We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth the Flight!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Preserve

Preserve
Ranked #4 of 19 Restaurants in Winters
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Preserve Public House is a dynamic addition to historic downtown Winters. We look to preserve and promote the story of self reliance and sustainability through food and drink. Well placed grains of salt give way to cured meats, fresh milk is transformed into cheese, grapes are coaxed into wine and grain is bubbled into beer. The individual artistry and wisdom involved in these practices was once considered common knowledge. We aim to preserve these skills by creating a market place to showcase those who are diligently protecting these traditions all over Northern California. The well being of friends and family motivated those who originally discovered these clever acts of evading the short shelf life of nature’s bounty. It is within this establishment, we hope that you can take the time to grab a handcrafted sandwich, have a drink, watch a game and enjoy the simplistic luxuries with those people that make your life what it is. Preserve the good life!
Seattle, Washington
1 review
“Worth the Flight!”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

They know me as Twigs. I fly into northern California from the Seattle area 3-4 times a year and always make it a point to visit Preserve Public House. Preserve has matured into a place designed to please the eyes and your tastebuds. The fresh meats and locally grown vegetables make for an enjoyable meal any time of day or night. The bar tenders are both knowledgeable and friendly. They make one of the best Non-Gimlets I have ever had. Even though I only visit them a few times a year, they always make me feel at home. Oh, and my personal mug is always ready and waiting!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TWIGS-13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    24
    4
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Davis, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fun atmostphere, tasty food, excellent beer choices”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

The tiny town of Winters has some ridiculously good food per capita. If Buckhorn Grill is too heavy for your dinner, turn the corner for the new Preserve Pub. They serve food that is both foofy and gratifyingly filling (makes both me and my husband happy). The beer choices are great, including the local Bereyessa Brewing Co. offerings. The room is large but broken into smaller gathering spaces based on group size and comfort level (some couches, some tall stools, some tables, and bar seating). Games are on but not obnoxiously so. Shuffleboard and a back patio are charming, not trying to hard.
Be warned though: the $5 bacon wrapped dates is a tiny plate with exactly 3 small dates on it. Tasty but ridiculously undersized. Main plates can be pricey but sandwiches were reasonable and all tasty.
Our waitress was still learning the ropes but trying hard.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 3Ts037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cool Spot in a Cool Town”
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Preserve Public House is a great spot for dinner or drinks in a very cool hip little town. Great apps including a charcuterie plate or choose just the cheese board. Cool atmosphere with a cheese and dried meat aging rooms visible from the restaurant. Great spot for both catching drinks or catching a meal. Lots of family style tables are available for big groups. Everybody on staff is very cool and super attentive. Can’t go wrong with the pulled pork or wedge salad. Sometimes they sell local produce that’s in season. Make sure to try out the jalapeno jelli. It goes great with any cheese. We seem to pick up a new jar every time we go to give as a gift to friends.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fasttom76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis, California
Level Contributor
257 reviews
140 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
“Sophisticated and Relaxing Hang Out”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We didn't expect much from Preserve Public House when we visited, spurred on by a Groupon coupon. However, Preserve's food and atmosphere knocked our socks off! Its food is categorically akin to pub grub, but substantively bears no resemblance at all. The sandwiches and chips we ordered made us swoon; Preserve takes the ordinary and makes it extraordinary. Additionally, Preserve's atmosphere is both sophisticated and relaxing at the same time. I could easily see Preserve as a destination to hang out with friends for a good while, rather than to eat and leave. Consider Preserve yet another Winters hidden gem, in a small town that keeps acquiring more and more. We'll definitely be back.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rockyhillgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
94 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lovely little spot in out of the way Winters...”
Reviewed September 26, 2012

It is a great little spot for nibbles, sandwiches or salads paired with a nice beer or glass of wine. It can be noisy on the nights a football game is on TV. Sort of turns into the local mini-sports bar. The patio is delightful to sit & eat or have a few beers with friends. Friendly staff & nice environment.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 2Textralians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Preserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing