We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Uncaring reception staff, bad rooms, no internet” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Windsor - Sonoma Wine Country

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Windsor - Sonoma Wine Country to your Saves list
Hampton Inn & Suites Windsor - Sonoma Wine Country
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8937 Brooks Road South, Windsor, CA 95492   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Double HHonors Package
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Windsor
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
A TripAdvisor Member
“Uncaring reception staff, bad rooms, no internet”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

This location should be avoided......there is definitely no value staying at a property that cannot honor the booking of 2 king size rooms with internet connections for 2 nights and not even the courtesy of offering other possible room choices. I was told "this is what you booked and paid for and I'm not changing it as we are almost sold out." I have learned my lesson.....don't pay in advance at a Hilton because then you are stuck!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSatterfield, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Windsor - Sonoma Wine Country, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
The guest booked through an internet booking site 2 ADA rooms as that was all that was available. Upon arrival guest wanted to change to non-ADA rooms, which were sold out. Guest was not happy - which is something we regret. We hope that they return soon so that we can show them the hospitality that all our other guests indicate they appreciate!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

613 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Redding, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Arrival and checkin is always a good experience. The hotel lobby and grounds are very nice and well maintained. I particularly enjoy the jacuzzi and the fitness room. Because of this hotel, I look for Hampton Inns wherever I stay. The location is close to wineries and the Town of Windsor is a really nice, quiet place to stay. On top of that, you can't beat Johnny Garlic's right across the street. Not many hotels can say they have a Guy Fieri restaurant right across the street.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Cary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSatterfield, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Windsor - Sonoma Wine Country, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Thanks so much! We sure enjoy having you here. You'll be pleased to know that our value season starts in November. You'll be able to stay with us for much less and still be able to do and see all the things that make Sonoma Wine Country so enjoyable! We hope you hurry back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Hampton Windsor is an excellent place to base for visiting Dry Creek Valley and Russian River. The hotel is relatively new, kept impeccably clean and had very attentive staff. The rooms are what one expects in a Hampton inn, but very well done. The rooms are clean. They change the duvet cover for each client. The only issue I would have is the breakfast - it is OK, but like many places, it would benefit from real scrambled eggs instead of whatever one calls what they serve.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank TheWineBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSatterfield, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Windsor - Sonoma Wine Country, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Thanks so much for your kind words and rating. We do love exceeding our guest's expectations and delighting them! Also thanks for staying with us! We have added so much to our breakfast to ensure that we have something for every taste and need. We rotate our hot item each day, but when we serve eggs they are most definitely real! They are a quality assured product that guarantees your food safety. Luckily, if you don't care for them, there's still make-your-own waffles, a crock of hot oatmeal, 5 kinds of yogurt, breakfast breads and muffins, fresh fruit, hard-boiled eggs, etc. Something for everyone!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

This hotel is extremely clean and comfortable. It's a very nice Hampton Inn except that the freeway noise is very loud. The girl at the front desk was very welcoming and professional. There are places to eat and shop for food and drug stores very close by.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank keds55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSatterfield, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Windsor - Sonoma Wine Country, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thanks so much for staying with us and for your kind review. I must tell you that most of our guest appreciate being freeway-close and don't notice any noise while in their rooms. Of course with our 100% satisfaction guarantee, if you fine anything at all out of place - we don't expect you to pay. Quite a guarantee! We hope you hurry back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is right off the 101 but I never heard the highway unless we were in the parking lot or relaxing in the pool/whirlpool. It was a great place to stay with a pleasant and attentive staff. It was really nice to have breakfast right there and ready first thing in the morning. Special thanks to the young staffer who let me have the last of the bacon Wednesday morning. You sir are a hero.

The hotel us in a great position, short drive north to Healdsburg and a lot of fantastic wineries in the area or south to Santa Rosa and all the restaurants and shopping it had to offer.

p.s. The wi-fi wasn't blazing fast, but for a complementary service it was pretty good.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank loquacious1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSatterfield, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Windsor - Sonoma Wine Country, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Thanks so much for staying with us! We've got plenty of bacon for your next visit! Let us know and we'll fry up some more. Hurry back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

This hotel is very nice. It has everything you would need. It is a bit pricey for a Hampton, but competitive for the area. The variety of breakfast items was astonishing. However, if you ate the cooked items, I must admit, it did taste as if everything was put in a microwave. Even the hard boiled eggs were a bit "fake" in texture. But regardless, there were plenty of options to choose from. The fitness center while small, had all the amenities it needed and in good shape. Our room was more than adequate. However, it smelled quite odd... we had to open the window and leave the fan on the day we arrived to air it out. But the staff was wonderful, the hotel is in decent shape, and everyone goes out of their way to make your stay enjoyable. It's all you can really ask for.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Ambir H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSatterfield, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Windsor - Sonoma Wine Country, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gardnerville, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Hotel is conveniently just off the 101. I arrived late (after 11pm) and front desk was helpful, I felt very safe in the parking lot. Grocery store just a block away. Pool is great! The place is exceptionally clean and inviting!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Tricia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSatterfield, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Windsor - Sonoma Wine Country, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
We're so glad you stopped! We loved having you here. We actually have 2 grocery stores and a CVS Pharmacy right across the street, not to mention the myriad of dining options, including a great sushi restaurant and Guy Fieri's restaurant, Johnny Garlic's. A great place to stop or relax at the end of a day of exploring the wine country! We hope you come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Windsor
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Windsor - Sonoma County
6.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Dry Creek Inn
2.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Sonoma County Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Vintners Inn
Vintners Inn
#1 of 26 in Santa Rosa
4.5 of 5 stars 457 reviews
6.6 mi away
Hilton Sonoma Wine Country
Hilton Sonoma Wine Country
#8 of 26 in Santa Rosa
3.5 of 5 stars 972 reviews
9.2 mi away
Hyatt Vineyard Creek Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Windsor - Sonoma Wine Country? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Windsor - Sonoma Wine Country

Address: 8937 Brooks Road South, Windsor, CA 95492
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Windsor
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Windsor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Windsor - Sonoma Wine Country 2.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn and Suites Windsor - Sonoma Wine Country hotel is near the Santa Rosa Business Park, which features wine tasting on Friday nights and fresh-baked cookies for Friday and Saturday night check-ins. Other amenities include: free breakfast, free WiFi, free parking, a multi-lingual staff, fitness room, outdoor pool and whirlpool spa, business center and a comfortable boardroom. Our hotel is a non-smoking hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Windsor - Sonoma Wine Country reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Windsor - Sonoma Wine Country
Hampton Inn & Suites Windsor - Sonoma Wine Country Hotel Windsor
Hampton Inn Windsor
Hampton Inn & Suites Windsor - Sonoma Wine Country CA - Sonoma County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing