We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Shower Ever”
Review of Barstow Calico KOA

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Barstow Calico KOA
Reviewed April 29, 2011

I camped here one night as a last minute decision driving to Vegas from Malibu. The weather had gotten pretty bad while camping in Malibu and decided to just head back. A friend and i hd decided to find a spot and camp for the night and see how what the weather was doing by the next day. KOA was the closest spot right off the highway. We got a sopt before the office closed and the lady was really nice. We weren't able to get any wood but there was a few gas stastion across the freeway that sold some.
The showers there were really clean and by far the hottest camp shower I'd ever taken. I'd been wet from the weather in Malibu so being able to take a nice long hot shower right across from my tent was nice. It was a nice place but when the wind kicked up it turned into a dust bowl. Def not a good spot for the windy season.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GhostownTornado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (92)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 92 reviews

Reviewed September 29, 2008

It is a long drive through the desert from California to Las Vegas. Barstow, California is a nice little town in the middle of nowhere and Barstow KOA is a great place to stay for a break from the heat and heavy traffic.

Each site has some nice bushes and trees - a welcome site after so much unrelenting desert. The facilities are sparkling clean and extensive including a nice pool.

The free WiFi and cable worked perfectly without problems. Gas, restaurants and groceries are very close by and convenient.

The campground is very near the freeway but the traffic noise is minimal and somewhat diminished by songbirds in the trees within the park.

We stayed in a large 5th wheel RV and had plenty of room. The campground has Kamping Kabins and tent space as well.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank freyagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 807AmG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2017
Thank Saskia v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2017, traveled with family
Thank Wilvm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2017, traveled solo
    • Cleanliness
Thank Thomas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Harry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yermo
11.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Barstow
11.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Barstow
Comfort Suites Barstow
#1 of 29 in Barstow
716 reviews
11.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Barstow-Outlet Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Oak Tree Inn
Oak Tree Inn
#1 of 1 in Yermo
103 reviews
6.0 mi away
Best Western Desert Villa Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barstow Calico KOA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barstow Calico KOA

Address: 35250 Outer Hwy. 15 N, Yermo, CA 92398
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Yermo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Yermo
Price Range: $127 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Barstow Calico KOA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing