We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A special place for our family”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Castello di Montegufoni
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Montegufoni
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Amazing castle - perfect for sparking children's imaginations. The hidden corners, corridors, tower, stairs, grotto, ruins, and grounds, were great for exploring with our two daughters. Antiques including coats of armour dotted the castle, bringing history to life. My husband also stayed here as a child and it has always remained a special place for him.
We travelled with grandma and stayed in a large apartment right beside the castle gates. It had 4 double bedrooms, 2 bathrooms and was very spacious and comfortable. Great location, too - we could drive to central Florence in under 20 minutes or be at the beach in around an hour. We will be back!

Room Tip: The apartments outside of the castle are better suited to travellers with mobility challenges as the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KiwiBelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (226)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

127 - 133 of 226 reviews

Reviewed October 9, 2012

What a beautiful place! We spent 2 nights here for a wedding and it really was spectacular. The grounds are huge, the secret grotto incredible and the pool large (although very cold)! We had an apartment with an enormous kitchen/dining area a view of the grounds and room for 6 people. The people running Castello di Montegufoni are incredibly helpful, we found out that there was a locked room of hidden frescos in our apartment which they were more than happy to show us.
Just down the hill from the castle is a little village with a food store so close enough to be able to stock up and self-cater!
A really fabulous place - totally recommend it!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WimbledonWanderers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

I have been here before and it is even better this time. The rooms are amazing espoecially Grotta and Monte 7 with its Venetian chandelier. The reception staff is excellent and very helpful. The owner is ofter around to talk with.

Room Tip: Monte 7 Monte 29 La Grotta La Capella Il Cardinale are incredible rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ETHKino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Our family of 4 including two teenagers (age 13 and 15) stayed in the Il Segretario Apartment at the Castello di Montegufoni for 7 nights. The apartment was huge with master bedroom with queen bed and a bedroom for our kids with twin beds. There was also a dining/living room, a good-sized kitchen and bath with large (old) bathtub. We had a large terrace on one side and a view into the courtyard on the other. It felt very antique since it was a 14th century castle. Unfortunately, there is no air conditioning so we had to leave windows and doors open which was a problem because of the mosquitos. It made sleeping a bit of a challenge. My other complaint is that there is no-where within walking distance to get breakfast. The restuarant at the castle opens at noon most days (I think it's closed on Wednesdays). It would have been nice to be able to get a coffee and croissant at least. The castle is a great location in Tuscany but unless you eat dinner there (which is just average), you need to drive to other restuarants on winding roads at night. We ate at the castle 3 nights because of this. Staff at the castle were great at booking restuarants. The pool is lovely and the grounds are gorgeous so for that experience, it was worthwhile but I think next time we'll stay somewhere with air conditioning and breakfast available. It's about a 30 minute drive to Florence. Taking the bus was just too inconvenient. We did our shopping nearby in Montespertoli, about 10 minutes away, in a nice COOP store. There is a washing machine at the castle but no dryer so we used a laundry horse on our balcony. Again, overall, it was a worthwhile experience but I wish they would just put in air conditioning units.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JulyCanadians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

We have just returned from a week at Montegufoni and all I can think about is how to get back there. The place is so incredibly beautiful. It is the perfect mixture of the ancient and the modern. The view in every direction is nothing short of magnificent. Olive groves and vineyards. - Green and yellow fields. - Castles and Tuscan towns on every hilltop. At Montegufoni we were surrounded by gardens. - Blooming wisteria and oleander.

We had visited Montegufoni before and were enchanted. Ever Since that visit, we dreamed of collecting a group of family and friends for a week in the summer. This year it all came together. We took the Galleria, the largest apartment, and used it as our base. We also took another apartment to accomodate the rest of our group. Each morning I arose early and opened up the apartment to the garden and the rest of the castle. When we were in we invariably left the apartment open to let in the breezes and the neighbors to chat and have a drink. The Galleria is so beautiful, with its frescoed walls and ceilings, that it seemed a shame not to share it.

Using the castello as our home, we drove to Pisa, Cinque Terre, San Gimignano, Siena, Lucca, and other towns. We took the bus to Florence to avoid the hassle of traffic and parking. While all of these places were truly wonderful, none compared to the beauty and comfort of Montegufoni. If asked what his favorite part of our Italian trip was, everyone in our group would surely answer "Montegufoni!"

The food at the castello was simple and good and we also ate at the restaurants in the surrounding villages. On a couple of evenings we ate in at our own dining table. We bought groceries in the little alimentari in Baccaiano (just down the hill), and prepared our meals in our own kitchen. In the evenings we gathered for drinks to discuss the events of the day or to make plans for the next. We sat in the Galleria or on the terrace long into the warm night and enjoyed the breeze.

While we were there two families gathered for a wedding. They filled the castle with sunflowers, roses, and laughter. I cannot imagine a better way to begin married life than a wedding at Montegufoni.

Montegufoni is not an hotel or a bed-and-breakfast. It is a collection of apartments available for vacation rentals. While everything is provided, there is no maid or room service. A visitor to Montegufoni must think of his apartment as his home, not an hotel. The office staff are very helpful and accommodating, but the office keeps limited hours (essentially daytime or regular business hours). The restaurants are open early and close late. The chef prepares simple but delicious Italian meals. The pool is large, clean, and inviting. The estate bottles its own table wine. A cold beer or gin and tonic are never far away. The apartments are quirky and each has its own character. The place is a castle afterall, and we would not have it any other way. The owners, the Posarellis, seem to understand the necessary balance between charm and comfort. To compromise one for the other would ruin the whole.

We will return to Montegufoni, that is sure. When friends ask where we vacation, we tell them that we have a place in Tuscany. - and we do!

Room Tip: While all of the apartments are large, comfortable, and have excellent views, spend a little extra a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

Our stay at Castello Montiguifoni was truly a magical experience. The grounds are beautiful; the pictures posted don't even begin to show the property's beauty!
We were 11 people. My sister's family and ours, 9 of us , stayed in The Galleria apartment, 4 floors and more space than you could imagine. My husband's aunt & uncle stayed in another Castello apartment across from ours.

Everyone at the Castello was accommodating and always very helpful. The food at the restaurant was excellent! We ate there two nights. Also, the
Castello's wine is very nice!

All the sites in Tuscany are close by, but one word of warning, make sure you have an up-dated GPS that works!

This was truly an experience of a life time!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank LizabethRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We found a deal on TravelZoo for this vacation. There were 3 couples on our trip. We had such a great time! The location of this castle was perfect! And it seemed no matter where we went in the region, we always found a road that lead us back to our Castle - we even ended up saying "all roads lead to Montespertoli" as we always made it back using a different route. We ventured out to Siena, Florence, Pisa, on day trips. Then we spent one night in Rome. It was great to have a home base to come back to each day. Two of the couples stayed in one of the units separate from the main castle. We stayed in the castle and wouldn't want it any other way. Our room was GIANT. We had a separate, closed off living room/dining room. We went to the Ipercoop to purchase coffee and other groceries. Made coffee and breakfast at the Castle - which was awesome. One day we even decided to do burgers at the Castle (we needed a relief from the pasta one day). Our unit was Montegufoni 17. The beds of course were not comfortable (a full size bed in Italy often is two twins pushed together and full sized bedding stretched across). But we knew that going into it, so we were fine. The castle grounds are beautiful. Lots of historic art and sculptures. We stayed in March, 2009 and felt like we had the property to ourselves. The only thing about going in the off season is that some of the museums were closed for restorations. However we didn't mind - the trade off was not having to deal with the heat and tourist crowds of the summer. We WILL definitely be going back here.

Room Tip: Stay up stairs in the main castle. Awesome views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thedenneys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montegufoni
3.7 mi away
Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica
Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica
#1 of 5 in San Casciano in Val di Pesa
802 reviews
0.3 mi away
Villa le Calvane
Villa le Calvane
#2 of 9 in Montespertoli
29 reviews
1.8 mi away
Castello di Fezzana
Castello di Fezzana
#7 of 9 in Montespertoli
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Lebbiano Residence
Lebbiano Residence
#2 of 5 in Scandicci
194 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Villa La Cappella
Hotel Villa La Cappella
#1 of 9 in Montespertoli
215 reviews
0.9 mi away
Il Molino del Ponte
Il Molino del Ponte
#3 of 9 in Montespertoli
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castello di Montegufoni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castello di Montegufoni

Address: Via Montegufoni, 18 | Montagnana, Montegufoni, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Montegufoni
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Montegufoni
Price Range: $84 - $173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Castello di Montegufoni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castello Di Montegufoni Hotel Montegufoni
Castello Di Montegufoni Florence
Castello Di Montegufoni Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing