We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious food and cool atmosphere”
Review of Greenhorn Grill

Greenhorn Grill
Cuisines: Contemporary
Description: 760-376-8900
Restaurant details
Description: 760-376-8900
Wofford Heights, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Delicious food and cool atmosphere”
Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

I've tried their steak and I absolutely loved it. It was delicious. It's a bit away from everything but well worth the drive.

The atmosphere is very calm and this place is cool in the summer.

Helpful?
Thank socalakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    3
    1
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bakersfield
Level Contributor
43 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Beautiful Alta Sierra location”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We were taking a drive to escape from the Bakersfield heat and just happened to find The Greenhorn Grill. The staff was very friendly and our waitress, Shawna, was helpful and knowledgeable about the area. We just had drinks and appetizers which were excellent. We were told that some of the cabins in the area are available for rent. Our plan is to rent a cabin in Alta Sierra, raft the Kern River and finish up with dinner at The Greenhorn Grill. Let's hope for a lot of snow this winner so there will be plenty of water in the river and Lake Isabella next year.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank bigmike154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambria, California, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Worth the drive”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

If you are visiting the Lake Isabella or Kernville area, or driving over the summit of Greenhorn Mt. this a great place to stop for lunch or dinner. Good menu, great beer on tap, nice wines and a friendly and casual atmosphere. A restaurant has been in this general location for decades. Fires and demolition preceded the remodel of the present Greenhorn Grill with its animal heads on the wall, official Jackalopes, and western decor. It is a popular spot with the locals with a great bar and outside seating. Restaurant is very nice. Hours are limited to the weekends so check online or call ahead. Had a great Western Hamburger and onion rings with some Moose Drool. Beautiful setting and worth a stop atop beautiful Greenhorn Mt. About 6000' altitude so 25 degrees cooler than the valley and snow in winter.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pat B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wofford Heights, California, United States
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Greenhorn Grill Express”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

I had lunch today at the Greenhorn Grill Express on the Blvd in Wofford Heights.
A brand new business in Wofford Heights, a walk up fast food place with seating outside with shade. I had an All American Burger. The meat was generous, lots of cheese and Real Bacon. the burger was great, and the fries were good as well. Lots to choose from on the menu and they will be adding new items and Specials as they go forward.
I would recommend to my friends

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kernville, CA
Level Contributor
65 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great food, lovely setting”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

It's a steep and winding drive of 8 miles or so from the shores of Isabella Lake up to Greenhorn Mountain. The scenery makes the trip worthwhile, and at the restaurant, one enjoys a thoughtful menu, good preparation, a nice wine list and a lovely wooded setting.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank bobsacerdo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Greenhorn Grill also viewed

Wofford Heights, CA
Wofford Heights, CA
 

Been to Greenhorn Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing