We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dirty, disgusting and scary”
Review of Holiday Lodge

Holiday Lodge
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Lodge
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Willits
Bako
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Dirty, disgusting and scary”
Reviewed July 29, 2011

This hotel looked okay (sort of) from the outside, but once we were inside our room, I wanted to take a long shower....except the bathroom as just as scary as the room itself. There were disgusting stains (LOTS of them!) on the two chairs...I refused to sit in them. The shade on one of the lamps was clearly torn. There were cigarette burns on the bedspreads (although it was a non-smoking room). I tore apart the bed to check for bedbugs (found none, thankfully), but it didn't make me feel me much better. The carpet was FILTHY and there was mildew in the bathroom window. The tissue dispenser was void of even an empty box of tissue. If we'd had kids, I don't believe I would have let them use the pool. It was none too clean, either. The sign out front says 'AAA Approved', which I HIGHLY doubt. No way AAA would give their seal of approval to this place. I will be contacting them next.

Room Tip: Not sure there ARE any 'best rooms' here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kitkat5556
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    1
    1
    2
    3
See reviews for
3
4
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Berkeley, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2007

Horrible place to stay. Room (117) smelled of mildew badly, caused by the poorly installed handicapped shower facility which drained directly onto the rug... after covering the floor of the bathroom area completely. Shower unusable because of improper installation (sprayed water everywhere). BTW, we did NOT ask for a handicapped facility nor were we informed of it until we returned very late at night to collect our room. Uncovered window in back let in direct light from outside. Clock radio went off loudly and unexpectedly at 2:00AM. Beds squeaked. Refrigerator howled. No bugs. Go anywhere else.

  • Liked — Leaving the next morning and not having to come back.
  • Disliked — Amazingly inconsiderate room assignment, giving us an unneeded handicap shower unit.
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Vandeleur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2007

We stayed here for 3 nights while attending the Kate Wolf Music Festival in Laytonville. The motel has all the basic amenities and a friendly manager/front desk clerk. Normally I would say it was OK for the price of $94:00 (incl. tax) a night considering it was the week of the Festival and the weekend before Independence Day ... but there was one major problem.

Every morning starting around 8:30 or 9:00 AM we would get a knock at our door and a bright voice saying "housekeeping"! There were no "DO NOT DISTURB SIGNS" and the maids did not seem to understand that if our drapes were drawn and our car was in it's parking place that we did not want to be disturbed.

To cap it all off the alarm was set to go off at 1:00 AM with loud Mexican music. I was not amused.

  • Liked — Price and location
  • Disliked — Housekeeping that kept waking us up and bothering us every morning!
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank openroad1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2006

This was a standard room with a queen bed. It was not bad at all. The rooms were clean but it smelled a little funny. They had the standard bottle of shampoo, bottle of lotion, and soap.

It's just a good place to rest your head for the night before you head off onto other more exciting places.

  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Yaeneth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Willits
0.5 mi away
Super 8 Willits
Super 8 Willits
#3 of 9 in Willits
4.0 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
0.1 mi away
Baechtel Creek Inn
Baechtel Creek Inn
#4 of 9 in Willits
4.0 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Willits Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Old West Inn
The Old West Inn
#1 of 9 in Willits
4.5 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
19.0 mi away
Super 8 Ukiah
Super 8 Ukiah
#6 of 15 in Ukiah
4.0 of 5 bubbles 564 reviews
0.3 mi away
No photo provided
Pine Cone Motel
#2 of 3 in Willits
4.0 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Lodge

Property: Holiday Lodge
Address: 1540 S Main St, Willits, CA 95490-4312
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Willits
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Willits
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Holiday Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Under new ownership. All rooms are on the ground floor with high speed DSL access and all rooms are equipped with microwaves and refrigerators. Recently renovated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your Holiday Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing