We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Romantic Getaway!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Windsor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Windrose Romantic Cottages
Petaluma, CA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect Romantic Getaway!”
Reviewed December 11, 2007

My husband and I had the opportunity to take a little road trip and happened upon Windrose Romantic Cottages on the Healdsburg Chamber of Commerce website so we booked directly with Karen and Byron, the owners of this delightful property. We stayed in the "French Cottage", which is impeccably decorated, very private (we had our own hot tub and outdoor sitting area!), and so warm and inviting - it was hard to motivate ourselves to even leave the cottage all weekend! However, in the end the convenient location to downtown Windsor (definitely worth a visit), the Healdsburg Square (so quaint!), and all the wineries proved to be enough motivation! On another note, Karen and Byron's attention to detail was also a big part of making our little road trip so enjoyable - they have everything you could ever want and need in this vacation rental, which is much more like a bed and breakfast. From the wonderful assortment of breakfast goodies to the in-room information about local restaurants (some of which deliver) to the fresh flowers in our room, they never ceased to impress us. We have stayed in many hotels in the area and paid far more money for inferior rooms with none of the comforts of home that Windrose offers - this is a case where you get WAY more than what you pay for!!

  • Liked — Relaxing Setting, Fantastic Value, Great Location, Immepecable Attention to Every Detail
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank LoveToTravel94952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    6
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
61
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2007

My husband and I have definitely found a great place to go for our weekend getaways to the Wine Country. We have stayed at Windrose Cottages a couple times now and have never been dissapointed. We love it there because it is centrally located to many of our favorite wineries in Dry Creek and the Russian River Valley, but it is also a quiet and peaceful place to return to after a busy day of sight seeing. You definitely can't beat the price for what you get. If you want to stay somewhere that is not a cookie cutter hotel room or an overpriced B&B, Windrose is your place. We love that our cottage is stocked with everything we needed for a light breakfast in the morning, and the owners are very knowledgeable about the area. They even give you a small bottle of wine to start off your stay!!! Not to mention some coupons for some free tastings. We will definitely be returning to Windrose for our next trip to Wine Country and will stay in the Italian Cottage because that is my favorite one and it has a hot tub!!!

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank Ben'sBride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2007

we stayed in the french country cottage, which came with a nice hot tub! the owners are very kind and sweet people. the place was already stocked with cereals, juice, cheese, and complimentary bottle of wine. too bad i didn't bring my camera, but the cottage was very nice and clean. it did seem a bit tight and small, but it was comfortable enough. the kitchen was very clean and roomy, with all the supplies you need to cook a dinner.

the only bad thing i guess would be that there's not much to do around the area. unless you plan on wine tasting the whole time you are there, make sure you do your research and find other things to do.

other than that, i would totally recommend this for a getaway or vacation with your significant other. it's romantic and beautiful. try to stay during non peak season and days, it's a lot cheaper.

  • Stayed November 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank ctaing10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis, Calif.
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2007

My husband and I really enjoyed our 2-night stay here. We stayed in the French Country Cottage, a charmingly appointed one-bedroom unit. The kitchen was so convenient. We brought home our leftovers from dinner and were able to heat it up for lunch the next day. The innkeepers had also supplied us with a bottle of wine, some bottled water, boxed apple juice, some fruit, breakfast fixings, and a cheese platter.

We checked out the "new" downtown Windsor. It's charming, but not as lively as a downtown should be. We spent most of our time in Healdsburg, and to be honest, next time I think we would just stay in one of the many nice inns up there. But for a stay a bit off the beaten track, I heartily recommend Windrose. The completely private hottub behind our cottage was a nice place to unwind at the end of each day.

  • Liked — privacy and comfort of cottage
  • Disliked — had to get on the freeway to get anywhere
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WritingRetreater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Level 6 Contributor
81 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2007

If you like privacy, independence and great value, this is the place for you! Close enough to the main roads to be convenient, yet on a quiet country lane, this property abuts a farm and a field of geese who like to be fed. The property offers easy access to nearby restaurants in foodie-haven Healdsburg, not to mention the local wineries and myriad outdoor activities in the area. We stayed for 3 nights--the first in the atmospheric Water Tower, the second and third in the French Country Cottage, both of which we loved. The latter is a spacious, one-bedroom cottage complete with small living room with Franklin stove, a huge well-appointed kitchen, a private backyard, complete with loggia, large BBQ grille and hot tub. Linens, towels and bathrobes are all deluxe. The hosts are gracious, warm people who seem to have thought of their guests' every need or vacation want, yet they remain unobtrusive and considerate in every way. My partner and I felt comfortable and welcome throughout our stay, and will certainly return as soon as we can.

  • Liked — Location, atmosphere, cleanliness, hosts
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
9 Thank WehoTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, CA
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2007

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Windrose Cottages. We stayed in the "Garden Suite," which was a roomy studio with mini-kitchen, old fashioned bath tub, separate shower, king size bed, and a cozy gas fireplace/stove. It had a cute front porch with table & chairs where you could sit and sip your wine purchase and listen to the farm animals in the surrounding fields. The friendly proprietors stocked the kitchen with juice, milk & butter,
along with freshly-baked banana bread and breakfast serials. They even had a chilled half-bottle of wine waiting for us! Just about everything you could want or need is provided - from an iron & ironing board, to yummy-smelling bath salts, to fluffy his & hers robes. All this for a very reasonable price. It's convenient to many wineries in the Healdsburg/Geyserville area, and just a few minutes from Healdsburg Plaza with its wonderful shopping and restaurants. PLUS, the Canellos (innkeepers) gave us a packet with coupons for free tastings at several excellent wineries. Most of them now charge at least 5.00/person to taste, so that's a real money-saver. Don't miss Ferrari-Carano winerey in Geyserville - it's like a Tuscan Villa in a beautiful setting (and the wine's good too!) The Vietnamese restaurant in Windsor was excellent and reasonable, and for an outstanding splurge, Dry Creek Kitchen in Healdsburg was killer. Not only was the food fantastic, but they waive the corkage fee if you bring in a bottle of local wine - another great savings. Kendall-Jackson winery, just outside of Windsor, has fascinating gardens which are grouped according to the various flavors found in red and white wines.


  • Liked — Great Value, Every comfort provided
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank modine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Windsor
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Windsor - Sonoma County
1.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Sonoma County Airport
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Windsor - Sonoma Wine Country
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Fountaingrove Inn
Fountaingrove Inn
#5 of 25 in Santa Rosa
573 reviews
8.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Garden Inn
Best Western Plus Garden Inn
#6 of 25 in Santa Rosa
673 reviews
3.3 mi away
Vintners Inn
Vintners Inn
#2 of 25 in Santa Rosa
581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windrose Romantic Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windrose Romantic Cottages

Property: Windrose Romantic Cottages
Address: 6880 Day Rd, near Healdsburg, Windsor, CA 95492-9776
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Windsor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Windsor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Please see our web page at Windrose Romantic Cottages, more pictures. Four cottages and a very unique cozy water tower. Rates $155 to $245 Shake off the stress and get ready for a dream weekend or a day or 2 in Sonoma County's wine country. Windrose Romantic Cottages are located on a beautiful country property in Windsor - bordering Healdsburg. Complete with adjacent pastures. Windrose Cottages enjoys views of the mountains, the rose garden in season, perennials and, of course, a grape arbor.Come relax, rejuvenate, in your own personal cottage. Bring or buy a special bottle of wine to drink on your porch or sitting in front of you log stove. BBq stay in and enjoy, or go out an experience all the wonderful restaurants in the area.Come hike, bike, canoe, or just relax. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Windrose Romantic Cottages Hotel Windsor
Windrose Romantic Cottages Windsor, CA - Sonoma County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing