We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Trash and pit bulls” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of SacWest RV Park & Campground

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in West Sacramento
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
SacWest RV Park & Campground
Boulder City, Nevada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Trash and pit bulls”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013

We stayed in this campground for 3 days in mid November 2013. It's one of the few RV parks in the Sacramento area. Trashy full time trailers with crap stored under them. 2 trailers had 2 pit bulls each. The place was run down and just plain dirty. $50 per night is way too high for a dump.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank syf70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    13
    10
    6
    10
See reviews for
22
5
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire, UK
Level Contributor
136 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights in a RV. The site is close to the I-80 and the traffic noise was constant all day and night. The pitches are very close together so if you value your privacy, give this place a miss.
The showers were very small and not too clean. The grubby red mats inside each one seemed to invite a foot infection. At times, the women's restroom was taken over by a woman using it as an office; as such, it became impossible to use the electrical plug for my hairdryer.
We were unable to use the sewer connection on our pitch as it had been run over by other vehicles and the cap was completely jammed. We were lucky that the pitch next to us became empty and we managed to use that connection before we left.
Wouldn't recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank feelymerl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these West Sacramento hotels

California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

We booked to stay here 4th of July weekend. Sadly we were smack dab in the middle of a heat wave, temperatures over 110. That aside, we felt this campground was not at all what the website made it out to be.

We purchase the KOA discount card every year as we always enjoyed our stays at KOA's on our travels and even more local get-a-ways. This looked like a great family oriented campground with lots of activities. The pictures on their website are beautiful: however, when we arrived there was virtually no grass, no shade, the pond with the paddle boats was fluorescent green. On a major holiday weekend I excepted activities for the kids but they had very little scheduled. The kids did use the pool but they couldn't use the playground at all.....all metal play structure in the full sun. I would not say the staff was rude but they didn't go out of their way to be nice either. We ended up leaving the next morning but they did give us a partial refund because I told them our kids were sick from the heat and we had to go home (they were indeed sick). I will continue to stay at other KOA locations but never again this one. I am surprised that it gets to keep the KOA status.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Susan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

This was our first camp we've been to and we stayed for a week and the first day we were like, "what the heck is this, where's the fun?" But then we actually went to our cabin, which had a picnic table, firepit, and grill, and we were in font of the lake and we loved it, there are also paddle boats and every night we would make s'mores and enjoy the cool breeze coming besides it being hot on a summer day. There are alot of things to do and one day they had a campfire for everyone and we ate hotdogs. There's also a nice pool next to the playground, bike rental, laundry, bathrooms, which were clean. The staff was awesome, they were so friendly and they are always visible for you if you need anything. The rec room was great and we would always go there because it has an arcade, a/c, tv for movies, tables, video games, and right next to it is another room which was a kitchen and was VERY useful, it had a fridge, freezer, stoves, oven, a sink for dishes, and outside there was a barbeque grill. The location was also very good, all the stores are close to you and a small drive to old town, Sacramento, Chinatown, and the state Capitol, there were many things to do outside of the campground too. I would see myself and my family going there again, I would recommend it to friends and family.

Room Tip: I would suggest getting a cabin in front of the lake, you won't regret it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lords Valley, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

On our last day of a 7-day stay, our (2) Peugeot Steel-Framed 10-Speed Bicycles were stolen; most likely overnight while we were asleep. The bikes were chain-locked together and had been stored underneath the large driver-side slide out of our Motorhome. Just as appalling as the theft was the apathy shown by the KOA and the West Sacramento Police. We filed a police report and were assigned an "event" number, but were advised by the police that no action would be taken unless the KOA found evidence of the theft on their security tape (only one security camera at the unlit entrance/exit ). Well, the KOA staff seemed very put out by my request that they review the tapes and did not even bother to keep me up-to-date on the status of their review. In fact, I had to stop in the office the next day as we were leaving to ask if they had completed the review and found anything. Again, I was treated as a nuisance and told that "nothing unusual had turned up. I will NEVER go back!

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank baddog99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

Stayed here for two nights on a stop over from Sth Lake Tahoe to San Francisco.

Booked and paid through the KoA website. Staff at check in were very friendly, and helpful. We stayed in a Kouples Kabin which was better than some other KoAs we stayed at. Kabin was clean on arrival. Toilet and shower facilities were OK - perhaps a little dated and/or overused.

Was a short drive to WalMart and restaurants.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012


Campground not worth staying at unless dire circumstances. Hook-ups nearly impossible to get to without creative maneuvering. Gravel sites that flood with rain and turn to mud. The pull thru site we we booked was much smaller than what we stated we needed. There was no one to assist so we had to make due and hope no one clipped our trailer before we left. Very poorly lit if you arrive after dark. We stayed because we were exhausted and left early the next morning.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank txtwmn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Sacramento
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites West Sacramento
Hampton Inn & Suites West Sacram...
#1 of 15 in West Sacramento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
1.6 mi away
Extended Stay America - Sacramento - West Sacramento
Extended Stay America - Sacramen...
#3 of 15 in West Sacramento
3.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
4.8 mi away
Residence Inn Sacramento Downtown at Capitol Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Sacramento - Riverfront Promenade
4.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Sacramento
Hyatt Regency Sacramento
#4 of 80 in Sacramento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,417 reviews
4.0 mi away
Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SacWest RV Park & Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SacWest RV Park & Campground

Property: SacWest RV Park & Campground
Address: 3951 Lake Rd, West Sacramento, CA 95691-3414 (Formerly Sacramento West Old Town KOA)
Location: United States > California > West Sacramento
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Specialty Lodging in West Sacramento
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Sacramento West Old Town Koa Hotel West Sacramento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing