We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant visit!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Barewood Inn & Suites
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wofford Heights
Reviewed June 1, 2012

Stay was very pleasant. Room clean, comfortable bed, nice towels. Very nicely decorated with excellent Wifi. Coffee, popcorn and candy as an extra. Will definitely return!

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lindylou1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (54)
There are newer reviews for Barewood Inn & Suites
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 54 reviews

Reviewed November 17, 2011

My husband and I went to the Wofford Heights area "house hunting" Nov 11, 2011 and stayed in Room #10. We were so happily surprised :-) It may not look like a Hilton on the outside, but the bed was definitely one of the best we have ever stayed in. The whole room was very comfortable and tastefully decorated. It had been raining all day and we were cold when we finally checked into our room. What a surprise to find the makings for hot cocoa - how perfect; and the next morning the coffee that is provided in the room was actually really good. We would definitely recommend Barewood Inn to anyone

Room Tip: Room #10 has a corner jacuzzi tub, along with a separate shower. It also has a small sitting area w...
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jody D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2011

We needed lodging in the Kernville / Lake Isabella area on a Saturday to take a rafting trip the next morning. It was a last-minute trip, and every place I called was full or *very* expensive. Also, most places in the area have a 2 night minimum on weekends during the summer. When I called the Barewood they had room and a 1-night stay was not a problem.

I reserved a room, which was at the Lakeshore Lodge.....a sister property right down the road. A room with 2 queen beds was only $95 at the AAA rate. Based on reviews here, I was a bit concerned as it seemed all too easy.

When we arrived at the Barewood as instructed, the manager showed up right away. He was very friendly and made sure we had everything we needed. We drove over to the Lakeshore and were in Room 33. My concerns went away. The outside was tidy and well-kept, while the room was clean but a bit dated. The shower was clean and in good repair and the towels and sheets were fine. Beds were very comfortable and there was no traffic noise or lights to disturb our sleep. The room included a mini-fridge, microwave, coffee maker, and bar sink. However no dishes or silverware was provided but there are small markets within a mile and a large Von's about 10 miles away. WiFi is free but the signal was weak but usable.

The lock was the retro motel key and plastic fob....not too secure but I wasn't worried about it. Security conscious travelers might want to lock valuables in their car.

The Lakeshore Lodge is a great value if you need a clean, basic place to stay and for people needing only one weekend night's lodging.

Room Tip: Lakeshore is a bit isolated feeling- try to get a room at the Barewood first.
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kenish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2011

Our family of 7 stayed at this very large but comfortable lake side home for the 4th of July weekend 2011. The home had every amenity possible including a very nice jacuzzi tub in the master bedroom. The home was furnished beautifully and was very clean and user friendly. Lakeviews right outside the kitchen deck and able to walk out the back door to cool off in the lake. Convenient for our water toys and also enjoyed Kern River Rafting just 5 minutes away. We had a GREAT family vacation and will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carol-VE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2010

We had a nice stay in the motel, we booked via email which was dealt with promptly by the manager and booked a room with jacuzzi bath. The room was well laid out, clean and had the usual amenities, however at $85 per night we do feel this was a little on the pricey side. We only stayed one night so cant really comment much on the service of the hotel however the receptionist was a little abrupt on check in.

I would recommend this motel for short stays only, purely based on the limited facilities nearby however it is in a peaceful location close to the lake.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Darkrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2010

The website does not begin to do this motel justice. We were in Room #10, a very large L shaped room with a huge vanity, corner jacuzzi tub, free internet and very nicely appointed. With a table and chairs in front of each room on the porch, it was lovely to just sit and view the lake across the way. The owners were very friendly, helpful, knowledgeable and incredibly accommodating. I highly recommend this motel!!!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emily-and-Garrett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2010

We had a great time up at the Kern River Valey Motels (Barewood and Lakshore Motels). The weather was perfect for hiking and playing around the lake during the day. We also had a nice time skiing at Alta Sierra. The house that we stayed in was great for our family and would hold at least 1 other family if we wanted it to. Very clean and comfortable. We will be back!!!

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MyKidsMom54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wofford Heights
5.4 mi away
Sequoia Lodge
Sequoia Lodge
#2 of 7 in Kernville
141 reviews
3.5 mi away
River View Lodge
River View Lodge
#6 of 7 in Kernville
57 reviews
10.3 mi away
Corral Creek Lodge
Corral Creek Lodge
#1 of 3 in Kernville
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
The Kern Lodge
The Kern Lodge
#1 of 7 in Kernville
262 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mount-N-Lake Motel
Mount-N-Lake Motel
#1 of 2 in Wofford Heights
49 reviews
7.0 mi away
Lake Isabella / Kern River KOA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barewood Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barewood Inn & Suites

Address: 7013 Wofford Blvd, Wofford Heights, CA 93285-9754 (Formerly Barewood Motel)
Location: United States > California > Wofford Heights
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wofford Heights
Price Range: $102 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Barewood Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Barewood Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing