We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant happy hour”

The Grill on the Alley - Westlake Village
Reserve with OpenTable
The Grill on the Alley - Westlake Village is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $40 - $60
Cuisines: Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Thousand Oaks Blvd. and Westlake Blvd
Camarillo, California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Elegant happy hour”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Great outdoor patio. Bar seating is tight and the happy hour menu is limited, but ambience is big. Gets crowded after 7, but a cool place to meet for a drink.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank connie h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    42
    31
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Washington State
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“If you like great atmosphere, pretty good service, but don't really care what you eat, this restaurant is for you”
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Maybe I don't 'get' Westlake, but I don't understand why anyone would want to pay so much for such mediocre food. Yes, the restaurant is beautiful, as is the staff. They are warm and friendly, which makes up for a few lapses in service (no one around when you need help, or forgetting to ask if the dish was satisfactory). Although I only ate there once, I would not have served either of the dishes I ate to my friends. Or my enemies. Tired corporate tomatoes and plastic cheese as a caprese salad? Tuna tartare with all the silver membranes included, as well as flavorless accompaniments? Really, you think chopping them into rough chunks is ok? Life is too short to eat bad food. I won't be back to try anything else, even on an expense account.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Walker95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
174 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Still Our Favorite Steak House!”
Reviewed August 17, 2012

The Grill on the Alley in Westlake Village is our favorite "special" restaurant in the area. No doubt that the reason is their general manager, Mr. Jay Anthony, is the consummate restaurateur! He truly makes each guest feel that their dining occasion is special - and that anything that might possibly make you happy - he and his staff will go out of their way to deliver. On our most recent occasion, the food was - as always - outstanding! Our steaks were perfectly prepared, the John Dory was flavorful and flakey, and the short ribs just melted in one's mouth. We had a nice, leisurely evening - never rushed and the staff paced everything to fit the rhythm of our conversation without a word between us. Oh - and for those guests who wish to enjoy a glass of wine with their steaks, I am always impressed by the wait-staff's ability to find the perfect grape to complement my meal. Ready to go back tonight!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joepure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
119 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Classy steak place”
Reviewed August 15, 2012

The Grill on the Alley is a classy steakhouse located in suburban Westlake Village.

The interior is very nice and sophisticated with intimate booths. The service is excellent and the food is outstanding. The prices are not cheap (in line with most top end steakhouses), but it is perfect for a date night or business lunch/dinner.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vacationman18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
Reviewed August 10, 2012

Great service, food is great, not a cheap place, but definitely worth it. Loved the service, very professional and high quality food, very well presented, I highly recommend it

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank luigifg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Grill on the Alley - Westlake Village also viewed

 
Westlake Village, CA
 
Westlake Village, CA
Westlake Village, CA
 

Been to The Grill on the Alley - Westlake Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing