We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Nice place to stay in wine country” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Windsor - Sonoma Wine Country

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Windsor - Sonoma Wine Country
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Windsor
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Northern California
Level Contributor
71 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay in wine country”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

Nice place to stay. Comfy beds, clean rooms, fridge and microwave make it great. Good hot breakfast of eggs, sausage and waffles in addition to fruit salad and other breakfast goodies round out the best part of staying here. I give 4 out of 5 because I thought it was a bit pricey for this type of establishment in this area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MaNPaM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSatterfield, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Windsor - Sonoma Wine Country, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thanks so much for staying with us and for taking the time to inform your fellow travelers of your experience. I did want to let you know that we spend many hours a week surveying our competition to ensure that we have the lowest rate for comparable hotels in this area. We have also been working hard to ensure that as the rates go up, that we add as much value to your experience as we can. You can be sure that there's more of that coming! Hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

749 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    459
    218
    45
    15
    12
See reviews for
214
261
32
109
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Antelope, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

First time stay at a Hampton Inn for my husband and I and another couple. We purchased a voucher off of Amazon Local for 1 night and decided to stay for an additional night. I'm so glad we did. The rooms were large with comfy beds and lots of pillows, mini-fridges and microwaves, large bathrooms, and very quiet. We were nervous as our rooms were near the elevators but we never heard any hallway noise or elevator noises during the night. The rooms and the hotel as a whole were very clean and neat. The breakfast in the morning offered many choices and was very filling. We had complimentary wine tasting our first night in addition to the fresh baked cookies. And the Staff! They were fantastic! Everyone was incredibly friendly and accommodating. We are already planning another trip to Windsor and will be staying at the Hampton again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leslie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSatterfield, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Windsor - Sonoma Wine Country, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Glad you enjoyed your stay. While we won't be repeating the AmazonLocal discount, we've certainly enjoyed meeting lots of new, wonderful guests through the promotion. We look forward to having you back with us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
68 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

This was used as a base to explore the Russian River on a recent expedition for wine country business I was attending. The staff were so kind and helpful, as well the free breakfast in the morning felt like a great value from head to toe.

Perfect location to jump on and off the highway into Sonoma County for wineries.

Room Tip: Get a room on the low floors. Easy in and out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chihawksdan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSatterfield, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Windsor - Sonoma Wine Country, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Thanks for staying with us! Since you were here we've turned on our new solar pool heater, and should get the rest of our new pool furniture next week. We never tire of improving the hotel and our services. Hope you hurry back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

The Hampton is located in Windsor close to shopping mall and restaurants. It is near to all the great wineries in russian River, dry creek and Alexandria valley regions. The ramp to the 101 freeway is very close. The rooms are large and equipped with a small fridge and microwave. Complimentary breakfast is served daily with both hot foods and cold buffet items. Staff are friendly and helpful. Has a small exercise room and a pool to relax.

Room Tip: First floor is convenient or parking nearby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AdrianSanFrancisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSatterfield, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Windsor - Sonoma Wine Country, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thanks so much for taking the time to review your stay. I'm glad you enjoyed your visit and hope that you hurry back. We truly have the ideal wine country base as you stated! Plus, your visit and satisfaction are 100% guaranteed. Not many guarantees in life - it's nice to know that your wine country vacation will be.... at least the hotel portion!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, CA
Level Contributor
177 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

Purchased a voucher from Amazon Local for 1 night stay; included breakfast & coupons to local Sonoma county wineries. Our King room was roomy, comfy bed w/ down blanket & pillows. There is a small microwave & mini-fridge. This property is fairly new (~4 years old) and all the staff (from front desk, breakfast attendant, & housekeeping are all friendly & hard working). There is always a basket filled w/ fruit (apples, oranges) & an ice water dispencer in the lobby; in the afternoon, there are fresh baked cookies. The breakfast is more than continental fare & includes cheese omelet, turkey sausage, hot oatmeal, & a make-your-own waffle machine.

The Windsor location (right off highway 101) is a good home base for exploring Sonoma county wineries. There is an extensive strip mall across the street w/ 2 grocery stores (Raley's & Safeway), CVS drug store, a yogurt shop, Togo's sandwiches, Johnny Garlics (Guy Fieri's restaurant), bank, & a few other small stores. Applebee's restaurant is right next to the hotel.

Only complaint is that the building's sound-proofing could be more robust. You can hear the footsteps from room above & hear loud TV & ppl talking through the walls. Kept the windows closed due to freeway/traffic noise.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelTea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

Pretty new and very clean,very nice rooms and flat screen TV ,Frig,Microwave, Also Apple Bee's right next door. Toco Bell across the street,with Togo's, ,Safeway, Ralphs all kinds of food places so it's great not to have to go far when you beat tired. Trust me I travel a lot and this has all your needs with in a mile plus your right in the middle of all the sight's you and your family would love to see. No disappointments here. A + and 5 Star. pluse a fair price to boot.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSatterfield, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Windsor - Sonoma Wine Country, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
I appreciate your review - from one who travels often! Glad you had a great stay. There's so much to do and explore in Sonoma County - and it's great to have a "home base" that feels like a true home! Hurry back - we loved having you here!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, California, United States
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

Can hear guests if too loud through the walls. Comfortable, rooms good size, but the bathroom was more commercial (no tub) and lacking in decor. The bed was above average in comfort, but if you need to do a lot of business on WiFi in the room, the internet is VERY slow.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Windsor
2.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Sonoma County Airport
6.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Dry Creek Inn
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Windsor - Sonoma County
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Hyatt Vineyard Creek Hotel
Hyatt Vineyard Creek Hotel
#3 of 25 in Santa Rosa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 915 reviews
6.2 mi away
Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort
6.6 mi away
Hilton Sonoma Wine Country
Hilton Sonoma Wine Country
#6 of 25 in Santa Rosa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Windsor - Sonoma Wine Country? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Windsor - Sonoma Wine Country

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Windsor - Sonoma Wine Country
Address: 8937 Brooks Road South, Windsor, CA 95492
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Windsor
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Windsor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Windsor - Sonoma Wine Country 2.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn and Suites Windsor - Sonoma Wine Country hotel is near the Santa Rosa Business Park, which features wine tasting on Friday nights and fresh-baked cookies for Friday and Saturday night check-ins. Other amenities include: free breakfast, free WiFi, free parking, complimentary electric car charging station, a multi-lingual staff, fitness room, outdoor pool and whirlpool spa, business center and a comfortable boardroom. Our hotel is a non-smoking hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Windsor - Sonoma Wine Country reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Windsor - Sonoma Wine Country
Hampton Inn & Suites Windsor - Sonoma Wine Country Hotel Windsor
Hampton Inn Windsor
Hampton Inn & Suites Windsor - Sonoma Wine Country CA - Sonoma County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing