We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Misrepresentation”
Review of Howard Creek Ranch

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Westport
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Howard Creek Ranch
Ranked #2 of 3 Westport B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 21, 2013

Rare vacation for my wife and I without the kids. Found Howard Creek Ranch on internet, pictures looked beautiful and chose the Beach house (noting from pictures how close it was to the beach, including jacuzzi, king bed, etc.). Even changed weekends due to availability. Compared to photo's, the beach house was VERY small, tiny bathroom, outdated, stained rug in a shallow day loft (like climbing into a small boat cabin bed area), no promised internet (only main building) and trust me...you won't go in the jacuzzi. It's actually an original converted tow behind trailer. The internet interior Beachhouse pic VERY deceiving as to the actual smaller size. The website said "view from the beachhouse", that pic had to be taken with a 300mm plus lens from the beachhouse which was back from that spot hundreds of feet. Good luck seeing or hearing waves that far back under the highway overpass. The Home page picture with the white picket fence and well maintained white buildings don't exist....the real view is dramatical different. The ranch house area has overgrown vegetation and not sure when anything was last painted (due credit to the flower beds round the mainhouse). ONLY positive note..the caretaker lady Teresa..was very nice and polite. This place is overpriced. We left shortly after arriving and drove in the rain, in the dark 19 miles down the winding coast to a true romantic location. When your on a romantic adventure, you don't like being told you'll promptly sitdown for breakfast with all, promptly at 9:00am...period. Had the price fairly matched the accomodations, internet photo's better reflected reality, and was in a woodstock mood (which my wife and I do appreciate...having a cabin up the road from Woodstock NY!) we would've otherwise appreciated Sonny's experiment.

Room Tip: All the rooms were aged but quite unique with a communal feel.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Craig R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (173)
There are newer reviews for Howard Creek Ranch
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 173 reviews

Reviewed November 7, 2013

Howard Ranch is a very different kind of bed and breakfast in the Fort Bragg, Mendocino area. It is an old ranch house and barn turned into one of a kind rooms each with a different name and decor. There is even a ships hull that has been converted into a suite. Breakfast was boarding house style and very hearty and delicious. I enjoyed sitting in front of the open hearth fire place each morning waiting to be called to the table. Howard Ranch is just a short walk from the coast and a short drive from Ft Bragg and Mendocino. The Barn suites are by private libraries and common areas filled with an assortment of antiques. You could spend a day just roaming the grounds. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and plan to return again

Room Tip: Check out the room with the Plexiglas ceiling
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniel E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

After a hectic family wedding in southern CA, hubs and I needed to unwind. We inherited a relative's car over the weekend, and decided to drive back to WA, rather than ship the car. What a stroke of luck, as we would have otherwise never found this place. It consists of an original farmhouse, a large carriage house (aka "barn") and several outbuildings, all of which have been refurbished or built up to accommodate guests. The barn was originally a cavernous pole barn with dirt floors; over the past, what, 30 years? the owners, Sonny and Sally, have installed 3 solid floors to include guest rooms, seating areas, and a hot tub. All rooms are individualized and very eclectic. Ours was the Redwood Suite, which consisted of a downstairs, with a woodstove, couches, a dining table, and small kitchenette with fridge, micro, coffee, plates, silverware, etc. Upper floor had the king sized bed (very comfy) with skylights and windows looking out over the ocean.

This is not a place for the always-connected crowd. Turn your cell phone off, and forget about the television.

It IS a place with a sort of crazy, mixed-up, not-quite-random, design that will make you feel like a kid again. Seriously. You will want to play hide and seek here. It IS a place with a quick walk to the beach over mysterious bridges and overgrown pathways. It IS a place with a suspension bridge, nooks and crannies, and gorgeous, hand-hewn woodwork in nearly every room, and grannie's worn but well-loved Victorian furniture.

It IS a place that will stay in your memory forever. Of the three other couples at our breakfast table, two couples were on their fourth and fifth stays.

Room Tip: Rooms in the farmhouse are more authentic, while rooms in the carriage house are more eclectic.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yelm100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Perhaps this place could be called "quaint". If you are looking for a four-star plush place, this is not it. If you like nature and animals, this may be your place. When we arrived in the evening after eating dinner in Fort Bragg, we decided to take a walk to the beach. A little gray kitty saw us and decided to join us. He climbed on the rocks and explored while we walked around. Same thing in the morning. We headed for the beach, and here comes kitty to join us. He enjoyed us and we enjoyed having him with us. Very relaxing place and very good and filling breakfast.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Willow Room. It has two beds in two separate areas if that is what you need, and i...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank watsup1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

I looked at this place on line and decided to call for a reservation. When I told the woman that we were a young family with three small children (ages 5 and 6) she told me that they would not be able to accommodate us. Even though the children are small and we were willing to throw sleeping bags on the floor of the largest room they had available, she was very curt and said that they could not accommodate us! This is not a family friendly place! It was very disappointing because it looked like a really neat place to stay!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
5  Thank Melissa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We just stayed here over Labor Day weekend in the Boat House. It is a rustic and small place but so charming!! A place to unwind and become relaxed. I usually have my phone attached to my hip but here I didn't even care to talk on it. The roaring fire put my husband and I to sleep both nights-we slept like babies.
We walked the beach and took pictures of beautiful starfish and loved the suspension bridge!
This place is a relaxing adventure!!!
We loved it!!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AngelaOglesby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

This was not my cup of tea. It is falling apart, and hasn't been redecorated in years. There is no wifi, or mobile phone reception. The is only one place to eat lunch or dinner within a 30 min drive. Our room was very dark with no natural light. We staid in the carriage house. Our room also had drainage issues.
I think the room was reasonably clean, but it is hard to tell because it was so dark and filled with tat.
On the plus side, the other guests were interesting. The breakfast was generous though not gourmet. And the upstairs common lounge in the carriage house was like something out of a movie. A wild place, stuffed with toys and interesting objects.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank London_mum_to2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Westport
14.9 mi away
Ocean View Lodge
Ocean View Lodge
#1 of 23 in Fort Bragg
441 reviews
15.1 mi away
The Beachcomber Motel and Spa on the Beach
17.2 mi away
North Cliff Hotel
North Cliff Hotel
#4 of 23 in Fort Bragg
623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.4 mi away
Beach House Inn
Beach House Inn
#11 of 23 in Fort Bragg
218 reviews
18.1 mi away
Shoreline Cottages
Shoreline Cottages
#3 of 23 in Fort Bragg
488 reviews
17.6 mi away
Emerald Dolphin Inn
Emerald Dolphin Inn
#7 of 23 in Fort Bragg
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Creek Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Creek Ranch

Address: 40501 N Highway 1, PO. Box 121, Westport, CA 95488-8732
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Westport
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Westport
Price Range: $90 - $198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Registered Historic ocean front farm on 60 acres settled in 1867, bordered by miles of beach and mountains in a wilderness area. Award winning flower gardens, antiques, a 75 foot swinging foot bridge over Howard Creek, cabins, comfortable beds, hot tub, nearby horseback riding, full ranch breakfast. A work in progress. "One of the most romantic places to stay on the planet" S.F. Chronicle. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Howard Creek Ranch Hotel Westport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing