We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Who would think such a superb facility would be there?”
Review of Coho Cottages

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Willow Creek
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Coho Cottages
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Willow Creek
Sausalito, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Who would think such a superb facility would be there?”
Reviewed December 9, 2011

I travel extensively around the world and have stayed at more five star hotels than I can count. This past week was a steel head trip to the Trinity and Klamath Rivers. My girl friend had found the site so my fishing partner and I booked two rooms. Were we impressed. Everything a traveler could imagine. The cottages are all unique with amazing incite on how to make a traveler feel comfortable - and spoiled. Great beds, showers and quasi-kitchen. Many of the rooms have barbeques on their porches. And the price? The same as the tax on many hotels where I've stayed. Incredible value and surprise in that part of the world.

Room Tip: Look at the website or ask. Two fishermen they gave us their least expensive rooms and they were su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flyfishbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    5
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
20
32
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2011

This July our family had the pleasure of spending two nights at the cottages while we squeezed in a rafting trip with Bigfoot rafting in between attending a wedding in Sacramento, CA and continuing on to a family gathering along the OR coast. The location was breath-taking and serene. The drive from Redding was beautiful and the drive to the coast- spectacular. The cottage itself was accommodating and comfortable. We bought all our groceries in Redding (I highly recommend this as Willow Creek is tiny) and asked for a crock pot in advance. We returned from rafting to a 'home cooked' meal, showered in the spacious, hot shower, had a picnic on the grass outside, then lounged on the porch drinking hot chocolate until the sun went down. At that point we nestled down for the night in the amazingly comfortable beds to watch a movie on the flat screen t.v.. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We highly recommend both the cottages and Bigfoot Rafting.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bernadette R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2011

We enjoyed a 2 night stay at the Coho cottages with our 3 young children. Londa was the perfect host and gave us a very warm welcome and was more than happy to answer any questions we had. Our cottage itself was simply stunning, great attention to detail and so comfortable, we loved it. Londa was able to organise a day out with Big Foot Rafting for us. We thoroughly enjoyed the days rafting, the river was so beautiful and our guide Simon was great. Wish we could have stayed for longer.

Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Abikcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dinsmore, Ca
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2011

Our clan commandeered 2 luxurious cabins. Best was the screened in deck with BBQ. We ate & visited then retreated - Grandparents in one cottage, younger clan in the other. Beautiful surroundings, beautiful, comfortable, luxurious cabins with everything we needed in the kitchenette.
Bigfoot Raft Co. Picked us up at the cottages & dropped us off after our river trip. Thank you for the perfect summer adventure.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NanaPops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed August 11, 2011

Coho Cottages ( Fish Camp) surpassed expectation and was quite the best place that we stayed on our California vacation. We were revisiting the area after 20 years with our teenage boys. Fish Camp has accomodation for four people with 2 double beds and a fold out couch. We managed to off load our boys with friends and enjoyed the luxury accomodation for ourselves! The beds are so comfortable the bathroom area decadently spacious. The kitchen area is neat and efficient and the porch area ideal for lazy summer evenings. The owners have evidently put a lot of thought into the type of accomodation. The fittings are all of superior quality, it is supremely comfy with nice furnishings and helpful information. It is in short very stylish.
The owners also run the Big Foot Rafting Company. We had an exhilarating half day on the Trinity River. The trip was professional, reasonably priced and just the right amount of challenge from level 3 rapids that our boys were hoping for! It was a huge success. We loved the avenue of trees on Willow Creek main street. After 20 years away Willow Creek seems to be doing a lot of things right. Coho Cottages is a gem of a place and the area one of California's best kept secrets.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2011

We spent 2 nights at Coho Cottages and it was simply lovely.

We arrived on a Wednesday, right before the sun began setting. We brought the stuff in to this comfy cabin, met the owner and then made ourselves drinks and snacks, that we enjoyed on the deck.

Ahhhhhh, the extremely long drive was worth it. It was quiet, with a view in to the woods. The room had a/c and it was cool inside. The deck had a BBQ that we used later to grill up a steak and some roma tomatoes we got at the market at the end of the block. While my husband was prepping the steak for the grill, I went to the fabulous herb garden for some fresh thyme and parsley. What a hidden treasure.

Even though the other cabins were occupied, the privacy afforded meant we didn't see them. That was a great feature. The views are of nature, not other cottages.

The cottages are equipped with a mini fridge, microwave, coffee and a maker. Since this is a one horse town plan accordingly. The market is at the end of the block, but it closes at 9pm, so make sure you have all you need.

It is a long hall from San Fran, but if you are up there, are in to nature in a quiet, private location this spot is for you. There is a hiking trail on the property too.

Also, while you're there, Bigfoot Rafting Company does a great rafting trip down the Trinity River. They are owned by the same people who own the cottages so I knew we would enjoy ourselves, and we did. Great trip!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DblHShames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Batesville, Mississippi
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2011

During a trip to the Redwoods in search of Bigfoot, we stayed in the Promontory Cottage here. When you first get there, you won't think they are going to be as nice because they are in an odd location, but once there, you feel truly in touch with nature. At first, we noticed there was a little note inviting us to get vegetables and herbs in their garden at any time. That was neat! Then, we noticed that there were all sorts of games and other fun activities in our cottage. I would recommend this Promontory Cottage because it has a screened in porch (with a grill) and also with a daybed. My son slept on the daybed in the fresh mountain air, but he came in to our room because he thought he heard bigfoot. Ha ha! They recommended the restaurant we went to...Gonzalez's Mexican restaurant. That restaurant was excellent!!! I recommend the Chipotle Shrimp on the dinners menu. It was a wonderful trip. We also had a jacuzzi tub and a comfortable king bed.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dixieland2222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Willow Creek
19.5 mi away
Blue Lake Casino Hotel
Blue Lake Casino Hotel
#1 of 1 in Blue Lake
146 reviews
23.6 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Arcata, CA
23.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Arcata - Humboldt Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.2 mi away
Hotel Arcata
Hotel Arcata
#5 of 10 in Arcata
133 reviews
24.0 mi away
Ramada Arcata
Ramada Arcata
#8 of 10 in Arcata
206 reviews
23.7 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Arcata
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coho Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coho Cottages

Property: Coho Cottages
Address: 76 Willow Road, Willow Creek, CA 95573
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Humboldt County > Willow Creek
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Willow Creek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury cabins nestled in the rural mountain community of Willow Creek along the banks of the Trinity River. Coho Cottages is just a short drive from Redwood National Park and Trinity Alps Wilderness on Scenic By-way Highway 299 in Bigfoot‘s home town. The cottages offer casual elegance with oversized tiled showers, heated floors, soaking tubs, quality linens, original artwork, wi-fi, xm radio, direct dish satellite TV, fire places, and large screened in porches with outdoor grills overlooking spectacular mountain views. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Coho Cottages Hotel Willow Creek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing