We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place, but breakfast was a bust.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Windsor - Sonoma Wine Country

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Windsor - Sonoma Wine Country
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Windsor
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Oroville, California
Level Contributor
167 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Nice place, but breakfast was a bust.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

We recently stayed at this hotel when visiting Santa Rosa. Because of the time of year and the access to the wine country, the price was high, but in synch with the area. The room was clean and nicely appointed. It was really quiet even though the freeway was right there. The staff was friendly and the check-in easy. We didn't use the pool, but it looked like a nice area and many were using it. The problem was the breakfast. The 1st morning we got down to breakfast and the place was full. It was close to the end of the time, and the food was really inedible or just gone. The second day we thought that maybe we would go out to brunch instead, but thought we would get a couple of donuts or muffins and coffee..... NOT!!!! Again there was not even that left in the breakfast area, though there were many people down there trying to find something to eat. Really they need to get this under control or not offer it as a service and lower the price, because it is not a service as it stands.

Room Tip: For a quiet room ask for one in the north side of the main building. 329 was quiet. Might suggest u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gdncd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSatterfield, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Windsor - Sonoma Wine Country, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. I'm a bit dismayed that there was no food available for you as we always have crocks of oatmeal, make-your-own waffles, yogurt, etc. However, I definitely apologize for your experience. We'd love to welcome you back again and upgrade you to a suite next time. Just give us a call!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

784 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    485
    225
    47
    15
    12
See reviews for
223
274
34
116
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
88 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

This is the second time we have stayed here, and it's still great. Close to Wine Country and 101. The only problem is parking, there is a resturant right next door and it seems they flow into the hotel lot.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stingray93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSatterfield, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Windsor - Sonoma Wine Country, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Thanks for pointing out how close restaurants are to the hotel! While the restaurant guests may have taken the parking spot you wanted, luckily we have twice the spots we need around the hotel - and the longest walk from the furthest corner of the property is still only a minute! Thanks for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AllAmericanGirlv1
Level Contributor
26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

Our stay at the Hampton Inn was lovely--it was a great proximity to many vineyards, the beds were comfy, the service was nice, and the continental breakfast included with the room was good. I'd definitely recommend!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AllAmericanGirlv1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSatterfield, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Windsor - Sonoma Wine Country, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Glad you enjoyed your time with us. Please come back and we'll give you a list of more places and things you should experience. It's such a wonderful place to visit with so much to do - from watching sunsets over the ocean to zip-lining through ancient redwoods! And at the end of the day - there's always that bed waiting for you! Thanks again for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

We stayed here from 8/11/12 to 8/14/12 for the Water to Wine Half Marathon in Healdsburg. The hotel staff was awesome...very friendly and accomodating. They went above and beyond to ensure we were taken care of during our stay. The entire hotel and specifically the rooms were spotless and very well maintained. Easy access on and off the highway, great location with grocery store, drug store, bank, dining, etc all next door or across the small street. Dozens of wineries are within a few minutes drive of the hotel. We will definitely stay here next time when we get back to that area again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Henry_TX_Live
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSatterfield, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Windsor - Sonoma Wine Country, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Glad you enjoyed yourselves! Did you notice the additional 2 electrical and 2 USB outlets that we just added to your bed-side table? Just hoping that it makes it easier for you to plug-in your phone, iPad, etc. Thanks again for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrington, Illinois
Level Contributor
72 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

We were at the Best Western Plus in Healdsburg prior to this hotel. Both located next to express way. Both close to major vineyards. This is THE place to stay! Rooms are clean and modern. Hotel is clean and everything works! The August heat at the vineyards can be sweltering. To come back to a nice cool room was heaven! Excellent breakfast choices. Pool was well situated with shade options. Even separate pool towels available at the front desk! Will definitely stay here again when coming to wine country!

Room Tip: Get the suite option which has a separate bar area with refrigerator and microwave. Great for storin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Newtmena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSatterfield, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Windsor - Sonoma Wine Country, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Great to have you stay with us! We love our guests and do everything we can to make them happy! Hope we have that chance again with you and your group very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
Level Contributor
154 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

We arrived early morning to meet our wine tour and the hotel let us store our suitcases in their office instead of leaving everything in our car all day. We checked in after returning from our tour. The room was clean and modern. The hotel is close to the interstate which was helpful. Breakfast was the standard fare, but good. No problems during our one night stay. Would stay here again if in the area.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vacationgirl3414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSatterfield, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Windsor - Sonoma Wine Country, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Glad you had a nice stay! We hear that a lot, but we're not resting on our laurels - we're sprucing up all over the hotel! We just added bath robes to the suites and have some lobby upgrades scheduled for this month. Come back soon - we're always thinking of ways to add value to our guest's experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menlo Park, CA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

We stayed here for the Vineman Half Ironman. The staff couldn't have been more accommodating. Instead of just saying, don't use our towels on your bikes, they provided rags for bike cleaning. Breakfast started at 4:30am on race morning and was wholesome and healthy including oatmeal and eggs, perfect pre-race breakfast. Watermelon and cold water was provided for free after the race. I usually prefer a boutique hotel rather than a chain, but this was perfect for the race. Will stay again. Only thing that would have made it better would have been the availability of chair massage in the lobby after the race.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bikegirl_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSatterfield, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Windsor - Sonoma Wine Country, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Congratulations on completing the Vineman Triathlon! We sure admire and love our athlete guests. We hope next year we'll even have a better experience for you as we've just added bathrobes to our suites, and with athlete feedback are thinking of adding avacados to our breakfast lineup! The massage chair may have to wait, but we'll see what else we can do to add value to your stay. While we're part of a chain, all of us think of this as OUR little boutique hotel! We hope you hurry back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Windsor
2.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Sonoma County Airport
6.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Dry Creek Inn
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Windsor - Sonoma County
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Vintners Inn
Vintners Inn
#2 of 25 in Santa Rosa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 564 reviews
9.2 mi away
Hyatt Vineyard Creek Hotel
Hyatt Vineyard Creek Hotel
#3 of 25 in Santa Rosa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 960 reviews
6.2 mi away
Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Windsor - Sonoma Wine Country? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Windsor - Sonoma Wine Country

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Windsor - Sonoma Wine Country
Address: 8937 Brooks Road South, Windsor, CA 95492
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Windsor
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Windsor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Windsor - Sonoma Wine Country 2.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn and Suites Windsor - Sonoma Wine Country hotel is near the Santa Rosa Business Park, which features wine tasting on Friday nights and fresh-baked cookies for Friday and Saturday night check-ins. Other amenities include: free breakfast, free WiFi, free parking, complimentary electric car charging station, a multi-lingual staff, fitness room, outdoor pool and whirlpool spa, business center and a comfortable boardroom. Our hotel is a non-smoking hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Windsor - Sonoma Wine Country reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Windsor - Sonoma Wine Country
Hampton Inn & Suites Windsor - Sonoma Wine Country Hotel Windsor
Hampton Inn Windsor
Hampton Inn & Suites Windsor - Sonoma Wine Country CA - Sonoma County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing