We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classic.”

Ricks Drive In & Out
Ranked #89 of 280 Restaurants in Whittier
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Camas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Classic.”
Reviewed April 1, 2014

Ricks has been there forever, so they must be doing something right. I must say that my all time fav - patty melt - has been kinda ruined by the addition of lettuce and tomato. Chili cheese fries are still very good.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jamie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    13
    2
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Whittier, California
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Rick's Burgers”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Rick's Burgers is an icon in Uptown Whittier. Not only do they sell the best burgers and fries, but they have a great fan following. Every Christmas, they fill up the outside courtyard with elaborate decorations and a 30 foot (or so) tall tree with all the bells and whistles (and lights!). Their prices are very reasonable, well-staffed, and the owner is on site most of the time. Large dining area, and clean. They have a variety of foods from Mexican to burgers, but nothing fancy. Just good old-fashioned home-made food. Great!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisCabrera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“One of the best Pastrami Sandwhiches!”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

We ate here several times during our 10 day stay at the Whittier Radisson across the street. If you like Burger dives, old fashioned mom and pop California low cost restaurants then you may like this place. The prices were surprisingly low. They had a large menu with plenty to choose from. It was a popular local eatery with some lines to wait a bit. But worth it. We enjoyed just about every item we tried. A Nice greasy joint the locals enjoy are places we like to visit when traveling. We chanced to meet the owners while they were celebrating the restaurants anniversary and giving patron free slice of cake. Nice guy who enjoys the patrons. Thumbs up for the Pastrami. It is hard to find a good Proper pastrami sandwich, which is my Achilles heel. We traveled many states and tried many a pastrami but a few in California seem to be the only ones to do it right.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank cherish f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whittier, California
1 review
“The cashier on weeknights is RUDE”
Reviewed December 6, 2012

I've been coming to Rick's for 8 years, since I moved here. I always overlooked that unsmiling, rude cashier that sometimes just throws the plate on your table old-school. I usually just keep walking and don't come here when I see her behind the counter. Came here tonight 12-6-12 about 8:30pm and didn't see her, so walked on in, and, there she was. She takes my order with her usual contempt, and I paid and just left. There comes a time when one has had enough. I've had enough, Rick. Never coming back here again. That lady goes out of her way to be rude and that's not right.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PopeiiXi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whittier, California
Level 6 Contributor
81 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“flashback food.”
Reviewed December 2, 2012

Before I became a vegetarian I looked forward to coming here when in uptown. I actually preferred this fast food as opposed to a sit down joint similar. Great bacon avocado burgers and fries. They also have very good club sandwiches . Durning Christmas they decorate with giant trees and ornament. Kids will love it. I love it. Makes you feel like you traveled back to the good ol days

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank toshinacrockett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ricks Drive In & Out also viewed

 

Been to Ricks Drive In & Out? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing