We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Better than expected, but didn't knock our socks off”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Willits Inn
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Willits
Certificate of Excellence
San Mateo, California
Level Contributor
65 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Better than expected, but didn't knock our socks off”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

The recent reviews made me a little wary but we had no issues with the check in (what cash deposit?) and our room had shampoo (Pantene) and soap and towels for all 4 of us. The air con was blasting which was such a welcome relief coming in from 105deg heat. The white noise helped drown out the traffic and the passing trailer noise too.

We had a suite (no door between sitting area and bedroom) which provided plenty of space for our family. We requested 2 pack and plays for our kids (2 and under) and it would have been nice for the management to have let us know beforehand that there was none. With some sheets, we rigged something up on the chaise for our baby. Our 2 yr old took the pull out bed and he's not a partcularly discerning sleeper so I can't comment on the comfort of that. The sitting area with the pull out bed is in an alcove which seemed a little stuffy as the air doesn't circulate well there.

Breakfast was acceptable and the eating area was clean, but very small! Waffles, hard boiled eggs, packaged pastries from Costco, mini muffins, nectarines, apples and oranges among the usual suspects.

When we returned after hunting for dinner (*nothing* decent was open!), there was no parking on our end of the building. We parked our car at the front porch and the manager comes out and says very brusquely "you can't park here. Move to the end." Before I can finish saying that we are just stopping here to unload our 2 kids, he's gone back in and slammed the door. A little gentleness wouldn't have hurt!

I heard the lady manager state that they have had an unusually high occupancy rate. Possibly not because of the warm reception, but because there aren't many choices in Willits. A spacious clean room, don't expect too much more and you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 301, which was separated by the long row of rooms by the staircase. We had no one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FriesAndFoieGras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    65
    33
    15
    18
See reviews for
66
64
15
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Broadview Heights, Ohio
Level Contributor
95 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

We were driving North out of San Francisco after a long flight and decided to stop in Willits. We randomly decided to spend the night at the Best Western. We were pleasantly surprised at how nice the hotel was. It was spotlessly clean and the internet was excellent, huge room, huge TV and nice motel breakfast. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidKeltner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

Expect to get the runaround from the woman behind the desk and to be required to pay a deposit in CASH. As a world traveller, this was one of the most inhospitable front desk experiences I have had, both checking in and checking out. I would rather stay at a no name hotel that has good service than stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dontsweepmyfoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Noisy location as it is above the main road. No extras here but just the basics. Not one of the nicer Best Westerns but certainly one of the priciest. No shampoo or lotions. Staff were friendly. Will not stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wavi62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
105 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

The hotel is clean and fairly modern. The hotel is next to the highway, but we didn't hear any noise from the street. Our room was spacious and the bed was comfortable and well maintained. The people at the front desk were helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NStravellers71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

I stayed 11-8-12 and the hotel is just feet away from busy Hwy 101. Owner is foreign and was not friendly and I ask for an upstairs room in an extremely quiet location with a good bed. There are none. All rooms are just feet away from Hwy 101, however he lied and told me I would not hear any noise. The room was clean, it had both WiFi & Ethernet Internet service, but I had to run the heater in the room all night just to try to drown out the highway noise from all the trucks and cars. The noise never stopped. The bed was so hard there was no give and I have a terrible back ache this morning and I got almost no sleep. The covers on the bed were very light weight and I had to go ask for another blanket. Wth my senior AARP rate it still cost $97.90 for just one person in the off season and that is too much. I can not recommend anyone stay here unless they are completely deaf and prefer to sleep on something hard like a floor.

Room Tip: There are only noisy rooms just feet away from busy Hwy 101.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sharon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camarillo, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

This Best Western was recommended to us and we are glad we took the recommendation. Good service at the front desk. Clean room. Well kept. We stayed in one of the suites, a bigger room with a alcove for our little one. It was very nice. Being on the second floor meant hauling a lot of stuff upstairs. TV and Internet were fine. The room was quiet. No noise from the adjacent highway.

It should be noted that the driveway from the highway to the parking lot is quite steep.

My only gripe is that there are no outside trash cans. So, I had to take trash from the car up to the room and had no place outside for smelly trash (remember the little one).

We won't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MurphyW3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Willits
0.7 mi away
The Old West Inn
The Old West Inn
#3 of 9 in Willits
5.0 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
0.4 mi away
Baechtel Creek Inn
Baechtel Creek Inn
#4 of 9 in Willits
4.0 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
0.8 mi away
Super 8 Willits
Super 8 Willits
#2 of 9 in Willits
4.0 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Ukiah
19.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Ukiah
Hampton Inn Ukiah
#1 of 15 in Ukiah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
24.7 mi away
Shoreline Cottages
Shoreline Cottages
#1 of 22 in Fort Bragg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Willits Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Willits Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN Willits Inn
Address: 1777 S Main St, Willits, CA 95490-4404
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Willits
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Willits
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Willits Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Best Western and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Willits Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Willits Hotel
Willits Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing