We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Willows Travelodge”
Review of Travelodge Willows

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Travelodge Willows
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Willows
Reviewed November 30, 2011

My husband and I have stayed here with his family for an annual family reunion we have every November. In the beginning years this property was semi-decent. In recent years the lack of caring has taken its tole.

The rooms are disgusting (and I don't throw around that word lightly) and unclean! Mine and my husbands particular room had burn holes in the carpet, a huge hole in the wall (which someone tried to patch and just left it unpainted) and a large crack running down the wall as well. The paint job itself in the room overall looked like my 2nd grade neice had done it. The bathroom looked like it maybe had been swept, definately not washed down. There were cobwebs in the corners and other peoples hair on the floor. The mirrors had water spots all around and the counter looked barely wiped down. I wore my socks while taking a shower if that tells you anything! And, good times-- the toilet didn't flush properly and flooded twice; sorry cleaning crew! Needless to say, my in-laws room was no better with simalur cleanliness issues.

To top it off, our room was on the other side of the ice maker, which was broken. So instead of removing it (or, hey, here's a novel idea, FIX IT) they just unplugged it. So by not putting an out of order sign on it, guests would simply plug it back in. That being said, after a considerable 'warm up period’ of loud rumbling and humming, the sound would turn into a jet engine, which sounded like it was landing IN our room. THUD! THUD! THUD! over and over and over against our wall. Finally after an hour, and not knowing it was the ice maker, I called the front desk (mind you it was almost 1:00am) and the 'oh so helpful' lady at the front desk says, "Oh, hmmm, must be the ice maker. It's broken, so we unplugged it and then people just plug it back in and then it makes that sound. All you have to do is go outside (again, 1:00am) and unplug it." Seriously?! THAT was her solution. After I told her what she could do with that idea, ultimately, SHE made the sound stop!

Now, while I recognize that we are in Willows, CA, not really Four Seasons rated. I still think it is reasonable to expect a decent room!

In any case, if you ever find yourself in the wonderful little town of Willows, CA, be forewarned about the Travelodge and find another hotel! A tent out in the many corn fields would be better!

Sincerely,

M

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank M D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (64)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 64 reviews

Reviewed November 21, 2011

Not the fanciest but clean, roomy, comfortable. Was several high end property at one time obviously but still OK for someone wanting good value, including a breakfast, basic though it may be.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dennism3017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2011

We found this hotel by bailing off the interstate after a long day's drive. We just needed a place to rest for the night before continuing our trip early the next morning. Very friendly desk person who referred us to the Mexican restaurant next door - which was a great place to eat without having to get back into the car. This is an older motel and we had some issues with poor electrical outlets, but nothing that required the front desk. The internet was hard-wired and also proved difficult to stay online.
We slept just fine and moved on as planned the next morning. We probably would not stay at this particular location if we were ever travelling through Willows in the future.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Larry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2011

This is just about what you'd expect from a discount chain. The staff was friendly and courteous. The check-in was relatively fast and easy. The room was clean and odor free. The bed was very comfortable and firm. The shower had a nice head and decent pressure. It was also fairly roomy and the parking was very close. There's nothing special about it but it is a very good bargain for the quality of the motel. The breakfast was also pretty good for such a discounted rate. If we go back that way, we will stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Artgilbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

During my long term stay at the hotel, we did not come across any problems. The breakfast area is closed for remodeling, but they allow us to use the Baymont Hotel's breakfast room, as they are owned by the same people. Also, one of the two outdoor pools is closed permenantly because the kids from the apartments next door came in and used it at night. The rooms are about 30 years old, and have not been updated since then. Old TVs, old beds, but can't beat the price, and we had a good functioning air conditioner.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doppler007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2011

I travel from Portland to LA many times a year. This has become my half way point motel.
It's not fancy and yes the pools are not working but, it is good value, clean rooms and if traveling with a dog it is a nice place. Lot's of grass. Close to a few good places to eat.
Easy access to and from high way, gas, food.
Never had a problem or a bad room!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mindisp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2011

Do not go to this hotel. It is not as advertised. The swimming pools are not working. There is no WiFi. But those are minor difficulties. The building is in very bad condition. The rooms are dark and dingy. I've never seen smaller pillows in my life.

The plus? By contrast the bathroom was amazing. They do take dogs. The grounds are nice and the place could be decent but it would require a huge expenditure. The owners have a sister property next door that is new and looks to be decent.

Want to swim? Walk next door.
Need to use WiFi? Walk next door.
Need to check out in the morning? Not sure what you do. We had paid when we checked in with no new charges so we left.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PoetWriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Willows hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western Willows Inn
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Willows
0.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Willows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Super 8 Willows
Super 8 Willows
#4 of 8 in Willows
144 reviews
1.0 mi away
Economy Inn
Economy Inn
#5 of 8 in Willows
36 reviews
0.2 mi away
Motel 6 Willows
Motel 6 Willows
#3 of 8 in Willows
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Willows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Willows

Address: 249 N Humboldt Ave, Willows, CA 95988-2609 (Formerly Studio 6 Willows)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Willows
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Willows
Price Range: $52 - $63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Willows 2*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Motel-6, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Travelodge Willows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Willows Travelodge Hotel Willows

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing