We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eating under the redwoods”
Review of Alice's Restaurant

Alice's Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 11 Restaurants in Woodside
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Diner
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Eating under the redwoods”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

This little place has great breakfasts, and great casual meals. You can sit inside or out under the trees. It's at the crossroads of hwy 35 and hwy 84. It has a reputation of the place to be if you ride a motorcycle. Sitting outside eating and watching all the different bikes is a great bit of local flavor.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Maria H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    91
    22
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
68 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great Place with good food”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Enjoyed our experience at Alice's! Food was delicious and the garlic fries were super delicious! Also, try the locate Root Beer! I believe my husband had 3 glasses, I guess he liked it;) Dog friendly which was right up our alley, wish we had ours with us!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best Diner near Palo Alto”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

We stayed in Palo Alto for three months this year while working at Stanford - we are from Scotland.
Of all the places we ate, this was our favourite.
However, many locals didn't seem to know of it!!.....hence this review.

The usual diner fare is on offer, but the burgers, sandwiches etc etc are juicier, tastier and less salty then at others we tried. The beers on offer are great, and the sliders in happy hours all delicious. The staff are all friendly and helpful.

At weekends it attracts bikers on Harleys ( all executives at Google methinks!) and cyclists and can be busy but midweeks is quieter. So the clientele are always interesting.....

The drive up from Palo Alto is steep, uphill and windy, and you can drive down the other side west to the sea in 20 minutes, or back via the Skyline Boulevard.

Go.
And buy the tee-shirt.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Fadaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Level Contributor
189 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
“Great food, friendly service”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Stopped by Alice's Restaurant after a drive on Skyline Blvd (hwy 35) to enjoy the panoramic views of the Bay and westward, etc. Really worth a trip, and as someone mentioned, Thomas Fogerty winery is along the way. A fair amount of on-site parking for this roadside restaurant. Indoor and outdoor seating.

It does seem like you can get anything you want. For this occasion, our group chose the mushroom risotto (very good), the slab of ribs (excellent -though some thought the sauce was too spicy, it was just right for me), and a pastrami sandwich and chili fries. All very good. They also have a great selection of 1/3 burgers, but we were burgered out, having had two in the previous two days.

Service was efficient and friendly. Did not rush us at all even though they were busy.

Only downside is their "restrooms." They do the best they can but it is nicer outhouse with the expected smells. yuck.

Very worthwhile stop on a day trip.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank notperfectalas2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodside, California
Level Contributor
50 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“My neighborhood restaurant that never disappoints”
Reviewed June 1, 2013

We eat breakfast, lunch and dinner here all the time. It's 5 miles from my house. The service is great, the owners are always on -site and working their tails off. There's seating for every kind of experience you want--indoors and outdoors. And most importantly, the food is always terrific. The eggs are perfect, waffles delicious, the burgers are out of this world, the garlic fries will make you cry. In a good way. A little pricey but everything's pricey up here. It's still a good value. Whether you're a tourist or a local, the place is a trip. Be forewarned though the waits can be long on weekends when the mountain is filled with motorcycles and bicyclists.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Muggo11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alice's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Alice's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing