We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A staff that needs sensitivity training”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Windsor - Sonoma Wine Country
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Windsor
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Windsor, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A staff that needs sensitivity training”
Reviewed August 4, 2014

Paid 4 family over weekend. Nightmare. Stay filled w/arrogance. Complaint: Room smells smoke, NO TUB, noisy gym. The stay terrible. Left 4 another. I called & told I'm inappropriate &" nasty" 4 times.

Room Tip: Fountain Grove Inn in Santa Rosa is half the price and comparable to better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JoDiazWineBlog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSatterfield, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Windsor - Sonoma Wine Country, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
This person did not make the reservation, pay for the room or even visit the hotel! Suite booked for this person's daughter was a handicap suite with a roll-in shower - the only room left in the hotel, so of course it didn't have a tub. We did our best to accommodate her daughter, but could not so suggested that they quickly find another hotel that could meet their needs - as the area's hotels were filling up quickly. All efforts met with nastiness! Too bad - we love to make guest's happy, but couldn't here!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

821 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    511
    235
    48
    15
    12
See reviews for
239
286
35
121
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aurora, Colorado
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2014

After a less than satisfactory visit two weeks prior, we alerted the staff we would be back to stay on their property due to the flooding crisis my parents were experiencing at their home. While the previous visit was more annoying than unpleasant, we thought we would give them another shot since they promised to make us comfortable during this past visit. The previous visit consisted of the Hampton Inn in Windsor not being able to accommodate our request of adjoining rooms, and they were "at capacity" so when our room became the receiving end of romper room above us, they couldn't relocate us. As hard as it was to relax on that trip, we were told they would "take care of us" during our next stay. Fast forward to last Wednesday, we arrive and are harshly greeted because there was a mixup on arrival dates. They thought we were to arrive on Tuesday the 29th, not Wednesday the 30th. Really shouldn't have been a cold reception because they just charged the card on file and got their money, right? So next question, is our room on the third floor, per our request from our last stay? NO. Face falls in disappointment. Can we have a third floor room then? NO. There are no rooms available tonight, yours is the last available room. We can move you tomorrow, if the room doesn't work for you. Okay, it is what it is. Moving on, get the room keys and go to our first floor room. Open door and immediately I'm aware that the room had a stinky cigarette smell that had been attempted to get covered up with air freshener. Yuck. Then my husband goes into the restroom and comes out to tell me, "this is a handicap accessible room, there's no tub." Now for 2 adults staying alone, sure it's unfortunate, but not the end of the world. Our issue was we have 2 small toddlers, so a tub is necessary. Next issue we open our window and we're greeted by a patron walking by the pool and our window and here we are on display in the fish bowl. My husband went back to the front desk and let them know our concerns, and that the room definitely would not work. Morning arrives and I discreetly address the floor manager with my concerns. He summons the hotel manager who says under no circumstances is another room available. I replied "really? I walked around the 3rd floor this morning and all these room numbers had check out slips under their doors. So how are there no rooms becoming available?" His response was "all those rooms are already sold." To which I replied, "so I can't have one of those rooms and someone checking in can't have mine?" Blank stare, then the sincher "you should contact your insurance company and see if they can find you another room." I was agahst. After a serious pregnant pause I replied, "you know our last stay was unsatisfactory, so I think I will try to find another property to stay in." And his response, "OK and you should do that soon." Taken aback I reply I will and walk away. I have never been treated like garbage by hotel staff. I felt like I was treated like garbage by Hampton Inn in Windsor, CA. I don't think our requests we outlandish or extreme. Expecting a nonsmoking room to be smoke free and asking for a room with a tub doesn't seem overly high maintenance. I will never stay at this hotel again. We moved to The Fountain Grove Inn. A much better property, and the staff excelled in hospitality.

Room Tip: Stay at the Fountaingrove Inn. The staff was incredible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank melieAur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSatterfield, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Windsor - Sonoma Wine Country, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Blank stares and incredulous stares are 2 different things! A company booked and paid for our last available room for this party - which happened to be a handicap room. They understandably wanted a different room as they wanted a tub for their children instead of a roll-in shower, but we had no other rooms. In an age of social media slander they became enraged and threatened to do what they are trying to do now. Sad. We only wanted to help them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2014

The staff were all helpful, both at check-in and the next day. The hotel is clean, clean, clean and the beds were very comfortable. After two nights in a less comfortable hotel, this place was a gift!
Breakfast was typical cold stuff, plus serve yourself style waffles, scrambled eggs, sausage.
Nice patio and pool area, Neutrogena bath goodies.
Next door to an Applebee's, easy parking, quiet location.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dlfCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSatterfield, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Windsor - Sonoma Wine Country, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Thanks for your review and for staying with us! We're working hard to ensure that our breakfast meets our guest's needs! We're cutting cantaloupes and pineapples as well as putting out fresh blueberries every day! We sure hope you hurry back - we love our returning guests!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kihei, Hawaii
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2014

The staff at this hotel go above and beyond to make you feel welcome and comfortable. I love the free hot breakfast. The rooms are clean and spacious. I like having a decent size fridge and microwave. There are a bunch of places you can walk to to grab a bite or a coffee.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EH-from-Hawaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSatterfield, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Windsor - Sonoma Wine Country, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
I'm with you on the refrigerator size! I hate those tiny ones that aren't good for anything. So glad you enjoyed your stay. Did you get a wine-tasting packet at the desk? It includes maps and tasting passes to local wineries and is completely free! If not, ask for one when you come back. Thanks again for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apple Valley, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 31, 2014

I have stayed here for both business and pleasure when visiting the Santa Rosa area. The hotel is conveniently located to the local highways, wine regions, dining, and entertainment. The staff is always very friendly and helpful while the rooms are very clean, comfortable, and quiet.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Ken B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSatterfield, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Windsor - Sonoma Wine Country, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Thanks for staying with us again. We love our returning guests! Not sure if it's the wine, the weather, or the scenery, but our guests are always so pleasant and fun to serve. We sure hope you hurry back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, United States
1 review
Reviewed July 30, 2014

Loved this place. Room was nice and big, staff was awesome, and location of hotel was near stores. We arrived late and were in need of a room for 5. Our room had 2 queens and a pull out bed. It was perfect for our group. It was quiet, clean, and spacious. Definitely would stay again. The front desk staff was especially helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Stacey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSatterfield, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Windsor - Sonoma Wine Country, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
So glad you enjoyed your stay! Our Studio Suites are perfect for a larger family or group looking for that extra bed. Hurry back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, United States
1 review
Reviewed July 30, 2014

We were greeted by a very friendly and helpful front desk staff who made us feel very welcome. We had a medical emergency while at the hotel and they reacted swiftly and professionally. The staff even gave travel advisories to all who were at the breakfast. the rooms were clean and comfortable

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSatterfield, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Windsor - Sonoma Wine Country, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Such a pleasure having you stay with us. I'm assuming that you were with our Vineman Triathlon guests. We love and admire our participating athletes. I'm glad everything turned out well for you. We hope to see you again soon - our staff will be waiting!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Windsor
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Windsor - Sonoma County
6.4 mi away
Best Western Dry Creek Inn
2.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Sonoma County Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sonoma Wine Country
6.7 mi away
Fountaingrove Inn
Fountaingrove Inn
#6 of 25 in Santa Rosa
569 reviews
6.2 mi away
Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Windsor - Sonoma Wine Country? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Windsor - Sonoma Wine Country

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Windsor - Sonoma Wine Country
Address: 8937 Brooks Rd S, Windsor, CA 95492-7850
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Windsor
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Windsor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Windsor - Sonoma Wine Country 2.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn and Suites Windsor - Sonoma Wine Country hotel is near the Santa Rosa Business Park, which features wine tasting on Friday nights and fresh-baked cookies for Friday and Saturday night check-ins. Other amenities include: free breakfast, free WiFi, free parking, complimentary electric car charging station, a multi-lingual staff, fitness room, outdoor pool and whirlpool spa, business center and a comfortable boardroom. Our hotel is a non-smoking hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotel.de, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Windsor - Sonoma Wine Country reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Windsor - Sonoma Wine Country Hotel Windsor
Hampton Inn And Suites Windsor - Sonoma Wine Country
Hampton Inn Windsor
Hampton Inn & Suites Windsor - Sonoma Wine Country CA - Sonoma County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing