We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Right next to the ocean”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Westport
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Westport Beach / N Mendocino Coast KOA
Vacaville, California
Level Contributor
103 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Right next to the ocean”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

This was our first trip to this campground. It used to be a KOA but now has private owners. We took our 32 Vista to the campgrounds. The office and store were quite small. The store had food and fishing items in it. Our reservation was in the system and check-in was easy.

Our camp site was towards the ocean and I had to make a left turn. There was a Westport beach truck parked partially blocking the way. There were several employees in the area. However, none decided to move the truck. I have to make a three point turn to make the corner.

Our camp site had full hook ups with 50amp service. The restrooms were clean. The showers appeared to be clean but were pay showers.

I noticed the laundry facility was on top of the hill near the entrance which would have been quite a walk if we had to do laundry.

The best part of this campground is that you can walk to the beach in a minute (literally). The beach is nice and wide with a stream feeding into the ocean. Our kids and dog loved it. We spent several nice days on the beach enjoying the sunshine and building sand castles.

the campgrounds itself seems a bit expensive but meets all the basic needs of a camper. They advertise free WiFi but at the east end of the campground it is bad at best. However, the ocean nearby makes up for a lot.

Room Tip: To be close to the ocean pick spot on the east side of the campgrounds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MakimotoFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    2
    5
    1
    2
See reviews for
10
4
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
86 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

My wife and I were deeply disappointed by this campground. When we made our reservations this place was a KOA. When we arrived it was no longer a KOA and certainly did not meet KOA standards. The rates had gone up and the KOA Value Kard discount we had been promised was not honored. In addition, we were treated coldly as though we were not wanted there.

As though that was not enough, the campground was not at all as advertised. Our site was small and very hard to get into. Campers were packed into the campground like sardines. I could have tolerated this, but I could not tolerate the terrible state of the bathrooms and showers. We stayed two of the three nights we paid for but left in search of a place with decent showers and restrooms.

This could be a great campground with some upgrades and a lot of basic maintenance. Instead it has been allowed to decay to the point that no one should want to stay there

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Westport hotels

Chico, California
1 review
Reviewed August 7, 2013

My new wife and I wanted to have a beach wedding, but without any undue expense related to renting a venue. So, we reserved a group campsite at Westport. Our plan was to stake out a piece of sandy beach in the morning, celebrate until quiet time, and get everyone back on the road the following day. Thanks to the Westport staff, the entire event went off without a single backfire. The children were entertained on the playground, our "athletic" friends enjoyed the volleyball court, a few buddies who don't mind cold water went after abalone in the morning, and the scenery was spectacular. The staff was extremely accommodating: we realized we hadn't brought a rake with us so we asked the front desk if we could borrow one. Within minutes, the maintenance chief showed up with 6 types of rakes at our campsite, and asked if he could give us a lift in his little 6x6 vehicle onto the beach, as we had a number of chairs and other items to haul out to the shoreline. Later, I saw him and asked if he needed his rakes back. His reply? "Enjoy your day, I'm sure I can get them back tomorrow." The entire weekend was a pleasure and included an Ice Cream social and a Beach Bonfire (regular campground activities, unrelated to our wedding). Restrooms were clean and within a short distance. Additionally, most tent sites had large, mature bushes to act as buffers between one another. We will be back again on a regular basis, especially on our anniversaries.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lchileman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
818 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 272 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

You can camp right on the beach but I would suggest getting a protected site which blocks the wind. The sites are mostly back in with a picnic table, fire ring and 50 amp service. The narrow roads make for a slightly more challenging back in for longer rigs but make a reservation and pick your site to avoid any problems. This RV park is no longer a KOA but the new owners/staff are friendly and helpful. The beach is really nice.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chiefly1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2013

This was one of many stays on a trip down to southern CA with our trailer. We stayed 2 nights here in mid April. We arrived late at this KOA because of car trouble. Be advised coming south on Hwy 1 there are no gas stations for at least 20 something miles and its very remote so be prepared. Anyways after getting in late we found our name misspelled but on the night board and proceeded to our ocean front site. It was not to hard to back into and it was very close to the beach. The next day we checked in with the office and after a billing issue that they graciously took care of we where all checked in and headed for the beach. It was a very short walk to the waters edge and the beach was nice and clean with a nice sandy area for our little one to play.

The only problems we had where the showers where not that nice and I didn't like showering with a spider but not to unexpected when staying by the beach. I guess I would just describe them as beach showers with a roof. The other problems where it was a bit expensive and some of the people that where there on an extended stay/worked there had some of the prime spots that blocked the view of the other people that where just staying for a few days and where paying prime for the ocean sites. The other issue was it was almost 45 mins to town and that was hard for us since we had problems with our stove and needed to eat out. Overall the stay was uneventful and peaceful and we might return but the distance to civilization was kind of inconvenient for us.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WashingtonResident
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2013

The pictures say it all!!! The house has some breath taking views of the ocean, mountains and open area. The interior of the kabin has been recently remodeled and it looks amazing. Large open floor plan with a very large kitchen that also has great views of the ocean.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marilou C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Westport
12.9 mi away
Ocean View Lodge
Ocean View Lodge
#5 of 23 in Fort Bragg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
13.1 mi away
The Beachcomber Motel and Spa on the Beach
16.1 mi away
Shoreline Cottages
Shoreline Cottages
#1 of 23 in Fort Bragg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 mi away
Surf & Sand Lodge
Surf & Sand Lodge
#6 of 23 in Fort Bragg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
15.2 mi away
North Cliff Hotel
North Cliff Hotel
#4 of 23 in Fort Bragg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
13.4 mi away
Beach House Inn
Beach House Inn
#10 of 23 in Fort Bragg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westport Beach / N Mendocino Coast KOA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westport Beach / N Mendocino Coast KOA

Property: Westport Beach / N Mendocino Coast KOA
Address: 37700 N Highway 1, Westport, CA 95488-8701
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Westport
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Westport
Number of rooms: 192

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing