We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A place to visit for a Vietnamese”
Review of Little Saigon

Ranked #1 of 12 things to do in Westminster
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A place to visit for a Vietnamese”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I planned to visit Little Saigon in our trip to the West Coast to experience Vietnamese authentic cusine as rumor says that it is the best Pho in the United States. At first trip, we tried a Vietnamese sandwich at Lee sandwich; a boba tea; banh cuon, banh day in the foodcourt of the Phuoc Loc Tho Mall. They are as expensive as in Boston. Banh cuon and banh day are very authentic, and great. The second trip, I saw a beautiful sign of Hanoi Restaurant and decided to eat there. It was disapointed. Pho is terrible, mostly no flavor broth. A rice plate is tiny for $7 or $8. People say that Pho at other restaurants is better, but there are so many of them, and we did not know which one is good, and did not want to spoil our taste another time. However, local fresh vegetable is so fresh, and cheap. Tropical fruits are fresh and not expensive. Logan is $2 per pound; fresh lychee is 1.7 per pound; jack fruit is .99 for 2 lbs at Dong Nam A Market. Fresh fruits at BA TU shop is rip off price. Caged free chickens are the best dish of all. I was offered this dish by a friend. If you ask a local, they would know where to get this hidden gem dish.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank Kim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    38
    9
    4
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Dallas
Level 6 Contributor
605 reviews
217 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 370 helpful votes
“Big Vietnamese area”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Lots of Vietnamese shopping and merchants. Many foot massage places offering incredible 15.00 per hour foot and body massage. I will be back.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank tangojohnDallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A piece of Vietnamese culture in your backyard.”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

My mom lives in the area and it can get crowded on the weekends. There are extremely good eating options for Asian food at very reasonable prices. Tet time is when it's most fun with all the flowers, fruits and people out.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
84 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Dig deeper”
Reviewed May 30, 2013

On the surface, you see a bunch (sorry, and BUNCH) of Vietnamese stores. Put just a little effort into it, and you find out that it's the largest concentration of Vietnamese people outside of Vietnam, most of whom hail from the southern part of the country (please tell me you took history and know why that is? Hint... 1975 and beyond).

But I encourage you to look beyond the surface and get to know the people... everyone has a story there, and it's worth it to strike up a conversation with random people you may meet.

But this is TA of course, so forget the lesson in history and culture... this area is a foodie's dream, in both eateries and products you are hard-pressed to find in typical markets. Feel free to walk the shopping centers, you might find some hidden gems.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Johnny N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Level 6 Contributor
246 reviews
88 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Average visual appeal, but....”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

I give an average to very good, because overall the visual impression is not any better than the majority of your typical strip mall or shopping center just with more signs in Vietnamese or Chinese language - But don't judge a book by it's cover.
If you take the time to dig a bit deeper you find an amazing variety of stores which offer authentic products from Asia and if you're a foodie like me, you'll definitely will appreciate shopping for fresh fish, seafood and any ingredient you might like to add to it in one of the many super markets.
My favorite is the big one on the corner of McFadden Ave and Beach Blvd.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank RGerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Little Saigon also viewed

Westminster, Orange County
 
Laguna Beach, Orange County
Westminster, Orange County
 

Been to Little Saigon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing