We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rustic, yet charming” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Castello di Montegufoni

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Castello di Montegufoni
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Montegufoni
Certificate of Excellence
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Rustic, yet charming”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2014

If you're looking for the Ritz Carlton, this isn't it. It's a historical castle. The rooms are more rustic than luxurious. Nevertheless, the castle and the grounds are breathtakingly beautiful. It needs to be bought out by a high end boutique hotel chain and refurbished....there's a great deal of old crap that needs to just be thrown out. Hopefully someone with a discerning eye will be able to pull out and restore the furniture and furnishings that are worth keeping. New high quality linens and towels would also greatly improve the experience. Maid service is only once a week. There is no room service. The restaurant on the property was disappointing. However, we booked as part of a package that included a weekly stay and overall, I believe that it was a good value.

Room Tip: Every room is different. Go on the website before you book...there are photos of the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Vivianne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    74
    22
    16
    6
See reviews for
56
81
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mount Pleasant, South Carolina
Level Contributor
173 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2014

The castle and the grounds and the surrounding country side is very beautiful. We stayed in one of the apartments on the grounds and the hot water tank was too small and not working right. But most places to stay in Italy are somewhat quirky. Lots of history in the area. Amazing views of the country side. Do research before you go on the area and how to get around. Great restaurant within walking distance. Extremely friendly local people!!! Very easy trip into Florence. A great place for a single couple, or several couples. We cannot wait to return

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KZ214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014

The grounds, the family, staff and the service for a destination wedding was incredible. The castle has amazing features to offer. We hosted a 4 day destination wedding celebration where the 120 guests stayed in all areas of the castle and villas and I couldn't have been any happier as a bride. The castle helped as wedding planner and hosted fabulous evenings with food that was a perfect display of Tuscan cuisine. All apartments and rooms are different and some relatively old but our guests knew this would be an adventure and all appreciated the history and passion around the estate. Come with an open mind and know that being in Tuscany is all about great views, great wine, many cappucinos and simple Italian cuisine and your stay will be perfect.

A truly gorgeous setting with many surprises!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank HoweCE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2014

We stayed at one of the apartments of castello di Montegufoni for a week with a group of nine (three kids, four adults). The location is almost perfect. Clean, nice surroundings, very well renovated apartments. It is possible to eat at the castle, but wear long sleeves and pants (bugs). The bugs are also hard to keep out of the apartments so there is the first possibility for improvement: mosquito nets for the windows.

The swimming pool is great and beautifully located. The surroundings offer many attractions; wineries, villages, restaurants (cycling of you are in to that) and Florence is very close.

Because the weather was nice, we were outside a lot. A second possibility for improvement is the outside area, it offers little privacy and is not huge. Staff is very professional, but could radiate a bit more warmth and hospitality.

We had a great time and would recommend the castle.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jean-Paul v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chula Vista
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

The wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay in the Castle of Montegufoni during April 2013. Sunny or only partly cloudy every day of seven, we loved our accommodations, the services, and slow walks about the historic castle and grounds. Our spacious apartment on the west side under the roof was cool but dry with a fully functioning kitchen, dining area, living room, bedroom and bathroom. We would cook breakfast or lunch in our room and enjoyed great dinners in the castle with our host. Using a Fiat rental with GPS, a must, we took day trips to Pisa, Florence, Siena and Tuscany hill towns. One of our favorite stops was to a neighboring castle, we could see from our room to the North-west, the San Michele A Torri. Here we enjoyed a tour of their organic winery and enjoyed wine tasting and a lunch snack and picked up awesome bottles of their Laudemio, Vinsanto, and Chianti Classico. We’ll be back!

Room Tip: We used GroupOn and were greatly appreciative of the savings. Check out the castle website and revi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank PatValind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
154 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013

Enjoy the beauty of Tuscany in an authentic castle. Similar to comments made by other travelers, this is not a hotel with all the perks, but is a wonderful trip back in time. The castle is spacious, historic and provides a real feel for Tuscany. It is hard to find so a GPS is a must, but once there the staff is helpful and courteous. Stefania and Valentina are wonderful and accommodating. We were able to see the Galleria with its beautiful frescoes and climb the tower for breathtaking views of the surrounding Tuscan hills.

Many of the apartments in the castle offer large kitchen/dining areas. The kitchens are equipped with a coffee percolator, few pans, small refrigerator. Plan to bring any food you might need, including salt and pepper,etc. There is a coop grocery store in Montespertoli. If arriving late in the day, it is a good idea to bring coffee and a few breakfast bars for your first morning. You will also need dish soap, paper products and toiletries just as if you are renting an apartment. One set of towels is provided per person, but this does not include a small wash cloth. Two rolls of toilet per bath room are also provided. You do need a plug adaptor and check to make sure any electric appliance can handle the 220 volts.

The restaurant on site has an outdoor covered patio and indoor dining room. The food is average and the four course meal about 25 euros pp. you can split the meal, but Salvatore, the waiter, may not appreciate it and is not the most friendly waiter. One highlight for us was the celebration of the new olive oil tasting and dinner in the formal castle dining room....

There are a few surrounding restaurants in nearby villages. Our favorite spot is in Montespertoli about 6km from the castle. It is located in the centro and offers a huge calzone! There is also a restaurant in Bacciani called Focolare but our meal there was just average.

We were able to do several day trips from the castle. Assisi is about 2 1/2 hours, San Gimingnano about an hour, Siena @ an hour and the Chianti region also an hour. We stopped in Montepulciano on our way in from Rome and went to Orvieto on our way back to Rome. Two wineries stand out: Brolio and de Ricci. Radda is a lovely village for lunch in the Chianti region. San Cassciano is a nearby village...plan your travel itinerary before you go to take advantage of Tuscany and the many villages.

The November timeframe was great as crowds were small and the weather in the low 60s with some rain. The trip was booked through Great Valu Vacations which included a manual car and airfare to and from Rome. We upgraded to an intermediate size manual car, just large enough for four people with 4 bags of carry on size luggage and a few extra small bags. The apartment provided is random but you can make a request for two bathrooms. Be sure to look at the castle website to view the rooms...

Tuscany is beautiful and Castello di Montegufoni a rare find!

Room Tip: View the website for apartment selection. If traveling on own, select a room in the castle. The G...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
13 Thank macnmiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2013 via mobile

We stayed during the third week of November in a 3 bedroom apartment for 2 couples on the grounds. At first we were disappointed that we weren't in the castle, but the extra space and 2 bathrooms kept us from asking for a castle apt instead. We loved it! Stepping outside our ground floor apt in the morning and taking 3 steps off our roofed patio and being treated to the most breathtaking view imaginable will always be my favorite memory from this trip. The apt felt like an "old Italy" farmhouse, with old and somewhat battered but quaint furniture. We expected this as I had spent a lot of time on Trip Advisor and the castle website before we booked. Remember that it's not a hotel, you are renting a furnished apt. We loved cooking evening meals at home since it got dark by 5:30pm, eating substantial lunches during the day in bigger towns and cities. Get up early to take advantage of the daylight in the winter.

The package for 4 from Great Value Vacations made this dream trip affordable, and we spent most of the trip driving through rural Tuscany to San Gimagnano and Volterra, and to Florence on two days. By all means print Google maps and directions to the sights you want to see before you leave the States or you will drive for hours following the street directional signs and never reach your destination, as this is very rural Tuscany, and not close to any highways. We enjoyed the adventure the first day, but used our maps after that to avoid frustration.

The castle itself is gorgeous, and the grounds and the grotto were a special treat. The restaurant was ok for a meal the first night, but you'll find much better food for less money in the larger towns. We did meet some lovely folks staying there at the restaurant, though, and that made it fun.

Overall, just do it! You'll be glad you had this beautiful "real Tuscany" experience rather than staying in another big city-they all look the same after lots of travel.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank kettsrebellion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montegufoni
3.1 mi away
Hotel Villa La Cappella
Hotel Villa La Cappella
#1 of 8 in Montespertoli
4.5 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
10.7 mi away
Castello Vicchiomaggio
Castello Vicchiomaggio
#3 of 19 in Greve in Chianti
4.5 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
1.0 mi away
Il Molino del Ponte
Il Molino del Ponte
#2 of 8 in Montespertoli
4.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Castello del Nero Hotel & Spa
Castello del Nero Hotel & Spa
#1 of 4 in Tavarnelle Val di Pesa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
3.7 mi away
Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica
Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica
#1 of 5 in San Casciano in Val di Pesa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 712 reviews
22.2 mi away
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive ...
#1 of 8 in Gaiole in Chianti
5.0 of 5 bubbles 618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castello di Montegufoni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castello di Montegufoni

Property: Castello di Montegufoni
Address: Via Montegufoni, 18 | Montagnana, Montegufoni, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Montegufoni
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Montegufoni
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Castello di Montegufoni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castello Di Montegufoni Hotel Montegufoni
Castello Di Montegufoni Florence
Castello Di Montegufoni Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing