We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top quality food in a lovely setting”

Chinois Asian Bistro
Ranked #9 of 57 Restaurants in Windsor
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
East Bay, near San Francisco
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Top quality food in a lovely setting”
Reviewed February 23, 2013

By the time we arrived at the restaurant we were not overly hungry. The menu had so many delicious-sounding dishes that we vowed we'd be back and bring our appetites. This time we contented ourselves with a light supper. My dish was a salad topped with deliciously seasoned, tender ahi tuna. My husband chose an equally delicious calamari and shrimp in a Cambodian garlic sauce. It was spicy, but yummy-spicy, not burn-to-death spicy. The service was professional, friendly, and our dishes arrived quickly. We couldn't have asked for better.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank MusicMajor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    35
    6
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
oakdale, Ca.
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Climbing back on the bandwagon”
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Another trip to northern Sonoma, another visit (~10 months after last one). Still just as good; nice staff, reasonable cost, scrumptous, interesting flavors. Started with a vegetable won ton soup, excellent broth and light won tons. Moved on to a lemongrass beef dish that was very good. Now the bad news: came back through Windsor on a Sat., for 2 hours had my mind set on other things I wanted to try, and they were closed for Sat. lunch! Bummer! I'll be back through in about 2 months and will definitely stop again. There are many good places in this area, but I'm surprised there are not more locals here, given the reasonable cost.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank philo128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nowheresville, MI
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Asian Fusion The Way It Should Be - Excellent”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Great service + great food + great sake = a nice evening. Everything we tried was tasty - Dim sun, Cambodian glass noodles, and BBQ pork.

Lots of flavors that we could not identify made for a very interesting meal. I'll definitely go back.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Tracy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Healdsburg
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Yummy, filling, classy but reasonably priced!”
Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

Nice menu with a sampling of
Chinese, Thai, Filipino, and Indian food. I love their roti, ahi tuna salad, vegetarian curry, and pad thai. Quality is excellent. It's not as popular as it should be, likely because it's located in Windsor and not Healdsburg, the next town north that attracts the foodies.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Taste P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Chic décor, flavorful food and water that refreshes”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Chic décor and wonderful plating adds to the dining experience of traditional Chinese and South East Asian recipes. The plates were large enough to share (4 entrees for 6 people) and still take some home. The dim sung sampler appetizer provides a range of tasty treats, is easy to share but substantial enough to be an entire meal when you aren’t in a sharing mood. The cucumber and lemon in the water was an unexpected and refreshing surprise and then we learned they seep their water in apples, mint and more (although they may want to consider asking about allergies since I know some people who react to mint). The large selections of teas (Rose tea tasted like roses!) and wines complemented the scrumptious entrees. With all the food being so divine, we couldn’t resist the thought of dessert. The coconut crème brulee was creamy and sweet, but the coconut flavor too understated for our palates. Our waitress was friendly, helpful and knowledgeable about menu selection and the kitchen just right in getting our courses served leisurely but promptly when we were all done with the next course. You come away appreciating how the proprietors, sommelier and chefs are trained, skilled and expert in all aspects of cuisine to make your dining experience top-notch.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chinois Asian Bistro also viewed

Windsor, Sonoma County
 
Windsor, Sonoma County
Windsor, Sonoma County
 
Windsor, Sonoma County
 

Been to Chinois Asian Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing