We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice property..”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Windsor - Sonoma Wine Country
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Windsor
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Appleton, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Very nice property..”
Reviewed August 25, 2014

We stayed here for a wedding and the entire time was wonderful. The pool is really fun...well landscaped, comfortable furniture, just lovely. Felt like a home rather than industrial. The breakfast was also nice-fresh fruit available, coffee and cookies all day. Manager is a hands on guy...works very hard and is there to make your stay great! We were very impressed....good morning each AM.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MajeeSwanson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSatterfield, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Windsor - Sonoma Wine Country, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Thanks so much for staying with us! We've been working hard to ensure that our breakfast lives up to our guest's expectations - glad to hear it's working! Hurry back - no one can ever have too much pool time! Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

836 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    520
    240
    49
    15
    12
See reviews for
246
289
35
124
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Torrance, California
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2014

This last minute trip up the coast with my adult children was so not planned! I thought my vacations were going to be just my husband and myself after we retired ;)
Having spent the first few nights in San Luis Obispo with my sister in law (her home is awesome!), then traveling to Monterey (stayed in a so so Ramada Inn), we were hoping this hotel in Sonoma was going to be a bit more roomier. Not disappointed!
We arrived about 4:00pm. Check in was so easy! The front desk person (wish I caught her name) was extremely polite! I mentioned we had never been to a winery and she said the closest one was Kendall jackson Estates, about a 10 minute drive, but closes at 5pm.
She gave us coupons (two for one) for wine tasting for Kendall Jackson and Rodney Strong wineries. Thanks to her, we made it to the winery and had a lovely experience!
After the winery, we brought our luggage up to our room. It was huge! A fold out sofa for my son, two queen size beds, mini fridge, coffee pot, air conditioning, microwave and a separate vanity outside the bathroom!
The room was very clean and the beds were very comfortable. The view was looking down on the pool area (second floor). Could not hear other guests above or outside our door. This room was twice the size of the prior hotel in Monterey and much nicer.
My husband and I decided to go for a swim in the pool and sit in the jacuzzi for a bit. Picked up pool towels at the front desk. The pool and jacuzzi were very clean. The garden areas were also well kept.
The next morning we all enjoyed a full complimentary breakfast! Many options- coffee, juice, hot chocolate, eggs, sausage, waffles. cereals, tortillas. All in all a good experience for approximately $200 per night (only stayed one night)

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tarkingtons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSatterfield, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Windsor - Sonoma Wine Country, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
So glad you enjoyed your stay. Sometimes the unplanned excursions are the best! We love helping our guests navigate the wine country and there is so much to see and do here. Hurry back - we'll have more recommendations for you next time. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california/shanghai
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2014

We came for a wedding and had arrived 15 minutes prior to leaving for wedding so nothing was used in the room. We had a family emergency and had to leave early. We went to check out, after being in room for a total of 15 minutes and asked if we could be charged a day rate, which working in the hotel industry I know exists, or just have our check out reversed so we weren't charged the full night. The front desk guy said that is not possible they have to charge us, under no circumstance would their manager approve a reduced rate in any situation. We were in a hurry so we just asked for a bill and managers info. We did email the manager, waiting on a response. He said he couldn't print a receipt because we had not stayed the night yet. So we had to pay for a night that we weren't there yet the computer wouldn't allow a receipt because the stay hadn't been complete. Doesn't make sense. Besides this issue the hotel was clean and convenient.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank victoriawhelan85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSatterfield, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Windsor - Sonoma Wine Country, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
I am sorry that you had to leave so quickly. We love our guests, and never over-book the hotel so that we never have to relocate or "walk" them. The cost of that, however, is that we do require a 48-hour guarantee on Friday and Saturday nights. It's never a secret as we tell every guest that fact when they book with us. Please contact me when you're back in the area and I'd be happy to upgrade you to one of our spacious suites as our guest!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2014

I spent 3 months at the hotel for a work assignment. The location is just off the highway with grocery stores, restaurants near by. The staff went out of the way to make my stay a very pleasant experience. Wish there were more hotels like this

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kpaul2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSatterfield, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Windsor - Sonoma Wine Country, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
3 months makes you family! Thanks so much for staying with us. We sure hope you come back to visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elk Grove, United States
1 review
Reviewed August 19, 2014

We really enjoyed our 2-night stay at this hotel! The location was ideal for anything you want to do in the Sonoma Wine Country, and it was very convenient to have the shopping center across the street and quick access on and off Hwy 101. We loved our room - especially that it was not configured in the traditional hotel room layout. It was spacious and felt upscale. The bathroom was nicer than most hotel bathrooms and very modern. Overall, we couldn't have asked for a better place to stay while we were in town for a friend's wedding.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Heather L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSatterfield, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Windsor - Sonoma Wine Country, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
So glad you enjoyed your visit! There is so much to do around Sonoma County's wine country! We hope you hurry back - we'd love to help you explore the wineries, eateries & redwoods!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego
Level 6 Contributor
241 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2014

if you are staying for wine country visit, skip this hotel too far away from Napa and Sonoma..The room was nice size, had double queen suite..large and roomy...but oh my gosh noisy.I had room 149 first floor this room faced the courtyard the pool and sitting area there which would be nice, except the rooms have no insulation and you hear all the yelling and screaming by the pool. The upstairs guests made so much noise I thought it was the gym, in hall you could hear people speaking in their rooms..I don't like that lack of privacy. I spent 3 nights there, one day no coffee refill, next day ironing board not put away, Funny thing they put post it note on head board saying "clean sheets for every guest", I hope so...maybe they do this at all Hampton Inn's don't know as I've not stayed in one before. The hotel is right off the 101 and if you go in the next few day's or week the off ramp to hotel is closed. There are several grocery stores and restaurants nearby so convenient. This is.good for a family who wants noise but for business I'd skip it..there is a Holiday Inn Express across freeway closer to the town square maybe try it next time.

Room Tip: none sorry they all seem loud courtyard should be best as other rooms face road or freeway
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hortonms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSatterfield, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Windsor - Sonoma Wine Country, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Thanks for staying with us! Napa & Sonoma are wonderful destinations, but we have over 200 wineries within minutes of the hotel. The front desk could have given you a map and some complimentary tasting coupons if you would have asked. I am surprised at your comments about the noise, etc. I've never had a complaint about that room and wonder if the window was closed properly. I will follow up. I hope that you give us another chance to experience what the rest of the guests are. We'd love to make it perfect for you next trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westfield, United States
1 review
Reviewed August 16, 2014

This Hampton Inn is awesome. Rooms are big and clean. Pool (with hot tub) is fantastic. Staff are very friendly. Complimentary breakfast is outstanding. Beds are really comfy. Sleeper couch ....so/so....but what do you expect from a sleeper couch? The location is perfect for day trips around Sonoma. In the immediate area are a grocery store and many casual restaurants, making family travel really easy. Quality of the hotel is superior to a similar (motel) we stayed in in Santa Rosa (had to go to another hotel for one night because Hampton sadly was sold out). Location is super convenient to Hwy 101. I was aware of highway noise only while sitting at the pool. The area felt much less congested and busy than the hotel in Santa Rosa.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Margaret M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSatterfield, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Windsor - Sonoma Wine Country, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Thanks so much for staying with us. It's a busy time of year so we do get tight on rooms, but in 3 months it will be just as beautiful and much less crowded! We'll be able to keep you here then! Thanks again for staying with us. I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Windsor
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Windsor - Sonoma County
2.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Sonoma County Airport
6.4 mi away
Best Western Dry Creek Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sonoma Wine Country
6.7 mi away
Fountaingrove Inn
Fountaingrove Inn
#5 of 25 in Santa Rosa
573 reviews
6.6 mi away
Hilton Sonoma Wine Country
Hilton Sonoma Wine Country
#6 of 25 in Santa Rosa
1,293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Windsor - Sonoma Wine Country? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Windsor - Sonoma Wine Country

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Windsor - Sonoma Wine Country
Address: 8937 Brooks Rd S, Windsor, CA 95492-7850
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Windsor
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Windsor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Windsor - Sonoma Wine Country 2.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn and Suites Windsor - Sonoma Wine Country hotel is near the Santa Rosa Business Park, which features wine tasting on Friday nights and fresh-baked cookies for Friday and Saturday night check-ins. Other amenities include: free breakfast, free WiFi, free parking, complimentary electric car charging station, a multi-lingual staff, fitness room, outdoor pool and whirlpool spa, business center and a comfortable boardroom. Our hotel is a non-smoking hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Windsor - Sonoma Wine Country reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Windsor - Sonoma Wine Country Hotel Windsor
Hampton Inn And Suites Windsor - Sonoma Wine Country
Hampton Inn Windsor
Hampton Inn & Suites Windsor - Sonoma Wine Country CA - Sonoma County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing