We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Barstow Calico KOA
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Yermo
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (99)
Filter reviews
99 results
Traveler rating
22
39
22
9
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
22
39
22
9
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfull hookupsghost townnice campgroundeasy accesslaundry room was cleanhot deserttent campingfree shuttleroad noisewi fiwould stay againgreat place to stayroad triprvprivacycalicocaboose
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
69 - 74 of 99 reviews
Reviewed September 3, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here as it is a perfect location between Las Vegas and Los Angeles! We spent 2 nights which meant we had a full day there!

They offer a free shuttle to the local Calico Ghost Town which was very convenient.. With a lovely driver called Karl who was very chatty, knowledgeable and helpful!

The lady at the front desk was also very friendly and helpful!

The showers were clean and hot, and the pool was clean and cold - perfect for a hot desert day!

We had a great time here and would recommend it!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Inspire2Be
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

Let me start by saying that I stayed at several KOAs during my trip throughout the US and this one was quite average. First of all, I did not expect shower coins. No other KOA that I visited used this system. Tent sites should be more secluded. Well equipped shop/office. Close to Barstow and Calico Ghost Town, also just off Route 66. All in all, it was ok. No fireworks, though.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ola_912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2012

Stopped here by chance after a big days driving. Great place - really friendly staff and very clean with a lovely pool. Peggy Sues diner is just down the road aswell which is a great diner. If you're driving through and need a place to stop I would recommend it

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RichardfromNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2012

Wanting to get out of the city and ahead of the morning commuter traffic, we decided to make our first night stop just 2 hours north at the Barstow-Calico KOA located in Yermo, CA. This facility is located adjacent to the 15 freeway just east of Barstow, so there was some road noise, but nothing too loud.

We arrived about 8pm and the office was closed for the day, however they had our site information posted in a kiosk, so we had no trouble finding our spot.

We didn’t use any of the facilities, but did scope them out before leaving the next morning, and found them to be very good. Bathrooms were clean and roomy and they also had a nice pool area.

I would recommend staying here if your plans call for an early a.m. start to points east. It’s far enough out of the city to avoid any traffic and the property is nicely maintained with full hookups and pleasant views of the desert and surrounding hills.

Room Tip: Campsites toward the rear of property have less freeway noise and better views of the desert and hills.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CalGal1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2012

We spent one night here on our way to Mammoth Lakes, CA. Nice camp store, well-stocked with both groceries and camp items. Some lovely dresses, too.
Being close to the highway it was loud up front, but we asked for and got a spot at the back, so noise wasn't an issue. Plus, we had a nice view of the desert and hills behind the camp. One down side of being at the back was the free wireless was far enough away to be pretty worthless. Nice swimming pool, though no hot tub. Game room and a nice playground.
Great tiled showers in the restrooms alongside the office. Additional showers next to the office were not as nice. Each guest gets two tokens, each good for six minutes of shower, so 12 minutes in all. We just used our own since we were at the back of the camp.
Very nice feature was the Oleander shrubs which separated each site, giving much more privacy than usual.

Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank Greg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews