012

A nice place to stay to break the trip from grand canyon to LA. Clean, great Internet access.
The diner next door, has good food and reasonably priced. We enjoyed staying here. Recommended!!!
They have scales in the gym which was very helpful for us, as we did a bit of shopping in Vegas, and wanted to check the weight for the aero plane back home. Also they have a laundry room, which came in very handy. Because the washing machine is industrial make sure you choose delicates!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fabiola M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yermo
6.5 mi away
California Inn
California Inn
#5 of 29 in Barstow
992 reviews
6.3 mi away
Travelodge Barstow
Travelodge Barstow
#11 of 29 in Barstow
220 reviews
11.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Barstow
Comfort Suites Barstow
#1 of 29 in Barstow
690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Barstow
6.7 mi away
Rodeway Inn Barstow
Rodeway Inn Barstow
#4 of 29 in Barstow
612 reviews
6.8 mi away
Economy Inn
Economy Inn
#17 of 29 in Barstow
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oak Tree Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oak Tree Inn

Property: Oak Tree Inn
Address: 35450 Yermo Road, Yermo, CA 92398
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Yermo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Yermo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Oak Tree Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Oak Tree Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oak Tree Hotel Yermo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing