We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Need to talk to the cook...”

Willows Black Bear Diner
Ranked #1 of 20 Restaurants in Willows
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Carson City, Nevada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Need to talk to the cook...”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

the next time I am there. We arrived on Monday, Memorial Day, and even though the restaurant was very crowded at the time, we were seated within a reasonable amount of time (20-25 minutes). We both ordered the fish and chips and everything was just great....except the tartar sauce and cocktail sauce. I really fell that someone needs to inform the cook how to make these sauces correctly. Also, the tarter sauce apparently had not been refrigerated and all of the oil from the mayo had risen to the top. The cocktail sauce had no flavor other than ketchup and both of them were very, very disappointing. Other than that, the fish had been cooked properly and fries were nice and hot - not real thrilled with the coleslaw but it was ok.

Our service was good and given that it was a holiday, things went smoothly.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PIMomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    64
    28
    13
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver Island
Level Contributor
36 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Dinner-April 2013”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

They could really use more vegetarian options, their menu is HUGE and there is ONE vegetarian dinner meal option, and it is a salad. My husband ended up ordering breakfast for dinner (he said the homemade biscuit was amazing and the best part of his meal, and otherwise it was "fine") to have a more protein-y vegetarian option, and I tried the Summer Harvest Salad. It was ok, very saucy. I don't think I would go back, but only because they didn't have much for me to chose from. If you love meat you will probably be perfectly happy eating here.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank spicyradish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level Contributor
144 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Good value”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

We have stayed in Willows 3-4 times but this was our first visit to the Black Bear and we were pleasantly surprised. There is a large choice on the menu-something for everyone. We were seated and served drinks immediately and after we ordered, the food arrived quickly. My wife had the Taco Salad with chicken and, while she said that the shell was 'average', she really enjoyed the salad itself. There was plenty of chicken to go with the greens which were topped off with dressing and salsa (on the side) tasty avocado, black olives etc. My bacon cheeseburger platter was very good and there were too many fries to eat ($7.99). Staff were friendly. Good choice for a quick, filling meal.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MesaMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best breakfast”
Reviewed March 21, 2013

We were so pleased with this place. They make their own fantastic sausage and the house potatoes were great as were the 7 grain pancakes. Gravy was good, too. The only thing I would improve would be the quality of the coffee. In this day and age of great coffee like Starbuck's restaurant owners should realize how important good coffee is to return customers. The staff was super friendly and accomodating.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank padredecasa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Conner, WA
Level Contributor
74 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good old comfort food”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

We ate at two of these chain restaurants while in Calif. In Willows it was uncrowded. In Bullhead, AZ on a Friday night it was standing room only. The restaurant offers good quality comfort food, and lots of it. Reasonable prices. Don't expect white tablecloths. Staff at both places were friendly and helpful. Average cleanliness.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Judy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Willows Black Bear Diner also viewed

 

Been to Willows Black Bear Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing