We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good breakfast spot”

Marmalade Cafe Westlake Village
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Over 20 years ago, three young entrepreneurs with a passion for food and a desire to make customers happy, came together with a simple idea: serve fresh, high quality, eclectic California inspired food for busy Angelenos. They would cook for those too busy to cook. In 1990 the original Marmalade Cafe opened on Montana Avenue in Santa Monica. The 1,400 square foot store with limited seating featured a full bakery and cases of fresh salads and entrees for diners on the go. Marmalade Cafe was an instant success and was quickly adopted by the community. Less than three years later, in response to an increasing number of appeals for a full dining experience at Marmalade Cafe, founders Selwyn Yosslowitz, Robert Burn Jr. and Bonnie Burns opened the first full service Marmalade Cafe in Malibu. With only 100 seats, Marmalade Cafe Malibu quickly became a cornerstone in the eclectic Malibu community. This constant demand for the fresh California cuisine characteristic of Marmalade Cafe led to the restaurant's expansion into major Los Angeles communities. Today, Marmalade Cafe has nine units with locations across Los Angeles County as well as Santa Barbara. Each cafe is unique in design and decor. Adorned with Americana antiques, personally found and placed by Bonnie Burns, every Marmalade Cafe exudes a warm & cozy neighborhood cafe ambiance. Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner Marmalade Cafe is the neighborhood cafe that Angelenos depend for everyday meals, holidays and special events. Whether it is a birthday, rehearsal dinner, Thanksgiving or Mother's Day, Marmalade Cafe offers guests excellent, fresh and inventive food. The restaurant's private dining rooms and the full service catering have provided exceptional event services for large LA businesses like Boeing, Mattel, CBS and Warner Brother Studios. At the Marmalade Cafe in The Original Farmers Market, guests are able to enjoy Marmalade's signature items while exploring the historic Los Angeles landmark. The Original Farmers Market, opened by the Gilmore family in 1934, is visited by three million Angelenos and tourists annually. Marmalade Cafe is part is proud to be an integral part of the fabric of Los Angeles dining. The relationship between Marmalade Cafe and Los Angeles is as strong as it was when the first cafe opened on Montana Avenue in Santa Monica.
Gulf Beaches, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“good breakfast spot”
Reviewed December 19, 2011

Had a breakfast meeting at Marmalade Cafe. Food was very good, come hungry, they have large portions. Good coffee as well.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Toad727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    60
    19
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Lovely restaurant in Westlake Village”
Reviewed November 28, 2011

This is a lovely restaurant that serves breakfast, lunch, and dinner. We had breakfast there two days in a row. The eggs and bacon were delicious. The French Toast was a bit bland. The staff were really efficient and very friendly. Food was served very quickly even on Thanksgiving Day and the day after when they were very crowded. I would definitely go back again.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank luv2travel19941953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks, California
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Poor service”
Reviewed September 18, 2011

My wife and I live in the area and have visited the restaurant many times over the years, usually when we could not get into other nearby restaurants. The food is okay, but the service is consistantly poor. On our last visit, we waited 20 minutes before the server came to our table to take a drink order. We had to ask one of the busboys for water and bread. Once our order was in, it took another 30 minutes to get the food and we only saw the server when she brought the check at the end. We were seated outside for lunch and the restaurant did not appear exceptionally busy. The restaurant is in an upscale, European style shopping area with many desirable shops and theaters nearby. Otherwise, we would skip this dining destination.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Aviator311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moorpark, California
2 reviews
“Great atmosphere and phenomenal food”
Reviewed April 19, 2011

Marmalade Cafe is such an incredible restaurant I'm always excited to go and am never disappointed. The food is excellent! I highly recommend the tuna tartar. It is my absolute favorite item on the menu and that's hard to say because everything is so great! The staff is so friendly and warm. Once I walk in, the bartender knows what drink I've had in the past and brings it right to me. The manager is one of the nicest guys you'll ever meet and always comes out to say hi and see how the meal is. I really can't find anything wrong with Marmalade. Love love love everything about this restaurant.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lmen38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Smells like a dirty wet sponge.”
Reviewed April 10, 2009

The title pretty much sums it up. Plus, I've never really had a memorable meal here. Actually, I take that back. One time I tried their butternut squash soup, and it tasted like I was sipping melted buttnernut squash flavored ice cream.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank parsleyroot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marmalade Cafe Westlake Village also viewed

 
Westlake Village, CA
Westlake Village, CA
 

Been to Marmalade Cafe Westlake Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing