We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Memorable 2day midweek getaway in Westport”
Review of Westport Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Westport
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Westport Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Westport B&B and Inns
El Dorado Hills, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Memorable 2day midweek getaway in Westport”
Reviewed March 29, 2013

My wife and I drove up the coast during spring break in our two seat convertible to stay two nights, a Wednesday and Thursday. We were the only guests; we had the Fo'c'stle Room, #4. I booked this based on reviews for a quality get away. We were not disappointed. Westport is very small but this is a gem. A lot of work and detail went into the restoration of this hotel and restaurant. Loved the location. Beach and a spectacular cliff viewing area across the street. Had it to ourselves. Beautiful room, extremely comfortable beds and linens. Liked no tv or phones but had great wi fi for iPads/Pandora. Could hear and see the ocean. Very soothing. Nice deck to watch the water and have beverages and snacks. Could hear the cars on the highway but it dropped to near zero at night; was for us a non issue. Used the sauna both nights. Did not go away hungry or unsatisfied after breakfast. We brought something to eat in the room/deck for Wednesday as the restaurant is closed and we did not want to drive someplace. We had a very nice meal Thursday at the restaurant downstairs: fillet mignon with gorgonzola and fresh local rock cod. Nice beet salad and wine. Very accommodating staff. We live in the foothills near Sacramento and we will definitely stay here again. Glad we did not stay at other more crowded places near Ft Bragg.

Room Tip: 1,2, and 4, have the best deck and ocean view/sounds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cosmo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    10
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
6
47
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Georgia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

The old building doesn't look like much from the outside, but the inside is beautifully refurbished, a knockout job of redecorating. You are across the street from the beach, close enough to hear the surf if you go out on one of the balconies. The beds are comfortable and the linens made me want to buy some for myself. Breakfast is a feast, starting with scones and tea or coffee in your room and then an omelet down in the dining room. Ours was crab and delicious with big chunks of meat. None of us ate again until dinner. And we had the best meal of our trip at the pub that is part of this B and B.

Westport is a tiny town. If you are looking to get away from it all, especially with romance in mind, this is the place. Service is terrific, there when you want it and otherwise leaving you alone to enjoy yourself.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank patricia051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2013

The Westport Hotel is a beautiful gem nestled in the quite, peaceful town of Westport overlooking the coast. Traveling in the slower winter month of February, our stay was especially delightful. We enjoyed a great dinner in the Abalone Pub before retiring to the wonderful Lost Coast room. The rooms are really beautiful, the beds so comfortable...and wow, those sheets are fantastic! Softest ever!! Enjoyed a sit in the sauna before bed as well. The next morning's scones were so delicious followed an expertly prepared omelet and fresh fruit. Our only regret was that we could only stay one night.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KSGShell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012

We arrived late and were desparately wishing we had arrived earlier, as this place is so peaceful and beautiful. Even though we selected a room without a view, we could hear the ocean and the room was perfect. The owners and staff have done a fantastic job here. Take some extra time and enjoy the artwork too!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MardiGras7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
750 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Westport was our second stop on our honeymoon after leaving Vegas. We flew from Vegas to Sacramento and then drove from Sacramento to Westport, arriving at midnight. Thank goodness I called the hotel at the airport and told them when we'd be arriving because they gave me instructions on how to get in the door with the keypad and that would have made all the difference! Even though we arrived late and everything was dark, the room was so welcoming and immediately we felt relaxed! The next morning we awoke to scones and coffee, which was the PERFECT treat! It gave us just enough fuel to pack up and get dressed and walk down to the ocean, that was just right across the street, with such amazing views from our room. When we got back from our stroll, we enjoyed an AMAZING breakfast in the hotel's little breakfast nook. Everything was so quaint and the fire going was just awesome! Unfortunately, we had to book it out of there around 10am to make it to our next stop, but we will be back! We both agreed that out of all the places we went on our honeymoon, this was just the most relaxing!

Room Tip: We loved the hillside room! It was nice that no one was under us, especially since we came in so la...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VEE1225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carson City, Nevada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

The owners of this hotel have done an exquisite job of remodeling and decorating. It was nice to enjoy the sauna, and scones and coffee on our little patio. The breakfast room is cozy with views of the ocean and the herb garden in back. We ate in the Old Abalone Pub for our dinners, which has a large and well prepared menu. We were prepared for the highway noise since we stayed in one of the front ocean-facing rooms. The only thing we weren't prepared for was how thin the walls are. Some sounds you just don't want to hear coming from others. All in all, we had a beautiful stay, all the staff were very gracious, and we would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank orgnizd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewis Center, Ohio, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

My husband and I are very easygoing and not too hard to please. We planned a trip from Portland to SF and the Westport Hotel was the center of our trip due to the fantastic reviews. The restaurant is fabulous - great food and friendly staff. The rooms were lovely and the sauna/massage chair were fun perks. The views are spectacular and the beach is right across the street. The only issue we had, which was apologized for profusely and was accompanied by a $50 refund, was that the morning staff did not show up so we didn't get coffee and scones or breakfast and the front door was unlocked when we got up with no one else in sight. This threw off our whole day due to lack of food (we had none with us and there isn't anything close-by to eat). We really enjoyed the first part of our stay and understand that accidents happen (especially when the owner is out of town), but our morning was very disappointing and inconvenient.

Room Tip: Room #4 is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EFletch612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Westport
12.1 mi away
Ocean View Lodge
Ocean View Lodge
#4 of 23 in Fort Bragg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
23.0 mi away
MacCallum House Inn
MacCallum House Inn
#1 of 2 in Mendocino
4.0 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
12.3 mi away
The Beachcomber Motel and Spa on the Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.0 mi away
Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
12.6 mi away
Beach House Inn
Beach House Inn
#10 of 23 in Fort Bragg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
15.4 mi away
Shoreline Cottages
Shoreline Cottages
#2 of 23 in Fort Bragg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westport Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westport Hotel

Property: Westport Hotel
Address: 38921 N. Highway One at Seaview, Westport, CA 95488
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Westport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Westport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer ocean view bed-and-breakfast lodging in a tiny, remote village on the spectacular Mendocino coast. Also home of the Old Abalone Pub, providing Dinners Thursday-Monday 5-9 pm. Also Saturday afternoon tea from 3-5 pm in an atmosphere that is cozy, casual,and a little bit elegant. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing