We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“North Pole Tubing Park - Great family Fun!”
Review of Mountain High

Mountain High
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Mountain High North is Southern California's closest tubing facility! With up to 10 lanes available you can race the whole family!
Aliso Viejo, California
Level Contributor
81 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“North Pole Tubing Park - Great family Fun!”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Our family had our first visit to Mountain High's North Pole Tubing Park this past Friday during Christmas break. The drive from Orange County only took us 1 hour 20 minutes. We didn't get there until 10:30am which was OK but I heard it is ideal if you can get there by 8:30am so you can sign your waiver, get your pass, and get a bunch of runs in before the crowds arrive. Peak times seemed to be 10:30am-12:30pm. Bring a pen for the waiver forms, 1 form per person. Even the kids need their own form. Bring cash if you can, they can process you faster. They do accept credit cards. On the day we were there they closed the park around noon to any new cars coming in. The lines had reached about 30 minutes wait at that point. Most people choose a 2 hour pass so the morning people seem to leave start leaving around 12:30pm and the lines ease up to 20 minutes or less after that. This tubing park is very family friendly. It is like a waterpark where there are attendants at the top and the bottom of the runs. You can't start sliding until the bottom of your run is clear. You can take small children in your tube with you. And you are permitted to go down two tubes at a time holding the tubes together, so 5 and up can feel secure going down with mom or dad by their side. Sitting or laying on your belly are both permitted. The conveyer belt on either side of the runs brings you back up to the top of the hill with ease. The lodge, parking lot and lines for the runs are all at the top of the hill so it is convenient to grab a water out of the car, take a few layers of clothing back to the car, or run to the lodge to use the restroom while the rest of the family or group holds your place in line. I have heard that the Big Bear tubing parks have steeper hills and are less restrictive on how many leave the top of the hill at one time so it may have some advantages for older kids or adults but I think Mt. High was perfect for our family with younger kids. And it saved us the additional 45 minute drive to Big Bear.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
21 Thank mrsp-alisoviejo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    21
    13
    4
    8
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Slow service... took 3 hrs to (not) get the ski rentals!”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

We signed up for the kids program 10a-3pm, 6 adults with 8 kids got there at 9am, and the dreadful wait started... it took 10min per person to get a ticket, and then forever to get the equipment AND get it fitted! We started lining up for equipment at around 9:30am, and then by 10:45am, we FINALLY got our equipment! There weren't hundreds of people in line, probably at most 30ppl, really mysterious how it took that long. So then starting at 10:45am we were ready to have the equipment fitted, and then by 11:30am we decided we should just buy some lunch and eat while in line to save time, and by the time we were done buying and eating lunch, we were STILL in line!! By 12:30pm we finally were able to get one of the kids' equipment fitted, but then the person said he had to take a break right after that and had someone else take care of our other kid... very frustrated by now so we had to give up since the kids program was supposed to be 10-3p, and we just didn't see why we should be paying full price for something that we could probably do 1/2 of, so we decided to get a refund.

The best part about this trip was not having to line up to get the refund and the fact that we were able to get the refund. Very disappointed!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank lifesdelights
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whittier, California
Level Contributor
81 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“favorite way to spend a winter day”
Reviewed December 5, 2012

I come here a few times a year during snowboarding season. The snow is both real and manmade on the slopes. it is usually fluff, but there have been times where the snow was more like ice and horrible to board on. I am actually planning to come again this Thursday. I cant wait. there are several types of slopes. Bunny to very steep. there are also a few ramps to do trick, ut i dont mess with those. The price is moderate maybe about $65 for lift ticket for an all day pass. I have all my own equipment, but I think it is $30 to rent a board and boots. there are also ski & helmet rentals. There is a store on site that sells clothing and equipment. There is a restaurant that sells deli food, warm drinks and alcohol. Outdoors is a giant fire pit and another bar. Overall I would say this is a great way to spend a winter day

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank toshinacrockett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West New York, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Nice Resort”
Reviewed November 27, 2012

i wnet to this resort and i had a wonderfull time there, is a small place but my family a i really like spending time snowboarding an skiing there ill go back next season

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jp-usa n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrightwood, California
Level Contributor
55 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Best skiing for children non-daredevils”
Reviewed August 25, 2012

This is part of Mountain High Ski Area but not always open. We found it much more relaxing as the lines not nearly so long, the trails longer and crowds much less. Beginner and intermediate type of skiing that was perfect for our group. Many of them have done a lot of skiing and say this was the best skiing experience they have ever had. Highly recommend this ski area of Mountain High.

Helpful?
1 Thank schindlerkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mountain High also viewed

 

Been to Mountain High? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing