We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Winters inn”
Review of Abbey House Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Winters
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Abbey House Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Winters B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 6, 2012

We just enjoyed a brief but enjoyable getaway to Winters & Davis and stayed for the first time at The Abbey House Inn. We were completely happy with our choice. The inn is beautifully decorated, sparkling clean and well-maintained. Innkeeper Cindy is friendly and does everything she can to enhance her guests' experience. Breakfast is not served at the inn--which we consider a "plus"--but there are convenient venues in town only a short walk away, and Cindy has arranged for her guests to receive discounts or "perks" at several of them. She also provides coffee & teas in the well-appointed kitchen of the inn. We look forward to our next visit to this charming inn and the town of Winters.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mendolover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (33)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 33 reviews

Reviewed February 17, 2012

Abbey House Inn is a block from the center of Winters and an enjoyable walk to wine tasting, restaurants, The Palms, and amazingly quiet at this time of year. It is a charming Inn and Cindy Luchinske, Innkeeper, welcomes you and makes you feel at home. On Saturday after moving into the downstairs Ophelia Room, we walked to the town center and wine tasted (3 places) until it was time for dinner Putah Creek Cafe. After a concert at The Palms nearby, we walked back to the quiet Inn. We met 2 other couples staying at the Inn, but we felt like it was all our own. There is coffee/tea offered, no brunch. The bed in our room seemed more like a double than queen size, but it was very comfortable and we slept fairly well. We could walk to the Putah Creek Cafe for breakfast, and there are a couple other places that serve coffee and treats nearby. Want to know more, check out their web site for a description of the rooms www.abbeyhouseinn.com. And check out the Specials!

Room Tip: Talk to Cindy about your tastes and desires when you call to reserve a room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tripper45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2011

This was our family's first experience with a vacation 'rental' and we couldn't have been more pleased. The home was beautiful, the furnishings luxurious, the location pleasant and the manager- amazing! We traveled to Winters from out of state to attend a wedding in Sacramento. Winters had the exact small town feel we were looking for. We rode our bikes to a local park were there was live music, spent some time at the local pool and visited the library. Can't remember the names of the two places in town we ate out but the service was excellent and the food was delicious. The Abbey House Inn was spectacular. The grounds are small but pack a lot of punch for a flower lover like me. There was a wrap around porch and the accommodations inside were very clean and comfortable. Cindy answered every question we could possibly think of and helped us navigate this 'new' world of vacation rentals with ease. We loved the whirlpool tub and the elegant charm of our room. And, Winters was close enough for us to drive into Sacramento with ease. We would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bernadette R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2011

LOVED staying in Winters because I could stay here - they were MOST helpful and wise about the area and assisted me in getting advantages at the local fabulous club "The Palms" and knowledgeable re. the local restaurants and shops.
VERY comfortable and accomodatiing Inn - opted for rooms with Whirlpool Bathtub my two visits here (last year and this year!) Came back just to relax here, and in Winters. Charming decor - quiet, peaceful, sitting room and kitchen available for your use and within walking distance to downtown. Small town friendliness prevails, and a unique area you will fall in love with. A large part of this experience is indeed the Abbey House - historical and quaint like life undoubtedly was decades ago when people had the time to relate to each other!
Well appointed linens, bedding and themes in the rooms - they absolutely becon you to relax!
In one night I felt like I'd really been away from it all - I am going to visit every year just to experience this hometown feeing of hospitality and beauty! Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank chechina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2010

a good friend and I attended a weekend cooking class in winters and stayed at the inn for two nights...we had a wonderful time and plan to go back next year and rent the entire inn with friends...the five rooms are beautifully decorated each with a private bath and are very clean and tidy...winters is a quaint town and the inn is withing easy walking distance to the downtown restaurants (highly recommend the roasted artichoke at the Buckhorn)...Diane is wonderful and attentive but not hovering, you feel right at home...we used the kitchen and it is stocked with the essentials...can't say enough wonderful things about the Abbey House!!!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Franophile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2008

We only decided to stay here because it's apparently the only lodging in Winters, but we are so glad we did! The inn is beautifully decorated without being fussy. The kitchen and living room were great places to chill. We were in the middle of a bike trip, and the owners greeted us kindly, not even acknowledging that we were covered in dirt and grime.

Very homelike and friendly! I hope I have another excuse to stay here sometime.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gretch79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2012
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Francisco M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Abbey House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbey House Inn

Address: 101 Abbey St, Winters, CA 95694-1901
Location: United States > California > Winters
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Winters
Price Range: $135 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1905, the Abbey House Inn is a historic turn-of-the-century cottage that has been lovingly restored and updated offering guests a spacious dining area and parlor with an old-fashioned wrap-around porch for relaxing. Each well-appointed bedroom includes a private bath. Located in Winters, California, a long-held secret of Yolo County, this quaint, old-fashioned country town is nestled in the "Blue Hills" and features a historic and vibrant downtown just a short stroll away. Visit the original Buckhorn Steakhouse, Award winning Putah Creek Cafe or go wine tasting at many local wine tasting venues. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing