We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Castello di Montegufoni
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Villa Le Calvane(Montespertoli)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Il Molino del Ponte(Montespertoli)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Castello di Fezzana(Montespertoli)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villa Casa Di Monte(Montespertoli)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica(San Casciano in Val di Pesa)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tenuta Moriano(Montespertoli)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Agriturismo Bruscola(San Casciano in Val di Pesa)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (231)
Filter reviews
231 results
Traveler rating
99
84
24
17
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
99
84
24
17
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssmall kitchencastle groundscinque terresmall townamazing viewswashing machinefive nightshour drivetwo couplesgreat experiencecastle restaurantset menuwhole experiencebedroom apartmentreception hallsurrounding townspackage deal
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
183 - 188 of 231 reviews
Reviewed June 22, 2008

An old castle, transformed over the centuries with authentic features set in the nicest landscape, surrounded by a well kept, enchanting big italian garden - what more to be expected?
We can see an old house needs constant care because we have a big old house -not as big and as old as Montegufoni, but still old and big, and so we can appreciate the constant work that has to be done.
Our rooms , called giardino,consisted of a smaller frescoed room with kitchen and two french windows facing a beautiful parterre, a big livingroom with high (6 m) vaulted ceiling painted in dreary brown and many nails in the walls where paintings hung giving the room an even drearier look and mostly shabby illmatching secondhand furniture; there are no windows and the electric lighting so poor it was not possible to read. We never stayed there. The bedroom was vaulted high and dreary too but had a window high up that allowed a little light and air. Furniture was the same as before and didn´t seem too tidy. We removed the dirty carpet and shoved it under the bed. Bathroom was a former walk-in closet transformed with outdated fittings, dripping tips and smelling when we arrived, reached through the entrance-cum-kitchen. There is no hairdryer because the electric fittings wouldn´t allow we were told. When taking a shower the whole bathroom is wet. My wife wanted to leave immediately, but we stayed five nights.
In general all needs a general overhaul. The place needs it and earns it.
Let the owner speak for himself, cited from a book sold at the reception: The former owners, the famous Sitwell family restored the castle in the 1920s ... when it was transformed to a b&b little in the 1970s had to be added, just a few bathrooms. From the homepage you can detect that the owner rents a lot of flats all over tuscany and Montegufoni is his flagship (and cashcow). Don´t forget a cow is to be fed...
In general the great gardens and the building are nice when you are looking at it as a museum and a background; to stay there are better places like the well maintained and nearby villa il Poggiale in San Casciano (hotel) and villa Vistarenni (b&b) near Radda. They offer better overall quality for the same price.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank serendipityBayreuth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2008

We stayed 7 nights at this Castle in April and loved every minute of it. Wonderfully restored and kept it had a great atmosphere. We heard that some of the apartments can be dark so if you want a brighter one ours, number 23 was one of those with morning and afternoon sun. The pool was immaculate and the whole place felt like a picture postcard.

The rooms are not luxurious but the fittings are comforatble and above average with good cooking facilities and supermarkets close by. The bus to Florence (only about 17km away) stops right outside the main gate which was really handy and only a couple of euro each. We taxied home one night from Florence for 40euro. The bar on site offers coffee, alcoholic and non alcoholic drinks, (3 euro for 2 beers) and snacks including pizza from 1200 t0 7pm each day and the restaurant opens at 8 and offers limited but nice tuscan set price evening meals, very cheap, every night except Wednesday . There are local restaurants within easy reach as well.

Couldn't think of a better place to stay.

  • Stayed: April 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank JaPhillipa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2008

My husband and I and another couple just returned from a great Italian vacation. We spent 6 nights at Castello di Montegufoni. It was wonderful. We stayed in La Grotta, a two bedroom, two bath villa. The apartment is huge, the rooms very nice with beautiful frescos. La Grotta is perfect for two couples. The castle itself is amazing, Letizia and Elena, who work in reservations were very helpful. Two of us took a cooking class at Montegufoni. I believe this was one of the first classes that they offered. It was a bit pricey - 90 euro for a 3-4 hour class, but it was well worth it. Rosara, who works at the restaurant, translated while Giuseppe, a Tuscan chef, cooked and taught us how to make a half dozen dishes. It was excellent! We dined at the restaurant two nights, both times the food was wonderful. We also ate at a local restaurant (Il Focalore), it was also very good.

We visited Volterra, Siena, Florence, San Gimignano, and a couple of small Chianti towns during our stay. If you are looking for a centrally located place to stay while seeing Tuscany, Castello di Montegufoni is the place for you!

Stayed: April 2008
6  Thank VATravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2008

We stayed in an apartment on the first floor overlooking beautiful gardens and stunnining Tuscan views. The rooms were huge for European standards.

NO television or technology for five days with teenage kids(both16), what a thought! It proved to be the best part of a four week tour of Europe. The castle was an excellent place to explore all of the wonderful places in central Italy: including Florence, Siena, Pisa and countless other little townships.

The staff were also very friendly and helpful.
We will certainly return.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank gazzadav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2008

Castello di Montegufoni is a splendid piece of paradise in mystical, breath-taking Tuscany!! We stayed here for one week with a large group of friends, each one of us loved it! We visited Italy for 2 weeks and truthfully, one week at this castle is not enough. We unfortunately were there when the weather was a bit cool, but the warm atmosphere emitting from the view made up the difference.
The Posarelli family went out of their way to accomodate 28 Americans from dining suggestions to assisting us with directions to the grocery store and train station. I can not say enough about how wonderful they are.
We rented a beautiful apartment that had windows on two levels that greeted us each morning that I did not want to leave. This would be a great place for a wedding or just a relaxing get away. We had several children in our group who also loved it. I think most of it was just time to get away from the craziness of Florence and Venice! The towns that are near the castle are such quaint and have great charm if you want to go for a stroll through nature's beauty. If you want the busy, fast paced kind of life you are not far from Florence.
If you are considering staying somewhere you are considered family, then Castello di Montegufoni is the place for you. As a matter of fact, my husband and I are planning to go back to celebrate his retirement in a few years. You will love everything about it and will have no regrets!
Happy travels!

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ginrn1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews