We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic view”
Review of Anchors Gate B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bayside
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Anchors Gate B&B
Ranked #1 of 1 Bayside B&B and Inns
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic view”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights in October 2012 and cannot recommend the place highly enough. The room was spotlessly clean and had a superb view of the water and even had a balcony so we could enjoy the fresh air in the morning. Breakfast was fantastic and George and Nancy were perfect hosts. Thank you for a lovely, relaxing stay and hope to see you again

Room Tip: Forequarter is the room of you love a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nursekaffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gillard44, Owner at Anchors Gate B&B, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
thanks for the positive comments, it is the only room you can lie in bed and see the stars, We appreciate the review and look forward to seeing you again in the near future. Nancy & George
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    5
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
8
10
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Mount Forest, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 15, 2012

We enjoyed staying here. We had an excellent view of the ocean from our room. Breakfast was good and filling. Nancy and George were very helpful and kind. The location was perfect for exploring the area along the coast. Easy distance from peggy's cove and Halifax.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank C R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gillard44, Owner at Anchors Gate B&B, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
thank you for taking time to write such a positive review of our home. We appreciate your business and hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2012

This place was recommended to me by my brother who stayed with George and Nancy last year. My mom and I stayed in the Crow’s Nest room with 2 beds. The room was somewhat basic but somehow just perfect for this place. The room and bathroom were very clean. There is a small fridge in the room and coffee and tea making supplies, which were wonderful. The place is located perfectly between Halifax and Peggy’s Cove. The hosts were amazing. Having breakfast while sitting at the table with George and Nancy made us feel like being part of the family. What was also fantastic, were the tips from both of them where to go and what to see. The hand drawn map of Halifax made by George will find itself in a great spot in my scrapbook. Over all, I cannot say enough great things about this place - some of the best hosts I have ever met. I would recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neska74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Anchors Gate B&B, responded to this review, June 27, 2012
Thank you very much for the great review Agnes and Janina. We really enjoyed having you stay with us and we hope that you will come back to visit again, Hope you had a good trip home with no tail gating! Please give our regards to your family and have a wonderful summer. Nancy and George
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singhampton, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 8, 2011

We had a great stay with George and Nancy. Would highly reccommend this B&B to everyone. Loved the views for all rooms.
Thanks to Nancy and George....

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aldebron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Canada
1 review
Reviewed July 4, 2011

it was beautiful and clean the food was awesome and so were the owners ... thank you so much George and Nancy,, we will be back

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bear511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
249 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2010

There were six of us, in 3 bedrooms, spending 3 nights. 2 of the rooms had coffee makers, for those early morning coffee drinkers. Nicely decorated rooms. Free wi-fi. Beautiful views. Great location between Halifax and parts of the South Shore. We were visiting family in Shad Bay, so this was a perfect location for us. Wonderful hosts. We enjoyed the breakfast conversation with them. Did I mention breakfast? It was delicious. We were traveling for 10 days in Canada and the Anchors Gate was the best value of all the places we stayed. I would stay here again. Hopefully sooner, rather than later.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ontheroadagain65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big Pine Key, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2010

We did not see Anchors Gate on most of the usual lists, so how we found it is a mystery. We were certainly glad we did; George and Nancy Pike were terrific hosts and quickly became friends.
The B&B is perched on a hill overlooking a gorgeous bay protected from wind by a tree-covered island. The house is built like a ship inside and out, by the Pikes themselves, with decks and windows to maximize the views. We were in the Fore Quarter, at the front of the house, where the bed and surrounding windows jut out of the front like a bow of a ship. The decor is practical, linoleum and wood used creatively to enhance the nautical theme, and spotlessly clean. There is a small TV, and free wireless in your room is available. The other rooms were similar and pleasing, some with fridges or a kitchen.
As we arrived at dinner time, Nancy gave us directions to a nearby sit-down restaurant that you would never know existed only minutes away. It was at the Granite Springs Golf Club on the same road, and not marked by signs at all. We ended up as the only diners at 7:30, with the prime table overlooking the 18th hole and excellent food and local wine, but you would have no clue it was there.
Breakfast the next morning at Anchors Gate was delicious, and included homemade jams as well. We had a delightful time with George as he gave us a tour of his workshop, boat and RV projects; and we all talked at length with both of them about traveling by RV and motorcyle and boat, sharing our adventure stories. Since they are maybe 15 minutes from Peggy's Cove and 35 from Halifax Airport, they provide a convenient, less-touristy, more genuine experience in that hyped-out area. We will certainly go back, hopefully to do some kayaking and further exploration with a nice place to call home base at the end of the day.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank m0ssless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bayside
Downtown Halifax
Hampton Inn by Hilton Halifax Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Halifax
Courtyard Halifax Downtown
Downtown Halifax
Cambridge Suites - Halifax
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchors Gate B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchors Gate B&B

Property: Anchors Gate B&B
Address: 4281 Prospect Rd | Bayside, Nova Scotia, Bayside, Nova Scotia B3Z 1L4, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Bayside
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Bayside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Anchors Gate, overlooking Shad bay, decorated in a "nautical theme" is the perfect location for day trips in Nova Scotia. We are 20 minutes from Halifax and Peggys cove and within an hour from most attractions in the province. We feature a one bedroom apartment for the longer stays fully equiped including washer and dryer, and 3 first class rooms with private baths, entrances/patio, internet access, fridges, coffee and tea supplies, fans and great ocean view. Our 3 day special- stay 2 days get the 3rd day at 1/2 price and for the midship quarter room,pay for 6 days get 7th free. Home cooked breakfasts feature home made jams, can cater to specialied diets. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing