We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Loved it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Barewood Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Barewood Inn & Suites
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wofford Heights
Atascadero, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Cute, clean and charming, great for the price. We stayed 2 nights and even my husband commented on the design of the room being nice with the beams overhead and arched doorway to the bathroom. Cute dried flower wreath. Good bed. Popcorn to use with the microwave and a good little fridge for cocktails at the end of the day. We stayed by ourselves the first night but we could hear some of the neighbors the 2nd night. Walls a little thin. We were in #8.

Room Tip: Maybe an end room.. 1 0r 10 would be less noise from neighbors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank glendag99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    13
    7
    2
    3
See reviews for
13
18
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Northridge, California, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

My cousin and I stayed there last weekend (Aug 3rd) and was pleasently surprised. The room was clean and well-maintained, and the beds were comfortable! The man who checked us in was very kind and sweet (we made reservations just two days earlier). Not exactly the Hilton, but all things considered, I"d stay there again when passing through Kernville.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kathy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goodyear, Arizona
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

We took a two week vacation throughout California and this was by far the nicest place we stayed. We liked it better than the Marriott, Best Western, and private cottages we stayed at. Michael, the GM, was VERY accommodating with our late arrival. We stayed in room #10. It was very clean and quite charming. The lovely hand painted wall decorations, dried flowers, quilted bedspread made this the perfect country style retreat. The Jacuzzi-style bathtub is big enough for two. Bubble bath liquid and scented soaps were provided for us. The bed was incredibly comfortable. It was a quite location with more than we could ever have expected. I HIGHLY recommend this location and hope to return there someday. It was the perfect end to our romantic 25th wedding anniversary adventure/vacation. Thanks SO much to Barewood for giving us the best possible ending to our trip!!

Room Tip: Room #10 is perfect for a romantic getaway!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SheriBailey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Californa
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

We stayed here for three nights and found the place to be quite clean and cozy. Lots of towels, which I like. Nice view of the lake from the porch in front of each room. Very well-kept grounds. The motel is older, as are all the motels in this area, but quite charming. And the price was right!

Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank lindita517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

Stay was very pleasant. Room clean, comfortable bed, nice towels. Very nicely decorated with excellent Wifi. Coffee, popcorn and candy as an extra. Will definitely return!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lindylou1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Isabella, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2011

My husband and I went to the Wofford Heights area "house hunting" Nov 11, 2011 and stayed in Room #10. We were so happily surprised :-) It may not look like a Hilton on the outside, but the bed was definitely one of the best we have ever stayed in. The whole room was very comfortable and tastefully decorated. It had been raining all day and we were cold when we finally checked into our room. What a surprise to find the makings for hot cocoa - how perfect; and the next morning the coffee that is provided in the room was actually really good. We would definitely recommend Barewood Inn to anyone

Room Tip: Room #10 has a corner jacuzzi tub, along with a separate shower. It also has a small sitting area w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jody D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission Viejo, California
Level Contributor
48 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

We needed lodging in the Kernville / Lake Isabella area on a Saturday to take a rafting trip the next morning. It was a last-minute trip, and every place I called was full or *very* expensive. Also, most places in the area have a 2 night minimum on weekends during the summer. When I called the Barewood they had room and a 1-night stay was not a problem.

I reserved a room, which was at the Lakeshore Lodge.....a sister property right down the road. A room with 2 queen beds was only $95 at the AAA rate. Based on reviews here, I was a bit concerned as it seemed all too easy.

When we arrived at the Barewood as instructed, the manager showed up right away. He was very friendly and made sure we had everything we needed. We drove over to the Lakeshore and were in Room 33. My concerns went away. The outside was tidy and well-kept, while the room was clean but a bit dated. The shower was clean and in good repair and the towels and sheets were fine. Beds were very comfortable and there was no traffic noise or lights to disturb our sleep. The room included a mini-fridge, microwave, coffee maker, and bar sink. However no dishes or silverware was provided but there are small markets within a mile and a large Von's about 10 miles away. WiFi is free but the signal was weak but usable.

The lock was the retro motel key and plastic fob....not too secure but I wasn't worried about it. Security conscious travelers might want to lock valuables in their car.

The Lakeshore Lodge is a great value if you need a clean, basic place to stay and for people needing only one weekend night's lodging.

Room Tip: Lakeshore is a bit isolated feeling- try to get a room at the Barewood first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kenish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wofford Heights
3.5 mi away
River View Lodge
River View Lodge
#6 of 7 in Kernville
3.5 of 5 stars 54 reviews
5.4 mi away
Sequoia Lodge
Sequoia Lodge
#2 of 7 in Kernville
4.5 of 5 stars 118 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Kern Lodge
The Kern Lodge
#1 of 7 in Kernville
4.5 of 5 stars 226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
Corral Creek Resort
Corral Creek Resort
#1 of 3 in Kernville
4.5 of 5 stars 44 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mount-N-Lake Motel
Mount-N-Lake Motel
#2 of 2 in Wofford Heights
3.5 of 5 stars 46 reviews
3.9 mi away
Whispering Pines Lodge
Whispering Pines Lodge
#2 of 3 in Kernville
4.0 of 5 stars 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barewood Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barewood Inn & Suites

Property: Barewood Inn & Suites
Address: 7013 Wofford Blvd, Wofford Heights, CA 93285-9754 (Formerly Barewood Motel)
Location: United States > California > Wofford Heights
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wofford Heights
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Barewood Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Barewood Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing