We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“clean and very inexpensive.”
Review of Hotel Central

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Playa Santo Domingo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Central
Tamarindo, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“clean and very inexpensive.”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

The staff was friendly, the room and bathroom was clean and it was incredibly inexpensive. We felt safe there. The little town it was in was very cute. What more could you ask for? We had a nice time.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pedrosurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    15
    7
    0
    1
See reviews for
1
11
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Luis Obispo, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2013

The rooms in the back with the hammock and rocking chairs are lovely. They thoroughly clean the place in the mornings, the picture of the bathroom was not what I (or anyone I spoke to during my stay) experienced. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Definitely a good place to sleep in Altagracia.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RadCait
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olten
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012

There is a nice little garden with chairs to hang out. WIFI does not work at the room, only close to the reception. 8$ for a triple room which I got for myself incl. priv. bathroom is a very fair price for good value.
There are not many food places around, but the hotel serves some meals. they are not the best, but will fill your stomach. bus stop is right in front of the house.
they have bicycles for rent but at first they wanted to charge us an exaggerated price. later on he came to look for us offering the bikes for a lower price, but since the bikes were in a bad condition, we ended up hitchhiking..

Room Tip: i had my room next to the street. there was a lot of noise, i thing there are rooms further in the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NoAmy84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico, Missouri
Level Contributor
149 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2012

Altagracia is a very small town; location is therefore not relevant! This hostel was fine - each room had a hammock outside it, and the rooms themselves were basic but fine.

The rooms were reasonably priced (we paid $18 for a double with private bathroom); the place also servers breakfast, but this was a little expensive by Nicuraguran standards.

Moyogalpa had a lot more going on than Altagracia - you will probably only be here if you are catching the ferry to/from Granada.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank PLPKN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2012

When traveling from Granada to Ometepe you are likely to have to stay in Altagracia, which is tiny, quite boring place. This hotel is very cheap and people are friendly. If you need to stay in Altagracia it is a good place to chose. Otherwise you can end up in rather simple conditions.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jacek B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajijic, Mexico
Level Contributor
138 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2012

Stay in on of the lovely cottages out back. All in different colors and with their own porch and rocking chairs. Paid $12/night. You an rent a room for $8 but run the risk of being disturbed as the walls are thin. It's a nice, clean friendly place.

Room Tip: Rent a cottage in the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank anitaInJocotepec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2011

I ended staying here 2 extra nights to rest and relax as I found the place quiet and staff attentive and very helpful. I had arrived on the ferry from Granada rather tired and unwell and I accidentally found this place after being annoyed by a guy who was recruiting for one of the other hotels in town on the ferry. The staff were very attentive and helpful, the hotel is clean and rooms too. I wouldn't stay anywhere else in town.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a hammock, great for some downtime between being on the road.
See more room tips
Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
Helpful?
4 Thank advgal2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Santo Domingo
0.0 mi away
Hotel Villa Paraiso
Hotel Villa Paraiso
#1 of 4 in Isla de Ometepe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Playa Santa Martha
Hotel Playa Santa Martha
#4 of 4 in Isla de Ometepe
3.0 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
0.0 mi away
Morgan's Rock Hacienda and Ecolodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Finca San Juan de la Isla
Finca San Juan de la Isla
#1 of 6 in Altagracia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
0.0 mi away
Finca Montania Sagrada
Finca Montania Sagrada
#7 of 42 in Isla de Ometepe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Finca El Chipote
Hotel Finca El Chipote
#2 of 6 in Altagracia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Central

Property: Hotel Central
Address: Parque Central Altagracia, 2 cuadras al sur, Playa Santo Domingo, Isla de Ometepe 505, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > Isla de Ometepe > Playa Santo Domingo
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Playa Santo Domingo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is a colonial mansion in Central street of the town of Altagracia, Ometepe, very accessible to get as transport goes through the main street. Our address is very simple, Central Park 2 blocks south. Hotel Central has Restaurant, Bar, Bicycle Rental, Tours in Vehicle, Bilingual guides, Laundry, Telephone, Internet, Parking, Conference room, table Games, book exchange, Souvenirs. We accept all credit cards. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing