We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dream Vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Castello di Montegufoni
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Montegufoni
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 18, 2012

We have just returned from a week at Montegufoni and all I can think about is how to get back there. The place is so incredibly beautiful. It is the perfect mixture of the ancient and the modern. The view in every direction is nothing short of magnificent. Olive groves and vineyards. - Green and yellow fields. - Castles and Tuscan towns on every hilltop. At Montegufoni we were surrounded by gardens. - Blooming wisteria and oleander.

We had visited Montegufoni before and were enchanted. Ever Since that visit, we dreamed of collecting a group of family and friends for a week in the summer. This year it all came together. We took the Galleria, the largest apartment, and used it as our base. We also took another apartment to accomodate the rest of our group. Each morning I arose early and opened up the apartment to the garden and the rest of the castle. When we were in we invariably left the apartment open to let in the breezes and the neighbors to chat and have a drink. The Galleria is so beautiful, with its frescoed walls and ceilings, that it seemed a shame not to share it.

Using the castello as our home, we drove to Pisa, Cinque Terre, San Gimignano, Siena, Lucca, and other towns. We took the bus to Florence to avoid the hassle of traffic and parking. While all of these places were truly wonderful, none compared to the beauty and comfort of Montegufoni. If asked what his favorite part of our Italian trip was, everyone in our group would surely answer "Montegufoni!"

The food at the castello was simple and good and we also ate at the restaurants in the surrounding villages. On a couple of evenings we ate in at our own dining table. We bought groceries in the little alimentari in Baccaiano (just down the hill), and prepared our meals in our own kitchen. In the evenings we gathered for drinks to discuss the events of the day or to make plans for the next. We sat in the Galleria or on the terrace long into the warm night and enjoyed the breeze.

While we were there two families gathered for a wedding. They filled the castle with sunflowers, roses, and laughter. I cannot imagine a better way to begin married life than a wedding at Montegufoni.

Montegufoni is not an hotel or a bed-and-breakfast. It is a collection of apartments available for vacation rentals. While everything is provided, there is no maid or room service. A visitor to Montegufoni must think of his apartment as his home, not an hotel. The office staff are very helpful and accommodating, but the office keeps limited hours (essentially daytime or regular business hours). The restaurants are open early and close late. The chef prepares simple but delicious Italian meals. The pool is large, clean, and inviting. The estate bottles its own table wine. A cold beer or gin and tonic are never far away. The apartments are quirky and each has its own character. The place is a castle afterall, and we would not have it any other way. The owners, the Posarellis, seem to understand the necessary balance between charm and comfort. To compromise one for the other would ruin the whole.

We will return to Montegufoni, that is sure. When friends ask where we vacation, we tell them that we have a place in Tuscany. - and we do!

Room Tip: While all of the apartments are large, comfortable, and have excellent views, spend a little extra a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (227)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

132 - 138 of 227 reviews

Reviewed July 12, 2012

Our stay at Castello Montiguifoni was truly a magical experience. The grounds are beautiful; the pictures posted don't even begin to show the property's beauty!
We were 11 people. My sister's family and ours, 9 of us , stayed in The Galleria apartment, 4 floors and more space than you could imagine. My husband's aunt & uncle stayed in another Castello apartment across from ours.

Everyone at the Castello was accommodating and always very helpful. The food at the restaurant was excellent! We ate there two nights. Also, the
Castello's wine is very nice!

All the sites in Tuscany are close by, but one word of warning, make sure you have an up-dated GPS that works!

This was truly an experience of a life time!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank LizabethRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We found a deal on TravelZoo for this vacation. There were 3 couples on our trip. We had such a great time! The location of this castle was perfect! And it seemed no matter where we went in the region, we always found a road that lead us back to our Castle - we even ended up saying "all roads lead to Montespertoli" as we always made it back using a different route. We ventured out to Siena, Florence, Pisa, on day trips. Then we spent one night in Rome. It was great to have a home base to come back to each day. Two of the couples stayed in one of the units separate from the main castle. We stayed in the castle and wouldn't want it any other way. Our room was GIANT. We had a separate, closed off living room/dining room. We went to the Ipercoop to purchase coffee and other groceries. Made coffee and breakfast at the Castle - which was awesome. One day we even decided to do burgers at the Castle (we needed a relief from the pasta one day). Our unit was Montegufoni 17. The beds of course were not comfortable (a full size bed in Italy often is two twins pushed together and full sized bedding stretched across). But we knew that going into it, so we were fine. The castle grounds are beautiful. Lots of historic art and sculptures. We stayed in March, 2009 and felt like we had the property to ourselves. The only thing about going in the off season is that some of the museums were closed for restorations. However we didn't mind - the trade off was not having to deal with the heat and tourist crowds of the summer. We WILL definitely be going back here.

Room Tip: Stay up stairs in the main castle. Awesome views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thedenneys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2012

Did an Easter week 10 day Tuscan/Rome package through Sceptre tours for myself and my 13 yo daughter. I was on a budget, so I knew it wouldn't be the Four Seasons, but after reading the reviews I was a bit skeptical but open minded.

We rented a car from Florence and drove out, (our GPS was a life saver & worth every penny!!!), took about 25 minutes, easy drive (once out of the city) and easy to find.

Upon arrival finding the office was a bit of a challenge (its up the gravel trail driveway/walkway, inside the double doors, into the courtyard, through the double doors on the far left, into the large entrance, then first door on the right, whew!). We eventually found it, the girl (Stefania) was very sweet, check in was easy and basic. We were the one of two parties staying that week. We were given the Il Monte Apartment... very nice, two twin beds.

Here is the bottom line:

Pros:

1) Location, quiet, beautiful with breathtaking views. Great location to see surrounding towns and sights, nothing more than 30-45 minutes... Pisa & Livorno were breathtaking.

2) Spotless clean. People mentioned hard beds, I disagree, the beds were firm, but not uncomfortable & very clean. No issues whatsoever. Bedding simple. This is a privately owned European hotel, not the Marriott.

3) Simple Kitchen in apartment, great but you must bring all your own food & condiments. There is a Coop in Florence which has everything, shop BEFORE you leave Florence. I understand there is a coop nearby, but couldn't find it. Also, shopping/shops is difficult as everything closes for afternoon siesta... including the office, so make sure you let them know when you are arriving and be on time.

4) Gorgeous gardens & pool (we didn't use it in April) but it looked beautiful & well kept.

Overall it was a lovely place to stay for six nights, but we did have some cons...

Cons:
1) Siesta. A giant pain in the butt if you need something from the staff or in town (ie: toilet paper, which yes, they do keep in the office, be aware or food).

2) No one (that I saw) stays on premises at night, kind of creepy when you are a single mom with 13 yo daughter and are the only ones on the "big giant dark castle in the middle of nowhere at night" off season. However, I experienced no issues (thank G-d), very safe area. But slightly creepy nonetheless...

3) Pay phone in courtyard wasn't working... see above comment as to why this is so horribly wrong.

4) Dead quiet. Great if you're into that, not so great if you're from NYC. Brought my kindle fire and cranked the white noise app all night long. Slept like a baby... btw I did pack 2 little blankeys for me and my girl, but I'm a freak about my sleep. I was glad I had my home comforts, but they had plenty of blankets. April was comfortable, slightly cool, but we wore our hoodies & socks. You're not walking around in your underwear in a castle. Period.

5) Yes, giant heavy key. Pretty cool anyway, and you def wont lose it. Kept it in my car when not using it, as it weighed like 30 pounds. I've posted a pic for proof.

6) Wifi only in the lobby area... pretty normal though, it was fine.

7) HOT WATER. There is limited hot water. Shower quickly & use sense. If there are 4 of you... let 2 shower the night before or something. Don't take forever, leave some hot water for then next guy.

8) Our apartment had no coffee maker. Yuck.

9) The bar/cafe/restaurant was NEVER open. Never. Never. Meaning no coffee, ever. This is a terrible thing. I'm hoping it was because it was off season. I don't know. The gas station heading out of town (toward Pisa) has awesome coffee.

10) There is no maid service... this isn't a problem for me, but don't expect someone to clean up after you, make your bed, dump your trash, etc. Consider this a vacation apartment rental.

I wanna say that the staff was very sweet and accommodating. Some of the ways the small business was run left it a little inconvenient at times, but this is not a big city hotel, so some understanding, cultural patience and good natured-ness will go a long way to help you enjoy your trip. At one point I needed to throw something in the dumpster and the staff manager caught us and was kind enough to give my daughter and I a full tour of the castle, incuding the bell tower... it is amazing. His kindness went above and beyond and made our trip all the more exciting. the people are great, just be flexible to change and open to cultural differences and you will enjoy this most beautiful castle.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank sarahlovesitaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2012

We too were a bit put off by the many negative reviews we read here before deciding to book our tour of Tuscany, staying a week in the Castle Montegufoni. In early Oct. 2011, there were still a few mosquitoes, despite very cool nights and the room heat being turned off. The staff, while friendly and helpful, does operate on banker's hours, the maid service is minimal, and the restaurant is accommodating -- you just have to ask to have fewer courses than the €25 menu. In fact, pizza is one of their best selections, reasonably priced, and is available even when not on the menu. The views from the castle are indeed magnificent. Our room (The Mexican suite -- funny joke-on-us, who traveled from New Mexico and were hoping for something perhaps more ... "Tuscan") was high in the rafters, up many stairs, while other members of our group were assigned the beautifully mural-ed suites with private gardens -- better luck next time, we hope. Location is ideal for day trips to Tuscan hill towns. Truly a lifetime-memory trip!

Room Tip: The ground floor rooms are gorgeous. Request an apartment with fewest stairs to climb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lola505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2012

Ourson was married here - and it was beautiful, especially at night when the site was candlelit and magical. We then stayed on as a large family group in one of the dependances. This was spacious and comfortable, the hotel bar and restaurant were very reasonably priced but we often chose to cook and then eat al fresco.
If you choose to come here, bring a full range of insect repellants. If you plan to self cater stock up at the big supermarket at Montelupo and save yourself a lot of money. The hotel is a great base for touring Tuscany with friendly helpful staff and yes, rather faded elegance. Better that than a souless modern monstrosity. Despite the flying pests, we'd come again like a shot.

Room Tip: Choose a dependance if you are self catering. Ask for the one with its own rose garden. For shorte...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ann K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2012

Staying in the Castello was a wonderful and very different experience. If you love old buildings with a sense of history and romance then this self catering apartment hotel is for you. We stayed there to celebrate a magical family wedding and spent two nights in an apartment inside the castle and the next five nights in a cottage 40 yards from the main gate, where there is a cluster of self-catering apartments and houses, all with their own particular character. The atmosphere is very laid back and the staff are helpful and friendly and speak very good English, if like me your Italian is non-existent. The Castello is set in lovely peaceful grounds with a small secluded swimming pool and relaxing area. There are magnificent views in all directions over the rolling tuscan hills and vineyards. There is a restaurant that serves a set evening 4 course meal for 25 Euros if you don't feel like cooking yourself. Although the Castello is only 30 mins drive from Florence I would recommend that you hire a car if you want to explore the area.

Room Tip: The Castello is ancient and full of twisty staircases and no lifts. Therefore if you have difficulty...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Footlooseatlast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montegufoni
3.7 mi away
Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica
Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica
#1 of 5 in San Casciano in Val di Pesa
818 reviews
4.9 mi away
Lebbiano Residence
Lebbiano Residence
#2 of 5 in Scandicci
196 reviews
4.8 mi away
Villa Saulina
Villa Saulina
#2 of 3 in Lastra a Signa
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Hotel Villa La Cappella
Hotel Villa La Cappella
#1 of 9 in Montespertoli
215 reviews
7.3 mi away
Podere Benintendi
Podere Benintendi
#2 of 5 in Certaldo
101 reviews
0.9 mi away
Il Molino del Ponte
Il Molino del Ponte
#3 of 9 in Montespertoli
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castello di Montegufoni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castello di Montegufoni

Address: Via Montegufoni, 18, Montegufoni, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Montegufoni
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Montegufoni
Price Range: $93 - $212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
geo confirmed as Montegufoni ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Castello di Montegufoni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castello Di Montegufoni Hotel Montegufoni
Castello Di Montegufoni Florence
Castello Di Montegufoni Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing