We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just wonderful”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Woodlake
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wicky-Up Ranch Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Woodlake B&B and Inns
Bergen, Norway
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Just wonderful”
Reviewed July 23, 2014

What a lovely surprise! The hosts are just fantastic, their hospitality is second to none, interior is wonderful down to every last detail. We visited the Sequoia National Park and went horse riding, interesting and intelligent conversation in the evenings and lovely organic breakfasts in the morning. Highly recommended :-)

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wickyup, Owner at Wicky-Up Ranch Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, February 6, 2017
Hello, Dear Guests,
We appreciate your sincere and complimentary review. It's been nearly 3 years since you were here, and we extend an invitation to come again. There's so much more to do in our area, and it's a super getaway even if you just relax, read and listen to water fountains and birds.
We send warm regards, Monica and Jack
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    8
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
45
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviewed March 18, 2014

Wicky-Up Ranch bed and breakfast is the real bed and breakfast experience, and in the five days since my husband and I stayed there we have stayed at other bed and breakfasts that by contrast underline what an exceptional place Wicky-Up is--from the beautifully maintained California fourth-generation owned ranch house to the warm hospitality that the owners Monica and Jack extend to their guests.

The gardens are maintained with an eye to the pleasure of the guests, with the fragrance of orange trees and other plantings, the trickle of fountains, and the cooing of their resident doves all contributing to a sense of place that could make Wicky-Up a destination of its own. The fact that it is a beautiful and easy drive to Sequoia National Park only adds to this.

With the help that resident owners of a bed and breakfast can offer, we also experienced the exceptional Botanical Gardens in the town of Woodlake two miles down the road, where you can not only stroll through carefully curated plantings designed, installed and maintained by a local man with a PhD in horticulture whose experience of being a migrant worker in his youth has led him to want to involve the young people in his community in what is clearly a communal work of love.

The bed and breakfast owners, Monica and Jack also suggested the three mile walking trail around the lake next to the gardens, which we took and were able to see the amazing views of the Sierra Nevada at sunset the whole walk around.

We also ate twice at the restaurant called New China--I think--where the steamed fish with julienned fresh ginger and scallions rivaled the best of Chinese in any big city.

I would give Wicky-Up five stars--they even had vases of fresh flowers around the house and sent us off on our way with fresh oranges. I had both quiet mugs of tea on their ample front screened porch, and engaging conversations with the hosts, and would go back in a second.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saramagara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wickyup, Owner at Wicky-Up Ranch Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, February 6, 2017
Hello, Dear Guests, We're re-reading this after nearly 3 years. Wow! This reads like the best travel article in the finest travel magazine. This would be a perfect year for you to return to Wicky Up Ranch. There will always be something new to see and do in this area. We will be ready to extend to you a warm welcome when you get here.
Wishing you all the best. Monica and Jack
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2014

In trying to find some place to stay while visiting relatives in the tiny town of Woodlake, CA, in February, we discovered a wonderful Bed and Breakfast at Wicky-up Ranch. A turn of the century home built by the owner's relatives in 1902, it is charming and comfortable. I could sit on the veranda for days! The breakfasts were gourmet -- all locally sourced and delicious. The hosts, Monica and Jack were so gracious and accommodating, plus they told us so much history about the house and area. It is close to Sequoia Nat'l Park and other beautiful spots. So much better than staying at a hotel!

Room Tip: Upstairs suite has two bedrooms and one bathroom. Good for a family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DVStravelwords
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wickyup, Owner at Wicky-Up Ranch Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, February 7, 2017
You will be surprised to hear from us so many years later, but we were reading through reviews and decided to thank you for taking the time to express your appreciation of the things we have to offer at Wicky Up Ranch. We hope you will come again to see the things you didn't have time to see the first time and to enjoy the things you enjoyed so much the first time. Our doors are wide open.

Warm regards, Jack and Monica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 3, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed two nights in the Juliana suite and we very much enjoyed our stay. Located in Woodlake, California a short drive from Sequoia NP, this fantastic place is located in a working orange grove. We found our bedroom to be clean and quiet and the bed was very comfortable. Innkeeper Monica served us outstanding breakfasts... she is a wonderful cook !! Also, the fresh fruits and fruit juices were amazing. We really miss this place already and we're looking forward to a return trip to Wicky Up. Thanks to Monica and Jack for a great stay !

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wickyup, Owner at Wicky-Up Ranch Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, February 7, 2017
Good morning, dear Guests! It's been over 3 years since your visit, and we want to thank you for your beautiful review. There are so many things to do and see in our area, and we are still the perfect place for rest and relaxation. Hopefully, we will see you again; our doors will be wide open.

Warm regards, Jack and Monica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgan Hill, California
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Just booked another stay at this adorable B and B. Stayed last year for my birthday and had such an enjoyable time, I'm booking again this year. We stayed in the Garden Cottage last year because it was the only room available. It's got a queen size bed with a twin bunk on top, so if you're looking for a romantic stay, I'd suggest the other rooms. But we really enjoyed the garden cottage with its private outdoor shower. The inn is in the middle of an orange grove just outside the Sequoia Nat'l forest. So it's stunning and quiet and at night the sky is so clear and the stars are amazing. There are wonderful gardens and ponds on the grounds, great for spending the afternoon with a book or even a picnic. The inn keepers are super friendly and the breakfast was a gourmet treat. The nearby town has a few restaurants and a deli. I'd suggest stopping in on the way to pick up some snacks and wine. We had dinner at Monet's which had live music while we were there and the food was amazing. I know we will be back here again...

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tracy b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wickyup, Owner at Wicky-Up Ranch Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, February 7, 2017
Good morning, dear Guests. We loved this review, and we really look forward to your return visit when you can stay in our lovely LucyHarding Room or our Juliana Suite. We would look forward to having you star gaze with our telescope as well as enjoy our gardens and ponds again.
Warm regards, Monica and Jack
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Book this place for a little get away for my husband and I. The hosts were wonderful even before we arrived making suggestions for us for dinner after we arrived from a long flight. The restaurant recommended was a hit! We arrived at the location and was a little surprised at the surroundings, but stepping out of the car, we felt like we were home. The walk way up to the front door was so inviting. At the urging of Monica, we watched a video about the Sequoias and listened to her recommendations for sites to see in the Park. Our accommodations were WONDERFUL! So comfortable and so inviting. We took their advise and took a hike up the hill to watch the sunset. So beautiful and so relaxing. We even enjoyed a couple of oranges (with permission) right off the tree. Breakfast was WONDERFUL! The attention to detail was beautiful. The food was locally made/grown and was so flavorful. The conversation at breakfast was so enjoyable. Monica placed our order for a packed lunch at a local deli and gave us directions of how to get in the mountains. She even timed our departure so that our wait going in the park through the construction zone would be minimal. (She was spot on - we waited 2 minutes after pulling into the line!).

Would I go back - YES! In a heartbeat......
Recommend to someone else - YES! You must stay here if you are going this way.

We hope to one day get back there with our family. Thanks Monica and Jack for all the attention to detail and making our stay so WONDERFUL!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ALmomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wickyup, Owner at Wicky-Up Ranch Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, February 7, 2017
Good morning, dear Guests. Surprise! It's been over 3 years since you've been to Wicky Up Ranch, and we'd love to see you again (maybe with your family this time). The construction of roads going to the Park is complete; so there are no more waits. Yay. Spring is a delightful time to come. Fruit trees in blossom even a Blossom Trail to drive in early March.
Sending warm regards, Jack and Monica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

I was reminded of scenes from `Gone with the Wind` when staying in this old family homestead and wished we could postpone our sightseeing of the National parks to investigate further the treasures that fill the home and garden.
Monica and Jack were warm friendly and welcoming and we felt totally spoiled throughout our 2 night stay. Our every wish was anticipated and catered for, the bed luxurious, the breakfasts a round of treats and our departure reluctant!

Room Tip: Have dinner at Monets in Exeter if you can!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaryKiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wickyup, Owner at Wicky-Up Ranch Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, February 7, 2017
Good morning, dear Guests. We have just re-read your beautiful, appreciative review from way back ion 2013, and we'd like to extend an invitation to you to visit us again. There are so many interesting things to do, new things to see and, of course, all the things you enjoyed to do again. We hope that 2017 will be the year that you will come back.
Warm regards,
Monica and Jack
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woodlake
22.0 mi away
Wuksachi Lodge
Wuksachi Lodge
#1 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
2,336 reviews
9.6 mi away
Best Western Exeter Inn & Suites
7.3 mi away
Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
Sierra Lodge
Sierra Lodge
#5 of 6 in Three Rivers
296 reviews
22.1 mi away
Montecito Sequoia Lodge
Montecito Sequoia Lodge
#2 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
623 reviews
3.1 mi away
Plantation Bed & Breakfast
Plantation Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 1 in Lemon Cove
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wicky-Up Ranch Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wicky-Up Ranch Bed and Breakfast

Property: Wicky-Up Ranch Bed and Breakfast
Address: 22702 Avenue 344, Woodlake, CA 93286-9712
Location: United States > California > Woodlake
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Woodlake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jack and Monica Pizura welcome you to join them on a working orange ranch and to step back in time as you enter their gracious turn-of-the-century iconic home now celebrating its 17th year anniversary. Designed in 1901 by an architect for Monica's ancestor, Illinois State Senator Fred E. Harding, the incomparable two-story Craftsman/Victorian-style home shows exterior elements of a British Colonial style found in India and Africa.  A must-stay for lovers of history, antiques, architecture, original art, oriental rugs and a perfect idealic retreat to explore the majestic Sequoia park and other  local attractions.Choose the peaceful country-feel of the Juliana Suite with private shower/bath and stunning views of trees, mountains and sunsets; the more formal Lucy Harding Room with its unique cedar panels, vintage queen-size bed, private shower/bath with sounds of the Pond Fountain or the brightly-decorated Garden Cottage with stacked beds (the top a twin, the bottom a full-size feather bed), intimate enclosed garden shower and private patio entrance.   Whatever room you choose, you will be immersed by the charm and delightful  environment of this historical inn.Wicky-Up is a member of the Slow Food movement, growing its own fresh herbs and tomatoes and buying fresh, organic and locally whenever possible. A candlelight breakfast of culinary delights, served on Villeroy and Boch china,  features fresh-squeezed Heirloom Washington navel orange juice from the ranch and blended organic rain forest coffee in a dining room appointed with 19th century  antiques. Classical music quietly plays in the background.  On the menu, some favorites are baked French Toast Naranjo, Fiesta Soufflé, Omelets with Roasted Rosemary Potatoes (Sundays only), Lemon Ricotta Pancakes, Lavender/Honey Glazed Grapefruit and  Poached Pears in a Cranberry-Lemon reduction.Our in includes Wi-Fi, Port wine and a variety of beverages to be enjoyed on the verandah, in the garden, or by the fireplace; fresh cut flowers; fluffy bathrobes; bedside chocolates; gardens with cooing doves; a detailed tour of the historic home and unforgettable, old-fashioned hospitality.We welcome and endeavor to make your visit and experience here a truly memorable one.*Wireless Internet access (WiFi) available. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing