We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kern river getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Barewood Inn & Suites
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wofford Heights
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Michael is awesome. Stayed in the office late to check us in even though we arrived later than planned.

Nice bath amenities, complimentary bottle water in the refrigerator as well as popcorn. We stayed two nights. Very quiet and peaceful with view of the lake. Room was very clean as well as the grounds. We had our little four pound dog with us and he waived the pet fee. Very convenient to Kernville as well as the Sequoias. We had a great time and would highly recommend this motel. Thanks again Michael!!!

Room Tip: Great location and clean and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank anywherebutvegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (54)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 54 reviews

Reviewed March 18, 2013

Cute, clean and charming, great for the price. We stayed 2 nights and even my husband commented on the design of the room being nice with the beams overhead and arched doorway to the bathroom. Cute dried flower wreath. Good bed. Popcorn to use with the microwave and a good little fridge for cocktails at the end of the day. We stayed by ourselves the first night but we could hear some of the neighbors the 2nd night. Walls a little thin. We were in #8.

Room Tip: Maybe an end room.. 1 0r 10 would be less noise from neighbors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank glendag99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

My cousin and I stayed there last weekend (Aug 3rd) and was pleasently surprised. The room was clean and well-maintained, and the beds were comfortable! The man who checked us in was very kind and sweet (we made reservations just two days earlier). Not exactly the Hilton, but all things considered, I"d stay there again when passing through Kernville.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kathy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2012

We took a two week vacation throughout California and this was by far the nicest place we stayed. We liked it better than the Marriott, Best Western, and private cottages we stayed at. Michael, the GM, was VERY accommodating with our late arrival. We stayed in room #10. It was very clean and quite charming. The lovely hand painted wall decorations, dried flowers, quilted bedspread made this the perfect country style retreat. The Jacuzzi-style bathtub is big enough for two. Bubble bath liquid and scented soaps were provided for us. The bed was incredibly comfortable. It was a quite location with more than we could ever have expected. I HIGHLY recommend this location and hope to return there someday. It was the perfect end to our romantic 25th wedding anniversary adventure/vacation. Thanks SO much to Barewood for giving us the best possible ending to our trip!!

Room Tip: Room #10 is perfect for a romantic getaway!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SheriBailey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2012

We stayed here for three nights and found the place to be quite clean and cozy. Lots of towels, which I like. Nice view of the lake from the porch in front of each room. Very well-kept grounds. The motel is older, as are all the motels in this area, but quite charming. And the price was right!

Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
Thank lindita517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2012

Stay was very pleasant. Room clean, comfortable bed, nice towels. Very nicely decorated with excellent Wifi. Coffee, popcorn and candy as an extra. Will definitely return!

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lindylou1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2011

My husband and I went to the Wofford Heights area "house hunting" Nov 11, 2011 and stayed in Room #10. We were so happily surprised :-) It may not look like a Hilton on the outside, but the bed was definitely one of the best we have ever stayed in. The whole room was very comfortable and tastefully decorated. It had been raining all day and we were cold when we finally checked into our room. What a surprise to find the makings for hot cocoa - how perfect; and the next morning the coffee that is provided in the room was actually really good. We would definitely recommend Barewood Inn to anyone

Room Tip: Room #10 has a corner jacuzzi tub, along with a separate shower. It also has a small sitting area w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jody D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wofford Heights
5.4 mi away
Sequoia Lodge
Sequoia Lodge
#2 of 7 in Kernville
141 reviews
3.5 mi away
River View Lodge
River View Lodge
#5 of 7 in Kernville
57 reviews
10.3 mi away
Corral Creek Lodge
Corral Creek Lodge
#1 of 3 in Kernville
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
The Kern Lodge
The Kern Lodge
#1 of 7 in Kernville
264 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mount-N-Lake Motel
Mount-N-Lake Motel
#1 of 2 in Wofford Heights
50 reviews
7.0 mi away
Lake Isabella / Kern River KOA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barewood Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barewood Inn & Suites

Address: 7013 Wofford Blvd, Wofford Heights, CA 93285-9754 (Formerly Barewood Motel)
Location: United States > California > Wofford Heights
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wofford Heights
Price Range: $95 - $117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Barewood Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Barewood Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing