We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Phabulous!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Phlight

Phlight
Ranked #2 of 274 Restaurants in Whittier
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Spanish, Wine Bar
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Phabulous!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

My wife and I ate here last weekend with two of her old college buddies after dropping our son off at Whittier College. We had read the great reviews but had no idea what a treat we were in for. It was among the best meals I've ever had. We ordered several of the tapas and loved every one. The chicken mole and duck tacos were terrific. We almost didn't order the sobrasada flat bread because it sounded like a glorified pizza but we were glad we did. A pizza it was not. Fabulous it was. My favorite, however, were the bacon wrapped dates. When they came I almost wanted to forget the rest of the order and just sit and eat these all night. Our server was very friendly and the service was impeccable. Best of all, the bill for four of us was just over $100, which included two large (600ml) bottles of excellent beer. This place is a gem.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank YitzhakAaron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    21
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
45 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Gourmet Food in Whittier!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012 via mobile

A lovely little tapas bar with simple elegant decore and excellent service. The menu is varied and each dish is beautifully prepared and delicious! If you sit at the bar you can watch the chefs perform their magic. Wide choice of wine and beer including homemade sangria. Best food on town!

Helpful?
2 Thank LosAngelesTamara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland
Level Contributor
258 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Only good place to eat in Whittier!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012

Tapas menu. Everything freshly prepared. Reservations reallyneeded on weekends.can be very noisy.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank intrepidtraveler23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern Califonia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great late night stop”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2012

As a last minute outing went with friends and ordered about 1/2 the menu for the group. Everything was delicious! Great food and service.

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Kara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles, california
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Heaven in your mouth”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2012

We've been here a few times and have loved it every time. The food is delicious and the wine selectiom is great. The only thing they can improve onis the sangria. Had it a couple times and did not like it. The baconwrapped dates are wonderful, as is the paella. Their olives and almonds are also delish. I really enjoyed their crispy lentils. The patatas bravas are also good. This is more of an evening with friends or couples place. Since we couldn't find a sitter and were aching for crispy lentils, we took baby. The servers were accomodating and we saw a few other people with babies. I highly suggest callin ahead and making a reservation. I've seen people turned away, I myself wa turned away one Wednesday night, yes, on a Wednesday they were jam packed!

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank 1guendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Phlight also viewed

 

Been to Phlight? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing