We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful drive to a quality winery”

Thomas Fogarty Winery
Ranked #4 of 9 things to do in Woodside
Attraction details
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A beautiful drive to a quality winery”
Reviewed May 24, 2014 via mobile

Location is gorgeous and the wines were very good. I especially enjoyed the Barbera. Two sampling menus to choose from. Staff is very friendly and informative. A beautiful drive thru the redwoods from Half Moon Bay. Definitely worth a visit.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank djcrozier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    11
    6
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Woodside, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fun at Forgarty”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We've had the pleasure of attending events, both a private party and a family wedding at the Forgarty winery. What a delight!

The setting is a bit remote, on top of the hills above Palo Alto CA, but worth the drive. We enjoyed the beautiful grounds and buildings, but the view is not to be missed. At roughly 2000 feet above the San Francisco Bay/Silicon Valley, it is a real eye popper - day or night!

Oh yeah.... and they offer sumptuous wines in the moderate price range too...

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Valley, California
Level Contributor
376 reviews
119 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Great Views, Disappointing Wine and Hospitality Staff”
Reviewed November 22, 2012 via mobile

We visited the winery hoping to try wines that came ecommended. Instead we were completely disappointed. With my wife working in the wine industry and noted for her talent, she came prepared with a list of items she wanted to taste, even if we had to pay to taste special wines. Instead we got:

- a staff with an attitude that seemed surprised that my wife was able to select what they considered to be their better wines.
- a haughty attitude that "we just don't let people taste those wines." Ok, we get that you may not be able to pour everything, but why the attitude? There is NEVER a reason for that in hospitality, especially when the guests are trying to be engaging.
- wine that really didn't deliver. None were defective and all promised to be nice based on the aromas, however they didn't follow through in the mouth. The Chardonnay was over oaked, the one Pinot they let us try had almost no fruit, and they others had holes in the sensory profiles.

The location is quite lovely, but the staff needs to go to attitude school. There was no attempt to engage someone from the industry or acknowledge that we might know a thing or two. A pretty disappointing experience considering how far we drove to try their wines. Not recommended.

Helpful?
3 Thank WineEng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foster City, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Little Winery”
Reviewed April 13, 2012

If you're looking for a local winery to support on a lazy afternoon, this one is a gem! The drive is a little tricky but the view on a clear day is not to be missed...especially with a great class of wine!

Helpful?
2 Thank Nicola C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area
Level Contributor
879 reviews
137 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 276 helpful votes
“A Very Green Winery”
Reviewed September 10, 2011

Very nice wine tasting atmosphere overlooking the peninsula
Loved their chardonnays
They have removed some of their acreage for solar panels
Can not really picnic there

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank Rosquete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thomas Fogarty Winery also viewed

 

Been to Thomas Fogarty Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing