We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Place in Williams to stay!”
Review of Granzella's Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Granzella's Inn
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Williams
Reviewed October 13, 2012

What a wonderful place to stay. The front desk staff was friendly and welcoming. The lobby had a basket of fresh crisp fuji apples waiting for guests. Our king room was quite large and very comfortable. The bathroom was very clean with extra linens. Breakfast is a minimal continental style, but Granzella's restaurant is across the parking lot should you want more. One thing to remember when making your reservation ... there is no elevator in this hotel, but this should not stop you from stay here!

This is a wonderful, comfortable and very clean hotel. You have easy on/off access to the freeway. We will stay here again!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dusters34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (159)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

121 - 127 of 159 reviews

Reviewed October 13, 2012

Came here en route to Crew Winery. Noisy of front side of building but otherwise very clean and affordable with fridge, microwave etc in King Suite. Restaurant across street offers great picnic take out style foods and also has a restaurant.
Good for one night. Not much to do locally

Room Tip: Back side of hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ELES ESCAPE B a... B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Attracted by the numerous billboards along I-5 N, we decided to try spending a Thursday night. The signs advertise a 43-room motel, restaurant, deli, 'famous sports bar' and olive tasting. They had a room available and although the young male desk clerk was polite, he made you feel as if you were interrupting his computer game in the office. Indeed later I had to call a few times to get him to the desk out of the office. The room was clean and adequate for the night. The price was reasonable. It also came with a continental breakfast in the morning (juice, coffee, toast and bagels from what I could see) which we declined in favor of eating at the restaurant. The decor was dominated by well-done photographs of local scenery, and wallpaper with a tasteful olive leaf theme. The hotel had burned down not too many years before (2007?), and the remodel was tasteful.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dianesquid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

On our way home from San Diego we were looking for just someplace to stay before hitting the road again the next morning. We took a exit in the middle of nowhere (never heard of Williams) and was very surprised to find such a great place. After check in and receiving a coupon for 10% off dinner at their restaurant as well as a coupon for a free loaf of bread from their bakery we decided to go across the parking lot for a bite to eat at their lounge and was surprised at the size of the place not to mention the size of the portions I'm very glad we split the steak sandwich that was cooked to perfection. The rooms are large and clean (look like new) everyone was friendly they do have breakfast for you in the morning but I liked the restaurant so much we went back for more. I can't say enough good things about this place. If you find yourself in the middle of nowhere California and needing a place to stay this is definitely worth the stop.

Room Tip: It's located about half way between Portland Oregon and San Diego Ca.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sbird1932
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2012

We needed a stop over on a trip from Santa Monica to Seattle. If you turn left at nowhere, you're in Williams. But, the Inn is a very pleasant surprise.

We were greeted promptly and pleasantly. Check in was quick and easy. The property is recently renovated so everything is spotless. The room is bright, airy and clean, clean, clean. The bathroom was literally squeaky clean and well lit. The WiFi is free and fast.

We had a ground floor room across the hall from the breakfast area, yet we were not disturbed by any noise. The continental breakfast was quite adequate. The restaurant / bar is across the parking lot and is reviewed separately.

I highly recommend this motel and would seek it out if making the I-5 run again. You cannot go wrong and the price is more than fair.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VenturaTraveler13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2012

Hubby and I had our annual sojourn through Williams, CA heading to Willows, CA for the Lamb Derby parade held every year and we stayed here for the 6th time. We LOVE the Ganzella's Inn and recommend it to anyone who is heading north on I-5 and want a nice clean place to stay. The room is clean and although I had a bit of a hard time at check in, the check in person eventually got us in the correct room. Granzella's recently went through a total renovation and did a wonderful job! The restaurant and lounge are right across the parking lot and the food is really good! The barkeep, Krissie greeted us with a smile, called us "kids" and recommended the Granzella's beer on tap for our thirst quencher.....it was WONDERFUL! The king room suite that we always stay in is big, comfortable, wifi works well and so inexpensive it's crazy!! We have stayed in hotels charging $250.00+ and the room wasn't nearly as nice as this one! Now, the reason I can't give the 5th star is the reception/check in persons....previously when staying here, every time we (or other patrons) would walk in or out of the lobby, we were greeting with a "HI! How was lunch (dinner, breakfast, your day, etc)?" or “Enjoy the day!" Not so this time....this is the first time in our history of staying at Granzella's that we were pretty much ignored (WHEN someone was at the check in counter, which wasn't often). I even made it a point to wave or smile to the reception persons, but received no response. Very disappointing in an economy when customer service is SO important. Will I stay here again? Absolutely! I can overlook rudeness when the rooms are so comfy and the food and the people at the lounge/restaurant are so very nice and friendly. I just wanted to make sure to give a heads up so others wouldn't be taken by surprise at check in. Maybe next year's sojourn will provide a better greeting!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrsLive4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2012

A comfortable and welcoming dog-friendly stopover right in downtown Williams, which is the epitomy of smalltown California. Granzella's Inn goes with the well-known restaurant of the same name next door, renowned in the Sacramento Valley for its reliable reastaurant and deli, which features made-to-order sandwiches and local foods and gifts. The Inn offers spacious and reasonably priced rooms, plus a light continental breakfast with yoghurt, baked goods, toasts, juice and waffle maker. In addition, with the room you get vouchers for a free deli mini sourdough loaf and a discount on food from the restaurant. Best of all, is the genuinely warm welcome from the reception desk. Sheryl is an absolute gem. She seems to recognize all repeat travellers and even remembers the names and quirks of doggie guests. If you want more upscale dining, Louis Cairo's Restaurant, a long-time Valley mecca for Italian food and fine meats is just a couple of blocks away. And Granzella's has the generosity of community spirit to include their menu in their guest room guide, even advertizing a free desert or garlic bread offer at this rival restaurant if you show your room key. Love this place. It's like visiting family and friends.

Room Tip: The suites are only a few dollars more and offer a bigger, brighter room, with mini bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarilynDeming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Williams
0.4 mi away
Ramada Williams
Ramada Williams
#2 of 6 in Williams
469 reviews
0.1 mi away
Stage Stop Inn
Stage Stop Inn
#4 of 6 in Williams
60 reviews
0.3 mi away
Econo Lodge Williams
Econo Lodge Williams
#5 of 6 in Williams
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
River Valley Lodge
River Valley Lodge
#1 of 2 in Colusa
44 reviews
21.2 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#1 of 1 in Dunnigan
40 reviews
0.2 mi away
Traveler's Inn
Traveler's Inn
#1 of 6 in Williams
510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Granzella's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Granzella's Inn

Address: 391 6th Street, Williams, CA 95987
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Williams
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Williams
Price Range: $106 - $136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Granzella's Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Top to Bottom renovation completed in 2010! Perfect location with famous Granzella's Restaurant, Lounge, Deli, and Gift Shop! Your perfect "half-way" stop on Interstate 5! **DOG FRIENDLY!!!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Granzella's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Granzella`s Hotel Williams
Granzellas Hotel Williams

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing