We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“European Village Like Setting”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Westlake Village Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 30, 2013

This was my first visit to the hotel arriving late at night. I was in the area for a business meeting. As one arrives the grounds reflect a country setting. The lobby is unpretentious but reflecting a quality hotel. The receptionist was pleasant and took care of the formalities of registration quickly. It was nice to have a fresh apple and a Kuerig green tea after the trip from the airport. In fact during the day they have ice water and a lemonade type drink in the lobby,

The grounds at night are wonderful, brick walkways with water fountains. This is not a typical hotel with 20 stories. Instead there are a number of "country villas". My place was the third building from the lobby. The room was spacious having a fireplace and a desk to work. The temperature controls worked flawlessly. The bed and pillows were very comfortable. In fact, there were enough pillow to adjust your rest to watch TV. The bathroom was spacious with two sinks and a whirlpool bath/shower. The typical bathroom amenities were appreciated. The only wish was that the flat screen TV have higher resolution with digital channels. Otherwise, the room was quiet and had restful nights.
On the hotel grounds are a restaurant and a bar/nightlife, Mediterraneo and Bogie's that are quite popular. The bar was upbeat and enjoyable. The prices were reasonable and the selection quite large.
The continental breakfast was on the light side and for a business stay not open early enough. It would have been nice to have some eggs and ham or other meats. However, down the way is a cafe, Stonehaus, that has a hearty choices for breakfast and is open earlier. In the evening, it is a good choice for having some wine or coffee.
Across the way from the hotel are a deli, a couple of other restaurants and a movie theater.
If you want to ride a bicycle, they have several to tour the neighborhood. An enjoyable stay in a country-like atmosphere.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank R_n_R_Travellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert W, Rooms Director at Westlake Village Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

Dear R_&_R_Travellers,
Thank you so much for your recent stay and kind words about the Westlake Village Inn. The entire team here at the property really work to provide the experience that you had and I am very thankful that you chose to share that with us. I will be sure to share this with our team. The entire property is very European in theme and I'm glad that resonated with you.

Thank you again for taking the time to share your experience and I hope to see you back here at the Inn soon!

Best Regards,
Robert Witcher

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (443)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

258 - 264 of 443 reviews

Reviewed July 29, 2013

I recently completed an extended stay at WVI with my family where we had several rooms booked over a couple of weeks. We had a complete opportunity to experience the property, and while there are many positives, in our opinion the hotel would do well to focus on serving residents in a more complete way.

First the positives. The setting is an impeccably cared for grounds with wonderful plantings, water features, a tree canopy and every room with a wonderful patio and chairs to sit outside. You aren't looking at parking lots or roads, the views are really nice, and the patios are a huge win for those who enjoy some fresh air. The grounds contain multiple restaurants, a wonderful outdoor wine bar named The Stone Haus, a pool/spa, and right behind the property a tennis club and golf course. This is not your normal hotel property! The rooms are in two story wings, quite easy to access. Inside, the rooms are clean and fairly simple. The staff are friendly and try to help. The rooms were quiet, despite the presence of multiple wedding parties over several nights. There is a lot to like at WVI.

On the down side, the plumbing in the rooms is quite old and could use an upgrade. The shower controls were very finicky, as was the hot and cold water on the sink. The keys were a major problem. Time and time again the key did not work resulting in a walk to the lobby to get a new key. This didn't happen a few times...it kept happening again, and again and again. One time it took three trips back to back to back to get it solved. Room service was very slow. A simple order of a couple of beers and a glass of wine took anywhere from 25 minutes to 45 minutes. Never did it come as promised in 20 minutes. The service was always pleasant, but late. The hotel would do well to serve a continental breakfast at the lobby, but instead they try to drive you over to one of their restaurants, so you have to move halfway across the grounds for breakfast. The main restaurant, Mediterraneo, was OK. Not cheap and the food was decent but not memorable in any form. There is a bar that seems to be a singles place generally. The Stone Haus was a pleasant alternative for a glass of wine in a very nice outdoor setting, but during the week they were making last call around 9:15pm, and it just didn't seem to make sense. The pool was out of commission one day while they did a movie shoot, and it left us wondering why they would inconvenience the paying residents by taking the pool out of play during summer for an entire day. On the weekends, parking is ridiculous. With the large crowds for the bars and restaurant, there is no parking left for residents. Around and around we drove on Friday and Saturday, finally calling the hotel and they told us to park in valet, on the other side of the property. It would have been nice to know that upon check in, as you don't even know there is valet available in the entrance where you pull into the hotel.

The WVI wasn't awful, but at around $200 a night it wasn't up to the price. The owners seem to be printing money with all of the different properties on the grounds going, but in the end the hotel needs to remember it is there for the residents. It is cheaper than the nearby Four Seasons by a good amount, and in some respects offers things others can't. If you are a frequent visitor on business to this area, give it a go, but accept what comes with it, good and bad.

Room Tip: Go for a room towards to golf course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Socalicouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert W, Rooms Director at Westlake Village Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

Dear Socalicouple,
Thank you for your recent stay at the Westlake Village Inn and for sharing your experience with us. It is always important to hear from our guests and I appreciate you sharing with me both the good that you experienced here and the challenges that you saw as well. We are definitely aware of the parking challenge and are evaluating our strategies on that each week at our Management Meetings in order to find a solution that works well for our guests. We are also looking at renovation ideas for the future that actually focus very strongly on our bathrooms and plumbing. I appreciate your concerns and just want you to know that we see these things and are already working toward solutions for them.

Thank you again for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to seeing you back at the Inn in the future.

Best Regards,
Robert Witcher

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

This was our second time staying at the Westlake Village. It was better than we remembered. We loved it the first time and this time there was so much more to love. Our room was fabulous looking over the lake. Breakfast was great in the Mediterrano and the new coffee/wine tasting place Stonehouse. We absoutely will stay here again, We can't wait to go back and experience the goodness of what this hotel has to offer!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kacey_ram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert W, Rooms Director at Westlake Village Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

Dear kacey_ram,
Thank you for your recent stay and kind words about the Westlake Village Inn. It is always great to hear how our return guests feel about the evolution of the property and I am very pleased that you enjoyed your visit again. The Stonehaus has been a great addition to the property and really rounded out our offering here in the perfect way.

Thank you again for your kind words and we look forward to seeing you back here at the Inn!

Best Regards,
Robert Witcher

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

This is a very nice place to stay when visiting near Los Angeles, Malibu, Santa Monica. It has a golf field and a countryside atmosphere. The only problem I face was that my room was in the 2nd floor and had to bring my heavy suitcase through the stairs (no elevator available).

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeatrizCoutinho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert W, Rooms Director at Westlake Village Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Dear BeatrizCoutinho,
Thank you for your recent stay and kind words about the Westlake Village Inn. I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our location is a great asset to us and provides easy access to many different destinations in the Greater Los Angeles Area. Our property is a historic property and does not have elevators, but please let us know if you need luggage assistance and we will be happy to provide that to make your stay more pleasant.

We hope to see you here at the Inn again soon and thank you again for your kind words.

Best Regards,
Robert Witcher

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

This has been one of my favorite hotels to stay while on business. The rooms were clean and the property was gorgeous. There is a wine bar/restaurant that has entertainment at night as well as a variety of wines to sip outside. The grounds are nicely kept and full of paths with flowers that surround you. There is the option to take use one of their bicycles to tour around the neighborhood (highly recommend taking a bike ride). Pool is refreshing and the hot tub at night was a treat. My room overlooked the golf course and it was a pleasant stay!

Other business associates stayed at the Four Seasons. That is a nice hotel but felt very upscale where you must pay for everything (parking, wifi, etc.)

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert W, Rooms Director at Westlake Village Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Dear MrVacation31,
Thank you for your loyalty and kind words about the Westlake Village Inn. It is always great to hear from our repeat guests and I would like to say thank you for continuing to come and see us here at the Inn. I am glad that you enjoyed using the bikes we provide, we actually just purchased two more bikes for our guests to enjoy.

Thank you so much for your patronage and we look forward to seeing you back here at the Inn again!

Best Regards,
Robert Witcher

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

This is a beautiful hotel. However, the service is really awful, and they try to nickle-and-dime you every step of the way. The staff just doesn't seem to understand the true meaning and spirit of hospitality. They caused a lot of unnecessary stress for the bride and just in general made us feel unwelcome.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
4  Thank Bhall2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert W, Rooms Director at Westlake Village Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2013

Dear Bhall2003,
Thank you for your recent stay at the Westlake Village Inn. It is always our goal to make all of our guests feel welcome and valued. I apologize that we did not succeed in our efforts during your stay. We do have to transact business as a part of our daily function here at the Inn, but never seek to make that process cumbersome or stressful.

If you wouldn't mind please send me an e-mail at Robert_witcher@wvinn.com and elaborate so that we can solve any issues that are affecting our guests.

Best Regards,
Robert Witcher

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

What a charming resort! Each building bears a name of a Mediterranean city. Ours is Capri--our
balcony overlooks a small golf course that seems to attract a few players. The hotel ground is well-kept. Flowering trees and roses are abundant. Our room was spacious, clean, and quiet. The Westlake Village Inn will certainly be our choice whenever we return to this wonderful location.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TWAflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert W, Rooms Director at Westlake Village Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2013

Dear TWAflyer,
Thank you for your recent stay and positive review of the Westlake Village Inn. We are very proud of the beautiful setting that we get to work in every day and are very happy that it created a pleasurable backdrop for your stay. Charming is a great word to describe the Inn and I am happy that you came to experience what we have to offer.

We hope to see you again soon!

Best Regards,
Robert Witcher

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Westlake Village
0.7 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Westlake Village
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Westlake
Hyatt Regency Westlake
#2 of 4 in Westlake Village
918 reviews
3.8 mi away
Calamigos Guest Ranch and Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Agoura Hills
0.7 mi away
Residence Inn Los Angeles Westlake Village
Residence Inn Los Angeles Westla...
#4 of 4 in Westlake Village
227 reviews
2.1 mi away
Sheraton Agoura Hills Hotel
Sheraton Agoura Hills Hotel
#3 of 3 in Agoura Hills
536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westlake Village Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westlake Village Inn

Address: 31943 Agoura Rd, Westlake Village, CA 91361-4427
Location: United States > California > Westlake Village
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Westlake Village
#3 Business Hotel in Westlake Village
Price Range: $206 - $335 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Westlake Village Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 141
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Westlake Village Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westlake Village Hotel Westlake Village

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing