We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“One of the best mexican restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maria's Cantina

Maria's Cantina
Reserve with OpenTable
Maria's Cantina is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 147 Restaurants in Woodland
Price range: $16 - $21
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Court Street
Woodland, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“One of the best mexican restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

We wisuted this place several times with family and friends and are going to visit it again soon. Food is exelent as well as a service. Highly recomended. The best Mexican food in Woodland and Davis.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tatiana D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    27
    10
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place for a Team Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

My daughter's soccer team was playing in several games over the weekend, and we took the opportunity to have a team dinner at Maria's Cantina. I spoke with Tito, the restaurant manager, and he was extremely helpful in discussing our menu options. He followed up a number of times to ensure we had a lovely evening.

We had the taco bar, plus salad and guacamole bar. Everything was delicious, especially the carnitas and the churros, which were a huge hit with parents and kids.

As other reviewers have noted, the decor is very attractive, and it made the evening even more enjoyable.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bowen12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Everyone deserves a second chance”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

I returned to this popular restaurant for another taste. Again the salsa and chips are second to none. Love the salsa! Tried the Tortilla soup this trip and was pleased. The soup was fresh, flavorful and spicy. My husband eats here frequently and was surprised recently with the offering of FRESH mahi mahi. He was delirious with joy over the dish and I was jealous (was stuck in the midwest).

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jamie k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N California
Level Contributor
56 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Architectural eye candy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

As a design professional, I appreciated the high-quality décor and attention to detail at Maria's. The rustic Mexican theme was carried out very well. With one exception, the food was also excellent (the slightly stale iceberg lettuce was a drawback) I was impressed with the innovative carnitas, with pineapple complementing the pork. Prices are a little higher than the standard taqueria, but well worth the extra pesos.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank arbornet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susanville, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

The decor was very nice service was really good food was good but the salsa was really weak. I thought it has decent flavor but no kick at all.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank cubbiebear1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Maria's Cantina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing